Results from the most recent live auction are here .
33 members in the live chat room. Join Chat !
08-22-2008, 01:33 AM
· #1 NamePros Member
Does this sound legit?
I've been getting emails from someone who says they want to buy my domain. I gave them the estimate from namebay.com and told them it was on sale at Sedo. They gave me a link to a blog that speaks very highly of another, more thorough (and expensive) appraiser at easynamesale. I don't know if they're legit and I don't want to spend 50+ bucks at easynamesale to find out if they are or not.
Thanks
nhgumbah
Is this a scam?
08-22-2008, 01:37 AM
· #2 NamePros Regular
Name: Alessandro
Location: Milano
Join Date: Jun 2008
Hi,
unfortunately i'm quite sure it is SCAM...
08-22-2008, 01:47 AM
· #3 24HourForum.com
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,652
NP$: 141.00 (
Donate )
Yes this SCUM BAG is a long time player in the Domain Industry. I have tried hard to find this SCUM BAG.... KARMA Will catch up with YOU SCUM BAG.
Stay away from this SCUM BAG. He is a long time SCAMMER.
08-22-2008, 04:11 AM
· #4 Senior Member
Name: Not yet, maybe later :)
Location: Copenhagen - Denmark
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,159
NP$: 0.00 (
Donate )
Any buyer who ask for an appraisal before s/he will buy your domain is SCAM.
08-22-2008, 04:15 AM
· #5 www.1weblord.com
Name: William R. Nabaza - williamrnabaza.com
Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 21,376
NP$: 21628.83 (
Donate )
he/she should buy your domain and not twist the conversation and lead you buying from him instead.
SCAM 101%
08-22-2008, 04:59 AM
· #6 NamePros Regular
Name: Ben
Location: UK
Join Date: Jan 2007
Definetly a SCAM!!!
Unfortunately i fell for this as domain newbie...
-Ben
08-22-2008, 05:29 AM
· #7 Law and disorder
Name: Kate
Location: Expat
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,480
NP$: 1583.11 (
Donate )
Do a search on this forum and google: appraisal scam
If you paid using a credit card: charge back
Actually everybody should do the same so they lose their merchant processing privileges.
08-22-2008, 06:34 AM
· #8 New Member
Stayyyy awaaayyyy!
08-22-2008, 06:55 AM
· #9 NamePros Regular
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 416
NP$: 552.36 (
Donate )
got same e-mail before a total scammer
08-22-2008, 07:12 AM
· #10 New Member
Yep, he got me last year...boned me!
08-22-2008, 05:09 PM
· #11 NamePros Regular
Name: Patrick McDermott
Location: Bronx.NY
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 624
NP$: 1134.00 (
Donate )
Originally Posted by nhgumbah I've been getting emails from someone who says they want to buy my domain. I gave them the estimate from namebay.com and told them it was on sale at Sedo. They gave me a link to a blog that speaks very highly of another, more thorough (and expensive) appraiser at easynamesale. I don't know if they're legit and I don't want to spend 50+ bucks at easynamesale to find out if they are or not.
Thanks
nhgumbah
Is this a scam?
Hi,
Whenever you get these type of offers paste the sender's email address
and the name they are using into Google.
You will not always get a result but most of the time you will.
Also, most of the time you will be led back to one or more domain forums
as others have received the same scam email.
Patrick
08-22-2008, 05:14 PM
· #12 NamePros Member
its not been long that i am into domains and stuff but a potential buyer never ask for a appraisal before he purchase the domain usually they send a offer or ask for the price
08-22-2008, 05:32 PM
· #13 Name Supplier
Name: Scott
Location: Great White North
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,976
NP$: 50.50 (
Donate )
If they are truly interested in your name it is up to them to determine its value.
A big red flag otherwise.
ST
__________________ FOR SALE: MySexyRoommate.com/ MLSHomes.tv/ MLSRealEstate.tv/ VoteRepublican.tv/CKGU.com/ BKHU.com/ VWTH.com /BKUC.com
08-22-2008, 06:20 PM
· #14 NamePros Regular
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 222
NP$: 806.85 (
Donate )
Definitely sounds like a scam, are you able to paste the entire email into this thread. I would love to read the way it was written.
__________________
My Domaining Story
08-23-2008, 12:59 AM
· #15 NamePros Member
Thanks guys,
It says in the email that I can't under any circumstances copy or share the email due to privacy issues, pretty nifty to say that when your scamming. If it's a scam, can I copy and paste it here anyway. Then you guys can see exactly what I'm talking about. And plus it'll warn other people against it.
08-23-2008, 07:40 AM
· #16 Law and disorder
Name: Kate
Location: Expat
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,480
NP$: 1583.11 (
Donate )
If you received a mail like that be very cautious:
Quote: Hello,
We've found your domain for sale after visiting several auction sites.
Please submit your price for consideration.
We are in software development and support business (contractors of large corporation)
At this time we are considering domain invetsing and reselling as additional dircetion of our investment strategy.
Looking forward to do business with you.
Regards,
Brian Meredith
COO
TGN Software Services
(or any other made-up name)
They just want you to buy an appraisal from their associates then they disappear.
If you reply with $100,000 or whatever amount they will say 'Okay' yet they they can't afford to pay for the appraisal themselves
Last edited by sdsinc : 08-23-2008 at 07:45 AM .
Reason: typo
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off