06-01-2005, 02:00 PM
|
#1 (permalink)
|
| NamePros Founder Administrator
Join Date: Feb 2003 Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 13,336
72,265.93 NP$ ( Donate)
| New Sneaky Domain Registration Spam I just received this email that looks just like a legal notice. At first I thought it was a UDRP against me, but upon closer inspection they're just trying to sell me a dot INFO of a domain I already own. Sneaky!
| | Quote: |
Domain Update Center
9251-8 Yonge Street Suite 968
Richmond Hill, ON L4C 9T3
Phone: 1-866-441-0244
Fax: 1-718-208-4213
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- FINAL NOTICE
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ATT: Ron James ADMINISTRATIVE CONTACT
Ron James <my full contact information was here> www.1200.info Please be advised that the above noted domain name has now become available for registration.
Consequently the possibility of conflicting domain registration may occur.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE UNITED STATES LEGAL CODE
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
TITLE 15, Sec 1125. False descriptions, and dilution of Trademarks and the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP)
Be advised: Protecting a domain name registrant or trademark owner from confusing and/or conflicting domain name registrations is not the responsibility of the domain and trademark registration processes. In the event of a registration of the above noted domain by a third party, the UDRP may be applied under the following conditions.
Evidence of Registration and Use in Bad Faith. - For the purposes of Paragraph 4(a)(iii), the following circumstances, in particular but without limitation, if found by the Panel to be present, shall be evidence of the registration and use of a domain name in bad faith: (i) circumstances indicating that the domain name registered or acquired the domain name primarily for the purpose of selling, renting, or otherwise transferring the domain name registration to the complainant who is the owner of the trademark or service mark or a competitor of that complainant, for valuable consideration in excess of your documented out-of-pocket costs directly related to the domain name; or
(ii) the domain name has been registered in order to prevent the owner of the trademark or service mark from reflecting the mark in a corresponding domain name, provided that you have engaged in a pattern of such conduct; or
(iii) the domain name has been registered primarily for the purpose of disrupting the business of a competitor; or (iv) by using the domain name, registrant has intentionally attempted to attract, for commercial gain, Internet users to their web site or other on-line location, by creating a likelihood of confusion with the complainant's mark as to the source, sponsorship, affiliation, or endorsement or your web site or location or of a product or service of a web site or location.
In addition to remedies provided for by the URDP, section 4a (1)(2)(3) & b (1)(2)(3)(4) existing registrants, trademark and service mark owners are provided by DUC with a first right to use preference on domain names that are identical with new ccTLD, TLD extentions, or domain names that are confusingly similar to their own.
You are required to advise the Domain Update Center of your intent to license this name on or before the expiration of this notice.
Note: you may disregard this notice. If you disregard this notice or fail to reply:
(a) The licensing rights of this domain name may be assigned to any other applicant,
(b) DUC and or any ICANN accredited registrar will not be liable for loss of domain name license, identical or confusingly similar use of your company's domain name; or interruption of business activity or business losses.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- PLEASE READ CAREFULLY
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- If you fail to reply to DUC this domain may be registered by any third party without further notice. You must advise us of your intent to (a) secure this domain name or (b) release your first right to use preference.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Call 1-866-441-0244
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The information in this letter contains confidential and/or legally privileged information from the notification processing department of the DUC. This information is intended only for the use of the individual(s) named above. Email miranda5@myway.com if you do not want to receive further updates from DUC. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that disclosure, copying, distribution or the taking of any action in reliance on the contents for this letter is strictly prohibited. |
__________________ I am currently on sabbatical. I will be returning to full time duties on February 15, 2010.
Need help with NamePros? Most forum or NP account issues can be handled by my co-webmaster NPQueen.
If you need me for something specific (such as buyers group or domain renewal assistance) please email me at (my username)@namepros.com and I will get back to you as soon as possible. |
| |