NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Newbies
Reload this Page Purchase Verification from Name Secure

Domain Newbies New to domain names? Have your questions answered here.

Advanced Search
8 members in live chat ~  
LeadRefs LeadRefs
Forum Sponsorship
New to the domain business? Start making money now by flipping expiring domains! LeadRefs.com has daily lists of the top expiring domains with potential buyers already generated for you.



Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-25-2004, 10:06 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
taheny's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 632
taheny has a spectacular aura abouttaheny has a spectacular aura about
 



Purchase Verification from Name Secure


A few days ago I registered my 25 free .infos at Name Secure. A few minutes ago I received the following email from verifypurchase@namesecure.com:

Quote:
Thank you for choosing NameSecure as your domain registrar. For your
protection, I would like to verify your 10-22-04 special discount for 25 .info domain name purchase Please verify this purchase is correct by responding to this e-mail as soon as possible.

Best Regards,

NganT
It is probably legitimate but as the email is so simple it seems suspicious to me. It seems the type of thing a scammer would do. I have not replied yet. Have other people received the same email from Name Secure?
taheny is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 02:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Chris's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 2,317
Chris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond reputeChris has a reputation beyond repute
 

Member of the Month
June 2005NamePros Hall of Fame
Wildlife Save The Children Animal Rescue VA Tech Memorial Ethan Allen Fund Help The Homeless - Holiday 2009
Welcome to NamePros Joe

I've never received that email from them. I just always receive the "Your NameSecure Order is Complete" with a summary of the order. You can verify that it came from NameSecure by checking out the full headers in the email message and make sure someone just didn't type in the email address to make it appear as if it were coming from NameSecure.

Although if you don't send any personal information back in the reply then there should be nothing to worry about.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-newbies/52992-purchase-verification-from-name-secure.html

If you are planning on selling the domains in the future then I'd stay away from NameSecure as their transfer process is a royal pain. I've been waiting for a domain to be pushed to another's account for 6 days now and takes the Customer Support forever to reply back.
__________________
LIMITED TIME OFFER FOR 3 LUCKY NP'RS ONLY!
Mobile website (6 pages) for your business!
Reduced heavily to $99 (Reg. $397!) for testimonials! PM Me.
Chris is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
anthonyjdoe's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 403
anthonyjdoe will become famous soon enoughanthonyjdoe will become famous soon enough
 



Same here, I just got my 25 free .info and I did not get any letter like that
__________________
HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO EVERYONE
anthonyjdoe is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 02:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Domain Bagger
 
yandig's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Coma Berenices
Posts: 3,862
yandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond repute
 




I registered my .info names at the end of Sept. and got no such message. Just ignore it
__________________
Yandig
Available Domains
yandig is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 03:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Domain Bagger
 
yandig's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Coma Berenices
Posts: 3,862
yandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond reputeyandig has a reputation beyond repute
 




I logged into my account at Namesecure & got the following...
From Namesecure.com:

IMPORTANT CUSTOMER ALERT!

To print this page, right-click (option-click on Macintosh) inside the window and select "Print."

CUSTOMER SERVICE ANNOUNCEMENT

Following is an important customer service notice courtesy of our NameSecure(R) Professional Service Team.

Dear NameSecure(R) Customer,

We recently learned that many of our customers are receiving domain name renewal notices from companies falsely representing themselves as NameSecure. These notices misinform customers that their domain name registration is due to expire and provides instructions on how to transfer their service and renew.

If you receive renewal notices you do not believe are from NameSecure, or if you have an unauthorized vendor listed on your credit card statement for 'domain name renewal', please contact us immediately at support@namesecure.com.

All courtesy renewal notices you receive from NameSecure will be clearly marked as coming from NameSecure so that you have no question that the communication is legitimate. To protect your domain name registration, we recommend that you do the following:

1. Go to http://www.namesecure.com

2. Log into the My Account area using your username and password

3. Scroll down to the Domain Services Management Center in the My Account area
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=52992

4. Review your list of domain name records and their expiration dates

In addition, the description that will appear on your credit card statement for all NameSecure transactions will clearly identify NameSecure by name.

Thank you for choosing NameSecure, the VALUE leader in domain names registration and related services. We are committed to delivering premium services at the best prices with top quality professional support.

(c) 2003 NameSecure, Inc. All rights reserved.

It's not exactly the same message as you got, but I bet it's related.
__________________
Yandig
Available Domains
yandig is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 12:21 AM THREAD STARTER               #6 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
taheny's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 632
taheny has a spectacular aura abouttaheny has a spectacular aura about
 



Thank you all for your helpful replies.

I looked at the email source and the spamassassin gave the email a ranking of 0.1/10 - highly unlikely to be a spam but I think I'll ignore it anyway.

I only used NameSecure as they were still offering the 25 free .info's. - I think I got some good ones but only time will tell!
taheny is offline  
Old 10-27-2004, 09:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
 
Anthony's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 9,132
Anthony has a brilliant futureAnthony has a brilliant futureAnthony has a brilliant futureAnthony has a brilliant futureAnthony has a brilliant futureAnthony has a brilliant futureAnthony has a brilliant futureAnthony has a brilliant futureAnthony has a brilliant futureAnthony has a brilliant futureAnthony has a brilliant future
 

Member of the Month
October 2004

I'd say that if your names are in your account and you don't hear anything else, then you'll probably be okay.
Anthony is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:30 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger