NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Newbies
Reload this Page i received an email asking to buy my domain

Domain Newbies New to domain names? Have your questions answered here.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2008, 08:34 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 106
commsskills is an unknown quantity at this point
 



i received an email asking to buy my domain


Hello, I received this email:

quote:
Hello,

Your domain for sale has been found online.
ÿ
Please let us know your price.
ÿ
We make money on selling and buying names and sites. Now the domain
business is very attractive.

Looking forward to do business with you.
ÿ
Regards,
George Ogilvie
CEO
Ogilvie Technologies
unquote

My domain is akeelah.biz

I paid a 10-year subscription on it and it still has 9 years to run.

How should i priced it so that i will not lose money on it.

I am confident that i can sell this to end-users within my area. If not, i was intending to develop it.

What should i do please?

On the one hand, this will be my first sale.

????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-newbies/498167-i-received-email-asking-buy-my.html
What would be a good sale price i can offer?
commsskills is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 08:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Ross's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,132
Ross has a brilliant futureRoss has a brilliant futureRoss has a brilliant futureRoss has a brilliant futureRoss has a brilliant futureRoss has a brilliant futureRoss has a brilliant futureRoss has a brilliant futureRoss has a brilliant futureRoss has a brilliant futureRoss has a brilliant future
 


Cancer Survivorship Breast Cancer
Check this thread:
http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and...is-a-scam.html

Its a scam sorry...

Originally Posted by artus360
Thank you for this thread. I just receive the same email this morning.
Whew! Thought someone is really interested in my domain *lol*

--- Hello,

Your domain for sale has been found online.
ÿ
Please let us know your price.
ÿ
We make money on selling and buying names and sites. Now the domain business is very attractive.

Looking forward to do business with you.
ÿ
Regards,
George Ogilvie
CEO
Ogilvie Technologies

---

the email address was ogilvie@toughguy.net
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=498167
tsk tsk tsk
Ross is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 09:52 PM THREAD STARTER               #3 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 106
commsskills is an unknown quantity at this point
 



It is okay

Thanks a lot, Tivo and I appreciate this feedback.
commsskills is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 07:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
pop13 is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Caution Ogilvie@toughguy.net scam!


Fromgilvie@toughguy.net

Hello,

Your domain for sale has been found online.
ÿ
Please let us know your price.
ÿ
We make money on selling and buying names and sites. Now the domain
business is very attractive.

Looking forward to do business with you.
ÿ
Regards,
George Ogilvie
CEO
Ogilvie Technologies

At first,im happy to read this email.I thought its really www.ogilvieuk.com. When i did some research in the internet i found it scam.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=498167
__________________
[/B]http://www.delitune.com
pop13 is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 11:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
First Time Poster!
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
schmakofatz is an unknown quantity at this point
 



seems to be very activ today ...
got this today from ogilvie@toughguy.net

Hello,

Your domain for sale has been found online.
ÿ
Please let us know your price.
ÿ
We make money on selling and buying names and sites. Now the domain business is very attractive.

Looking forward to do business with you.
ÿ
Regards,
George Ogilvie
CEO
Ogilvie Technologies

Thank you for your helpfull information on on this website !
Greetings from Germany
Volker
schmakofatz is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 08:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
CDM
NamePros Regular
 
CDM's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 458
CDM is a jewel in the roughCDM is a jewel in the roughCDM is a jewel in the rough
 




I got the exact same email a couple days ago for a 5L .com
__________________
CDM is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 09:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
wussadotcom's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,591
wussadotcom has a brilliant futurewussadotcom has a brilliant futurewussadotcom has a brilliant futurewussadotcom has a brilliant futurewussadotcom has a brilliant futurewussadotcom has a brilliant futurewussadotcom has a brilliant futurewussadotcom has a brilliant futurewussadotcom has a brilliant futurewussadotcom has a brilliant futurewussadotcom has a brilliant future
 




I received an email like that before..now I know why Yahoo put it into my spam box..
__________________
[HOT!] | Laman Web Cinta
I recommend Janine for high quality designs!!
FLIPPA
wussadotcom is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 05:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
Burano's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: California
Posts: 270
Burano is a jewel in the roughBurano is a jewel in the roughBurano is a jewel in the rough
 



I got one from this guy today too. I knew it the second I opened it. Glad to confirm it :-).
Burano is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 05:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Business Member

 
Corey's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 4,201
Corey has a reputation beyond reputeCorey has a reputation beyond reputeCorey has a reputation beyond reputeCorey has a reputation beyond reputeCorey has a reputation beyond reputeCorey has a reputation beyond reputeCorey has a reputation beyond reputeCorey has a reputation beyond reputeCorey has a reputation beyond reputeCorey has a reputation beyond reputeCorey has a reputation beyond repute
 


Special Olympics Protect Our Planet Animal Rescue
commsskills I encourage you to develop your name akeelah.biz it will give you a web presence and increase the value of the name, also you could earn money via Google adsense with good content.

Cheers
Corey
__________________
Occupy.TV website/domain name for sale!
Corey is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 07:51 AM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Easydoms's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: golfered.com
Posts: 1,124
Easydoms is just really niceEasydoms is just really niceEasydoms is just really niceEasydoms is just really nice
 


Animal Cruelty Save a Life Wildlife Autism
Definalty a scam to get you more than likely to pay for an appraisal from him or them, good idea to post it here before replying to any emails like this, there will always be someone here that would be able to advise you.
Easydoms is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 08:24 AM THREAD STARTER               #11 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 106
commsskills is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Originally Posted by coreyg
commsskills I encourage you to develop your name akeelah.biz it will give you a web presence and increase the value of the name, also you could earn money via Google adsense with good content.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=498167

Cheers
Corey
thanks, i will take your advice....i can still hear her spelling P U L C H I T R U D E in the spelling bee
commsskills is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger