[advanced search]
 

Go Back   NamePros.com > Discussion > Domain Names > Domain Newbies

Domain Newbies New to domain names? Have your questions answered here.


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-08-2008, 09:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
4.00 NP$ (Donate)

tmeyer45458 is an unknown quantity at this point


Copyright Infringement???

I received an unexpected email today claiming that I had improperly registered/licensed/used a domain. <- Their words.

I own: widgetmaker . com

And they own widgetmaker . com.au

EDIT: I didn't want to use the actual domain - "widgetmaker" is fake

They claim that I'm infringing on their copyright and trademark and that if I don't release the domain for a nominal fee, that a WIPO complaint (whatever that is) will be filed.

I can't say for sure which domain was registered first because the whois info only shows the last modified date and not the registration date.

I'm not sure what to do here. The domain is absolutely worth more than they are offering. I'm not even sure that there's a copyright issue at all because it's a two word domain and both words are very common.

I just need some feedback/conversation to help me better understand what I have in front of me.

Thanks!

Last edited by tmeyer45458; 10-08-2008 at 09:40 PM.
tmeyer45458 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 09:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
On Signature Patrol!

Forum Moderator

 
mis_chiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,020
4.86 NP$ (Donate)

mis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatness

Save a Life VA Tech Memorial Breast Cancer Protect Our Planet
I don't know why they told you that,
I'm showing the .com.au as available to register...
Whois response for widgetmaker.com.au:
Result No Data Found
http://www.whois.com.au/com-au-domain.php
__________________
Affiliate links and/or links to Parked pages are not permitted!
mis_chiff is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 09:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
4.00 NP$ (Donate)

tmeyer45458 is an unknown quantity at this point


Thanks mis chiff, sorry...but my info was a bit misleading. I used "widgetmaker" as a slug or substitute for the actual domain.

I'd rather not post the real domain.
tmeyer45458 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
On Signature Patrol!

Forum Moderator

 
mis_chiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,020
4.86 NP$ (Donate)

mis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatnessmis_chiff Has achieved greatness

Save a Life VA Tech Memorial Breast Cancer Protect Our Planet
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmeyer45458
Thanks mis chiff, sorry...but my info was a bit misleading. I used "widgetmaker" as a slug or substitute for the actual domain.

I'd rather not post the real domain.
No problem, did the whois there give you anymore info
on yours?
__________________
Affiliate links and/or links to Parked pages are not permitted!
mis_chiff is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
NamePros Legend
 
weblord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,840
21,700.43 NP$ (Donate)

weblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatness

Autism Protect Our Planet
do a trademark search on it if you can't post the domain.
weblord is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 11:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Electrifying Guy

Forum Moderator

 
Dave Zan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,232
2,029.65 NP$ (Donate)

Dave Zan has much to be proud ofDave Zan has much to be proud ofDave Zan has much to be proud ofDave Zan has much to be proud ofDave Zan has much to be proud ofDave Zan has much to be proud ofDave Zan has much to be proud ofDave Zan has much to be proud ofDave Zan has much to be proud ofDave Zan has much to be proud of


Without specifics (which can be used against you if posted online), it's hard, if
not impossible, to say how to handle it. Bare minimum, don't immediately reply.

From the domain, it sounds like they have an Australia-based trademark. Try
to find it in their trademark database or so, or do a Google search like "word/s
trademark".

Is the domain name showing any ads, especially competing against the party's
product or service? Although it's arguably an idea to take that down, that will
not do any good if they already took a screenshot.

Anyway, you better ask a mod to move this into the legal forum so it won't be
necessarily seen in the search engines. One has to register and log in to see.

Good luck.
__________________
Vidi, Vici, Veni!
Follow Me On Twitter...
Dave Zan is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 12:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
Mattias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 613
185.25 NP$ (Donate)

Mattias is a splendid one to beholdMattias is a splendid one to beholdMattias is a splendid one to beholdMattias is a splendid one to beholdMattias is a splendid one to beholdMattias is a splendid one to behold

Tsunami Relief
Well, It is hard to give you advise not knowing wich name it is but I understand that you want to keep the name secret for quite obvious reasons. But generally if you have one or two words in a name that are both relative generic and you don't use the domain to in any way infringe on their business, I don't think you will have an issue.
__________________
...
Mattias is offline  
Old 10-09-2008, 06:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 24
4.00 NP$ (Donate)

tmeyer45458 is an unknown quantity at this point


Nope...Only the date inwhich the domain was last modified.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mis_chiff
No problem, did the whois there give you anymore info
on yours?
I searched google/yahoo/msn and the aussie version of google and can't find anything confirming that they have a trademark.

I also searched Madrid Express & ROMARIN, both are international trademark databases found at wipo.int. In each case no trademark was found.

Is there a better way to do a trademark search?
Quote:
Originally Posted by weblord
do a trademark search on it if you can't post the domain.
The domain is parked at Sedo.com. I originally purchased the domain to create a review site but later abandoned those plans. Had I moved forward w/my original plans...there would be no competition between my site and their products.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave zan
Is the domain name showing any ads, especially competing against the party's
product or service? Although it's arguably an idea to take that down, that will
not do any good if they already took a screenshot.
The words are very generic. As an example: speakerplace . com or furniturenews .com. Both are only examples.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agar
But generally if you have one or two words in a name that are both relative generic and you don't use the domain to in any way infringe on their business, I don't think you will have an issue.
I have 14 days to figure this out so everyone's help is appreciated.

One more note: all other tlds are still available for registration. If they were serious about their trademark wouldn't they have, at a minimum, registered the .net?

Last edited by tmeyer45458; 10-09-2008 at 07:26 AM.
tmeyer45458 is offline  
Old 10-13-2008, 02:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
sunken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: CSite.Net
Posts: 2,220
148.14 NP$ (Donate)

sunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud ofsunken has much to be proud of


It would seem to me if the domain was a couple of generic names and the site itself had nothing to do with their business, they might have a problem in WIPO. Trademark extends beyond just words, but scope as well. However, WIPO is far less forgiving than the actual law itself. Do you know someone in Australia that could perhaps check on it for you?
sunken is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Site Sponsors
Advertise your business at NamePros

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0
Template-Modifications by TMS
vBCredits v1.4 Copyright ©2007 - 2008, PixelFX Studios

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85