NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Newbies
Reload this Page How to respond to price quote for one of my domains

Domain Newbies New to domain names? Have your questions answered here.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2006, 09:24 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
jayhawk is an unknown quantity at this point
 



How to respond to price quote for one of my domains


I just received an unsolicited email asking for a price quote on two of my domains. It was two seperate emails but the content was the exact same. I'm a little curious how they got my email though. Both are parked with Sedo but I havent changed over the nameserver yet so if you go to the site you get a 1&1 page saying the domain has recently been registered. I registered them both privately so whois doesnt list my email. And as far as I can tell Sedo just lets you enter an offer on their site and I assume they send me the email. Is there a way for you to contact a seller directly through Sedo? Does this sound fishy?
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-newbies/190728-how-respond-price-quote-one-my.html

Out of curiousity though how do you handle selling a domain? What forms of payment should I ask for? Would you quote a higher than market price and see if the buyer bites? How does the actual transfer work? Any advice would be most appreciated. Sorry, I've never sold a domain before. Thanks.
jayhawk is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 09:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Devil_Dog's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: az
Posts: 1,433
Devil_Dog is a name known to allDevil_Dog is a name known to allDevil_Dog is a name known to allDevil_Dog is a name known to allDevil_Dog is a name known to allDevil_Dog is a name known to all
 



They wouldn't happen to contain the words:

"Buying and selling domain names is not my main business."

and

"I run a software company. We develop client-server systems and databases in MS SQL and Delphi"

If so, just delete them.
__________________
.::: e-nic.com :::.- semperfidelis.com - stow.org - shopbooks.com - and more....
Devil_Dog is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 06:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
gingeman's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Classified
Posts: 2,720
gingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond repute
 


Save a Life Cancer Survivorship Cancer Survivorship Save a Life Baby Health Diabetes Marrow Donor Program
Hmm, sounds like a possible scam. Post the email or pm it to me and I'll tell you.
gingeman is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 07:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,201
FanCube is a splendid one to beholdFanCube is a splendid one to beholdFanCube is a splendid one to beholdFanCube is a splendid one to beholdFanCube is a splendid one to beholdFanCube is a splendid one to beholdFanCube is a splendid one to behold
 



Where you asked about getting an appraisal from a specific website and did the mail contain links to websites recommending a specific appraisal service? If it did, is it probably a scam
__________________
UNICEF
UGB.net
FanCube is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 07:38 AM THREAD STARTER               #5 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
jayhawk is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Devil Dog seems to be right on the money. The exact email was

Hello,

Please send me price for your domain.

IWe are very interested in this name.

Did you get offers from other people already?

Our company develops client-server systems (Delphi / Interbase), so investing in domain names is not my main business.

Looking forward to do business with you.

Best regards,
Anthony Wiborg
President
Back Office Engineering Norway


Thanks for the replies!
jayhawk is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 10:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
sixspeed is an unknown quantity at this point
 



I got that exact same message .... oh well move on
sixspeed is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 10:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
mbony's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
mbony is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Assuming it is a scam, what is the catch? Suppose he emails them? What happens next?
mbony is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 11:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Account Closed
 
B33R's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,951
B33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud of
 

Member of the Month
October 2006
Cancer
They ask for an appraisal which you have to pay for using their appraisal company (only you don't know that unless you Google for similar scams) and then suddenly they don't want to buy it after all...

Even more suspicious if the OP received two identical emails. I don't think any real buyer would do that without at least changing the wording or saying that he already contacted you about someotherdomain.com.

Here ya go - an active thread from the "warnings and alerts" section of NP.
http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and...isal-scam.html
Last edited by B33R; 04-25-2006 at 11:30 AM.
B33R is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 11:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
gingeman's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Classified
Posts: 2,720
gingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond reputegingeman has a reputation beyond repute
 


Save a Life Cancer Survivorship Cancer Survivorship Save a Life Baby Health Diabetes Marrow Donor Program
I am 100% certain this is a scam. Please do not enter into any negotiations with this fraudster. It is exactly as B33R says. Be warned!
gingeman is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 11:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 596
greggish is a jewel in the roughgreggish is a jewel in the roughgreggish is a jewel in the rough
 



If you don't mind wasting a little time, I would suggest that you reply and string these a$$holes along a bit. I would play with them and make them waste their time with me before finally telling them to go shove it.
greggish is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 12:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Account Closed
 
B33R's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,951
B33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud ofB33R has much to be proud of
 

Member of the Month
October 2006
Cancer
Originally Posted by greggish
If you don't mind wasting a little time, I would suggest that you reply and string these a$$holes along a bit. I would play with them and make them waste their time with me before finally telling them to go shove it.
It might save a few other people from getting spammed/scammed while you're wasting their time.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=190728

I wonder if there's a way to reverse this little scam on them....

Be real careful though, it's probably better to stay clear.
B33R is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:23 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger