NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Newbies
Reload this Page A classic example, - mystery domain auction

Domain Newbies New to domain names? Have your questions answered here.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2007, 04:51 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: entrepreneurhosting.co.uk
Posts: 402
mattonline has a spectacular aura aboutmattonline has a spectacular aura about
 



A classic example, - mystery domain auction


OK, well i was browsing Ebay.com for domains, as you do, and i come across a mystery domain auction, usually i would just skip the listing and keep browsing as i feel there just full of junk domains anyways, but i clicked on this one and just read the auction
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-newbies/375718-a-classic-example-mystery-domain-auction.html

Auction linkhttp://cgi.ebay.com/Mystery-domain-n...QQcmdZViewItem

I was thinking to myself who puts a 3 letter.com in a mystery auction and i looked at the guys feedback it says 0, so again who pays for a premium name worth alot of money to a guy with 0 feedback, and i took a look at the guys username

adomainjac

A Domain Jack?

what you guys think

scam?
mattonline is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 08:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
nielsencl's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 2,513
nielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond reputenielsencl has a reputation beyond repute
 



Lots of red flags for sure. If the domains were worth as much as the reserve, then why hide what they are? I noticed that the first and only domain "clue" was that the 4 letter domain started with "QT" which doesn't indicate anything of much value to me...

The 0 feedback is also a concern, and since they have a lot of domains it may be they started using a new ID for some reason. Some investigative work may be able to track down what IDs they used before and what feedback they had...
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=375718

One good thing is that they say you must be satisfied or they will replace a domain or refund your money. I would demand to know what the domains were BEFORE paying anything after winning the bid. That way you can verify that the person really does own the domains he says he does.

And I would use a payment method like an escrow service to make sure I was protected.
nielsencl is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 09:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
carfinanceassistant.co.uk
 
dave9713's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, England
Posts: 688
dave9713 is a name known to alldave9713 is a name known to alldave9713 is a name known to alldave9713 is a name known to alldave9713 is a name known to alldave9713 is a name known to alldave9713 is a name known to alldave9713 is a name known to all
 



definetly i cant see how people could even bid on it. Saying that he will refund if your not happy doesnt mean he will, i mean anyone could say their unhappy if they didnt want the names.
dave9713 is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 11:28 AM THREAD STARTER               #4 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: entrepreneurhosting.co.uk
Posts: 402
mattonline has a spectacular aura aboutmattonline has a spectacular aura about
 



Bidder has ended this Item?

do you think he may have already sold it, because if i was a scammer i would take 800usd and run before ebay catches me
mattonline is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:22 PM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger