| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Newbies New to domain names? Have your questions answered here. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 35
![]() | Since I am fairly new I wanted to ask. Since I am fairly new I wanted to ask. I have an email from an investment firm that says they would like one of my domains. I have expected some stuff to show up as a scam. I returned there email without any expectations of hearing back from them. Well they returned my reply with an offer. I went to the site listed in there email and it is there. I am just not sure what to make of this.
__________________ 4Sale--->alexeiramirez.net (Soon To Be American League Rookie Of The Year) - californcation.com |
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| NamePros Legend Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,785
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | benefit of the doubt. offer it via escrow.com if you're still unsure also make a research about them, tools like whois.sc can help you out. the first test of labeling them as appraisal scammer failed btw so go to the next step, choose a payment that will be beneficial for you. |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jul 2007 Location: midwest
Posts: 1,385
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Still sounds like a scam, you visited a web page that they provided to you in an email. Be cautious & if they say the word appraisal....run. Somewhere else I read about the same type of thing i.e visiting a web page that was presented from an email & it turned out that the web page was created just for the purposes of convincing the prospective seller that it was legit. If it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck... best of luck if it's legit, follow Weblord's advice use EscrowDNS |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #4 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 35
![]() | They did mention an appraisal site but I think I have handled that part. I don't know anything about making payment through escrow.com, but they also mentioned that option as a payment. I will look into it myself. I worded my second email in a manner that if it is a scam I doubt that they will email back. I will have to wait and see. Thanks for the info here. Great resource.
__________________ 4Sale--->alexeiramirez.net (Soon To Be American League Rookie Of The Year) - californcation.com |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Legend Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,785
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | the modus operandi of appraisal scammers is like this; 1. they want your domain, they would like to buy it. 2. mentions an appraisal site, for all you know they also own it. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-newbies/524075-since-i-am-fairly-new-i.html 3. you end up paying them instead of getting money for your domain. 4. they give you crap or made up appraisals. 5. you lost money.
| ||||
| |
| | #9 (permalink) | ||||
| Music Video Television! Join Date: Oct 2003 Location: Fresno, California
Posts: 3,387
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Maybe
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=524075 If they reply next with a "we need a appraisal", then realize it is not an offer, but just an appraisal scam. I hate to say it, but I will bet it is a scam. I hope I am wrong. Keep us posted. Frank | ||||
| |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2007 Location: Copenhagen - Denmark
Posts: 1,789
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I agree with all above, listen to them ![]() And if they want an appraisal before they buy, then just to annoy them, tell them that you are fine with letting it get appraised IF they pay the fees, and tell them that you offcourse will reduce the selling price with twice of what they have paid for the appraisal ![]() Good Luck and Best Regards,
__________________ World Food Programme - No Children Should Go To Bed Hungry. It's simple, it's not rocket science, not political, not cultural, not religion, not complicated... It's this simple!. I have decided that I will donate 10% of what I make from selling domain names in 2012 to the above programme.
Last edited by testingyou; 10-14-2008 at 11:24 PM.
|
| |
| | #11 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Nov 2003 Location: DE
Posts: 159
![]() ![]() |
| ||||
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #12 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 35
![]() | I do think it's a scam. They are using the name of "Elite Capital Investment Group" And the last email I got from them is below. Also here is the site http://eliteinvestment.net/ _________________ We both need independent valuation first. Sellers always provide buyers with valuations. This is a common practice. I don't trust $14 services like that GoDaddy's valuation service. Nobody will do a research for $14. We need a real manual service. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=524075 I researched several companies and here are the results: I wanted to engage AccurateDomains.com as appraiser but looks like this company has very bad reputation Just read this blog http://accuratedomains.blogspot.com/ So I'm not going to accept this fraudulent service. I also considered www.Afternic.com, but now it's clear their service is not reliable enough. Just read this: http://www.igoldrush.com/links3.htm "Capsule Review: After lots of complaints, Afternic is no longer a recommended service. We will re-review the service in the near future." Another complaint http://www.out-law.com/page-1630 I was told about manual research service from http://www.DomainMart.com. It costs - $200/hour. Many experienced sellers suggested me www.EasyNameSale.com as a trustworth manual service. They charge per name not per hour. I've read only positive comments about them. ___________ Sending this info so others out here will be aware of this. Thanks guys
__________________ 4Sale--->alexeiramirez.net (Soon To Be American League Rookie Of The Year) - californcation.com |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #14 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 35
![]() | Well if nothing else this got into the forums and that helps to inform everyone. So it's all good. Some forums I have joined in the pass would have an area to post scams so members stay informed. I did not see anything here like that so I wanted to post it to at least maybe warn other newbies like me that this is floating around. Thanks for all the replies
__________________ 4Sale--->alexeiramirez.net (Soon To Be American League Rookie Of The Year) - californcation.com |
| |
| | #15 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Nov 2003 Location: DE
Posts: 159
![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=524075 http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/ | ||||
| |