NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Newbies
Reload this Page whats the purpose of this letter?

Domain Newbies New to domain names? Have your questions answered here.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2004, 05:29 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
 
redhippo's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: ANForum
Posts: 5,218
redhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to behold
 



Sad whats the purpose of this letter?


i have just received this email. whats the purpose of this letter? my registrar is not with start.no?


Date: 7/16/2004 01:25:01 -0700
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-newbies/39025-whats-the-purpose-of-this-letter.html
From: <karmano@start.no>
Reply-to: karmano@start.no
To: vv@mckiss.com
Subject: Domain Name Renewal Failed to Complete All headers
Dear dan :

We just wanted to let you know that we have attempted to renew the following services in your account (login: redhippo):

Service Expire Date Description
------------------------------------------------------
Registration 08-14-2004 anak.net

Although these services are set to auto-renew, the credit card information is either invalid or your credit card has been declined. If you would like to have these services renewed, it is urgent that you do the following:

1. go to
2. Login
3. Update your credit card information

That's it! We'll take care of the rest, and send you a confirmation e-mail once the service is extended.

If you have any questions, please reply to this e-mail. Thank you for using our domain name services.

Sincerely,
__________________
|www.vb-skins.com|- Quality Premade Vbulletin skins for Your VB forum makeover |www.Banjir.com|-Free image hosting?[B]For Sale!|AlphaScripts|Money Generating Scripts
FREE VB Skins
redhippo is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 05:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 792
dpk87 is a jewel in the roughdpk87 is a jewel in the roughdpk87 is a jewel in the rough
 



sounds like a scam to get your credit card number if you have never dealt with them before...
__________________
Candy Bar Store
dpk87 is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 06:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,141
Albert has much to be proud ofAlbert has much to be proud ofAlbert has much to be proud ofAlbert has much to be proud ofAlbert has much to be proud ofAlbert has much to be proud ofAlbert has much to be proud ofAlbert has much to be proud of
 



Report this to your registrar .
Albert is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 07:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: AL
Posts: 1,058
eSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to behold
 



It is legit. That is the standard email that gets sent out 30 days prior to a domain expiring.

a) I bet you have auto-renew turned on.
b) You don't have a vaild cc in your control panel
c) According to the whois karmano [at] start.no is the contact

So again, this is legit.
eSology is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 07:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,656
suthra is just really nicesuthra is just really nicesuthra is just really nicesuthra is just really nice
 



Its legitimate. It just asks you to login to your id and update your credit card info. Its not asking your Personal info by email.
__________________
A single smile can be a solution to several problems.:)
www.adult.ec
is for Sale! Why not make an Offer?
suthra is offline  
Old 07-16-2004, 09:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 3,923
Matt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud ofMatt has much to be proud of
 

Approved Contest Holder
Approved Contest Holder

Normally I get this from Enom when I have a domain, as there all set to auto renew anyhows. I dont have any CC info, so i either move them to another register if i want to keep thme (NameCheap) or sell them here in NAmePros

Rgds
MAtt
__________________
Gamerz.Biz - Possibly For Sale
Matt is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 03:26 AM THREAD STARTER               #7 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
 
redhippo's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: ANForum
Posts: 5,218
redhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to behold
 



its just that the email <<<karmano@start.no>>>
looks bogus & suspicious . i would expect a normal support@enom.com email or something similar
__________________
|www.vb-skins.com|- Quality Premade Vbulletin skins for Your VB forum makeover |www.Banjir.com|-Free image hosting?[B]For Sale!|AlphaScripts|Money Generating Scripts
FREE VB Skins
redhippo is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 07:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: AL
Posts: 1,058
eSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to behold
 



Why? Do a whois and you'll see that same email address for your registrar contact.
eSology is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 09:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 511
jyfan is an unknown quantity at this point
 



yea, i think the email address is a bit suspicious.

if it was a legitimate enom email, it would have an enom.com email. u should contact enon directly about this, i think.
jyfan is offline  
Old 07-17-2004, 10:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: AL
Posts: 1,058
eSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to beholdeSology is a splendid one to behold
 



dude, if you knew anything about eNom you would know that email is legit as they come.
eSology is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:20 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger