NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Newbies
Reload this Page WHOIS data question

Domain Newbies New to domain names? Have your questions answered here.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2007, 10:24 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
foxter is an unknown quantity at this point
 



WHOIS data question


WHOIS returned some info on domain name, including this:
Code:
Trademark Name:BGP Networks 
Trademark Date:2001-08-16 
Trademark Country:US 
Status:CLIENT DELETE PROHIBITED 
Status:CLIENT TRANSFER PROHIBITED 
Status:CLIENT UPDATE PROHIBITED
What does this mean? If I buy this domain, can I use it for my web site? The domain was created 2001, and parked since 2003.
foxter is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 10:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
A Wealth of Knowledge
 
stscac's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,809
stscac has much to be proud ofstscac has much to be proud ofstscac has much to be proud ofstscac has much to be proud ofstscac has much to be proud ofstscac has much to be proud ofstscac has much to be proud ofstscac has much to be proud of
 



Was it a .mobi name?

-Steve
stscac is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 10:40 PM THREAD STARTER               #3 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
foxter is an unknown quantity at this point
 



No. So, what does this whois info means?
foxter is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 10:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
dhscott's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,345
dhscott is a name known to alldhscott is a name known to alldhscott is a name known to alldhscott is a name known to alldhscott is a name known to alldhscott is a name known to all
 



Originally Posted by stscac
Was it a .mobi name?
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-newbies/374131-whois-data-question.html

-Steve
.mobi created in 2001?

It's probably a .info, I know afilias has a trademark section on their Whois details.

There should be a trademark number also, if you can find that, you should do a check on whether the trademark is still intact or not. It is likely that if you can purchase the name, then they don't have the trademark on it still (or it is being dropped?).
dhscott is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
SimpleDomaining's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 1,639
SimpleDomaining is a glorious beacon of lightSimpleDomaining is a glorious beacon of lightSimpleDomaining is a glorious beacon of lightSimpleDomaining is a glorious beacon of lightSimpleDomaining is a glorious beacon of light
 




there is suppose to be some more info under that lines.
__________________
naturalskincareproducts.com
SimpleDomaining is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:19 PM THREAD STARTER               #6 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
foxter is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Trying to search for it here: http://www.uspto.gov/main/trademarks.htm (click Search)
Going with "Basic Seach", searching for the Trademark Number gives me this result:
Code:
No TESS records were found to match the criteria of your query.
The TM registration number was correct, though it didnt show even DEAD results
foxter is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
AzN
is on hiatus
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,453
AzN has a reputation beyond reputeAzN has a reputation beyond reputeAzN has a reputation beyond reputeAzN has a reputation beyond reputeAzN has a reputation beyond reputeAzN has a reputation beyond reputeAzN has a reputation beyond reputeAzN has a reputation beyond reputeAzN has a reputation beyond reputeAzN has a reputation beyond reputeAzN has a reputation beyond repute
 


Find Marrow Donors! Ethan Allen Fund Ethan Allen Fund Ethan Allen Fund Save a Life Save a Life Save a Life Save a Life Save a Life Save a Life VA Tech Memorial VA Tech Memorial VA Tech Memorial VA Tech Memorial Save a Life Save a Life Save a Life
Originally Posted by foxter
Trying to search for it here: http://www.uspto.gov/main/trademarks.htm (click Search)
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=374131
Going with "Basic Seach", searching for the Trademark Number gives me this result:
Code:
No TESS records were found to match the criteria of your query.
The TM registration number was correct, though it didnt show even DEAD results
Yeah, there is TM abuse in .info and it seems like Afilias doesn't really enforce it. I saw many premium .info names with fake TM's and serial numbers of 12345
__________________
Currently on hiatus. Back whenever.
AzN is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:22 PM THREAD STARTER               #8 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
foxter is an unknown quantity at this point
 



So, this TM is really a fake? And there is no other way to validate it?
foxter is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 11:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
RajanUrs's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 322
RajanUrs has a spectacular aura aboutRajanUrs has a spectacular aura about
 



Originally Posted by foxter
If I buy this domain, can I use it for my web site?

????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=374131
Trademarks may not necessarily apply to all product categories. For example Jaguar may be a TM held by car company but it doesnt mean nobody else can use Jaguar for other products/services which is outside of the automobiles sector. However unique made up names pose a problem even if used in different business categories.
RajanUrs is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 12:17 AM THREAD STARTER               #10 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
foxter is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Hmmm, thank you guys. I'll reseach this TM thing a bit more before getting my feet wet
foxter is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 08:51 AM   #11 (permalink)
Domains my Dominion
 
sdsinc's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Web 1.0
Posts: 9,556
sdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatnesssdsinc Has achieved greatness
 


Third World Education Find Marrow Donors! Find Marrow Donors! Find Marrow Donors! Find Marrow Donors! Animal Rescue Animal Cruelty AIDS/HIV Animal Rescue Wildlife Breast Cancer Animal Rescue Wildlife
Originally Posted by foxter
So, this TM is really a fake? And there is no other way to validate it?
Trademarks can be registered in other countries as well. Uspto is just for trademarks registered in the US.
__________________
NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names
ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists
sdsinc is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:44 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger