[advanced search]
Results from the most recent live auction are here.
33 members in the live chat room. Join Chat!
Register Rules & FAQ NP$ Store Active Threads Mark Forums Read
Domain Name Industry Newsletter
Go Back   NamePros.Com > Domain Names > Domain Newbies
User Name
Password

Old 08-28-2008, 01:37 PM   · #1
nasaboy007
NamePros Regular
 
Location: mysitememberships.com
Trader Rating: (32)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 925
NP$: 4800.90 (Donate)
nasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to behold
Strange Whois?

I'm interested in purchasing a domain of my name (it's pretty uncommon) but the .com is already registered. it expires on oct 24, 2008 so i figured i'd wait for it to drop (hopefully) and i could just pick it up.

however, the whois isn't normal; it's like this:

Quote:
Registrant:
Name Advertising
PO Box 601
New York, New York 10150
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: ********.COM
Created on: 24-Oct-06
Expires on: 24-Oct-08
Last Updated on: 26-Aug-08

Administrative Contact:
Advertising, Name nameadvertising@yahoo.com
PO Box 601
New York, New York 10150
United States
7183800128 Fax --



What/who is this Name Advertising thing? is it like a reseller who takes domain names and tries to sell it? i purposely haven't contacted them because if i show interest they're definitely won't drop the name.

what are my chances of this domain being dropped?


Please register or log-in into NamePros to hide ads
__________________
nasaboy007 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 01:46 PM   · #2
maxeaus
NamePros Regular
 
maxeaus's Avatar
 
Location: Australia
Trader Rating: (15)
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 844
NP$: 506.60 (Donate)
maxeaus is a splendid one to beholdmaxeaus is a splendid one to beholdmaxeaus is a splendid one to beholdmaxeaus is a splendid one to beholdmaxeaus is a splendid one to beholdmaxeaus is a splendid one to beholdmaxeaus is a splendid one to behold
Autism
Well it looks like a company name to me. It would not be surprising that a company called "name advertising" owns a domain name, of a name!, your name infact. Thats what im reading into it.

For all i know they may have my name too. Im not sure how you work out it will drop, how do you know that? Would it not be better to email them and ask if they will sell the name, or try and find out another "name" they own, and try a test with that one, just to see what they are looking for.
maxeaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 01:54 PM   · #3
DotUSDomains
Senior Member
 
DotUSDomains's Avatar
 
Name: Stevie
Location: www.wonderworld.us
Trader Rating: (104)
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,173
NP$: 314.10 (Donate)
DotUSDomains has a brilliant futureDotUSDomains has a brilliant futureDotUSDomains has a brilliant futureDotUSDomains has a brilliant futureDotUSDomains has a brilliant futureDotUSDomains has a brilliant futureDotUSDomains has a brilliant futureDotUSDomains has a brilliant futureDotUSDomains has a brilliant futureDotUSDomains has a brilliant futureDotUSDomains has a brilliant future
you'd be better of trying to find out there asking price for this name,

There is a good chance someone before you will catch this name when it drops.
__________________
Move.us - Coming Soon!
-----------------------

FloridaSecurity.us - CaliforniaSecurity.us - ArizonaSecurity.us - TexasSecurity.us
Mdp.us - Ppe.us - Vps.us - Bmc.us - Gnp.us - Bow.us Gpn.us - Pno.us - Dnj.us
DotUSDomains is offline  
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2008, 01:59 PM   · #4
nasaboy007
NamePros Regular
 
Location: mysitememberships.com
Trader Rating: (32)
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 925
NP$: 4800.90 (Donate)
nasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to beholdnasaboy007 is a splendid one to behold
well its just parked and only the .com is registered (net, org, etc are all open) so obviously not THAT desired...

Quote:
try and find out another "name" they own, and try a test with that one, just to see what they are looking for.



i like that idea, how would i go about finding what other names are registered to them though?
__________________
nasaboy007 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

NamePros is a revenue sharing forum.

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Site Sponsors
EscrowDNS Hunting Moon Hunting Moon
Advertise your business at NamePros
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 2.4.0