| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() | LeadRefs | Forum Sponsorship |
| Want to sell your domain? LeadRefs.com finds multiple potential buyers to contact instantly! | ||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,438
![]() ![]() | Ebay spoof question - DOMAIN RELATED Hello, I got an email which seemed to be from Ebay's "ID Verify" department. THe email states that "ID Verify" (normally $5.00), is free until 4-20-2005 for anyone that has not yet enlisted. So, I moused over the link, and verified that the link was not an ebay link. The link in the spoof email pointed to... h**p://get-verified.com/ebay/index.php. If you go to that page, you would see that it is up and running (at leaast it was when I posted this post). So I went the root h**p://get-verified.com ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/83530-ebay-spoof-question-domain-related.html and the index file merely states that the site is under construction. So then I went to WHOIS.SC just to see what WHOIS info was on this domain and much to my surprise, WHOIS.SC is telling me that the domain is not registered (and never has been). So it appears that these crooks have pages hosted under this domain yet they have not registered it? I figured, well, it is just a masked redirect but that can't be because in order to be able to mask/redirect a domain to another domain/site, one must actually register that redirected domain in the first place. So, how on earth can these people host a site on a domain or redirct a domain that is not and has never been registered by a single person (according to WHOIS.SC)?
Last edited by zquest; 04-18-2005 at 04:24 PM.
|
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Feb 2003 Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 200
![]() | Registered with bad root data? get-verified.com ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=83530 addresses 63.99.213.14 whois.internic.net & some other whois show: “”No match for domain "GET-VERIFIED.COM"” BUT But, whois.*** shows get-verified.com is “unavailable” I think I read about this, registered, but a bad code in the root crashes some whois. Root should be checked with a dig program which you get a chance. So, checking the hosting: whois.arin.net with "!NET-63-99-213-0-1"… CustName: Ready Hosting Address: 400 International Parkway City: Richardson StateProv: TX PostalCode: 75081 Country: US RegDate: 2003-11-06 Updated: 2003-11-06 NetRange: 63.99.213.0 - 63.99.213.255 CIDR: 63.99.213.0/24 NetName: UU-63-99-213 NetHandle: NET-63-99-213-0-1 Parent: NET-63-64-0-0-1 NetType: Reassigned Comment: Addresses within this block are non-portable. RegDate: 2003-11-06 Updated: 2003-11-06 TechHandle: OA12-ARIN TechName: UUnet Technologies, Inc., Technologies TechPhone: +1-800-900-0241 TechEmail: help4u@mci.com OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE3-ARIN OrgAbuseName: abuse OrgAbusePhone: +1-800-900-0241 OrgAbuseEmail: abuse-mail@mci.com OrgNOCHandle: OA12-ARIN OrgNOCName: UUnet Technologies, Inc., Technologies OrgNOCPhone: +1-800-900-0241 OrgNOCEmail: help4u@mci.com OrgTechHandle: SWIPP-ARIN OrgTechName: swipper OrgTechPhone: +1-800-900-0241 OrgTechEmail: swipper@mci.com # ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2005-04-17 19:10 # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database. |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Nov 2004 Location: Esse quam videri
Posts: 8,316
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | It is registered, but either the appropriate whois server is down or it is so new as to not show up apparently... GoDaddy's whois server responds with: "The Registry Whois service did not respond. Please try again later." But G'diddy won't let it be registered because it knows it has been registered already. -Allan
__________________ Something Witty This Way Comes... |
| |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 4,015
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | The average life of a phishing domain is probably less than 30 days. I think a lot of these crooks register a name using false whois info, then make the best of the few days it's live before they are reported for abuse. I would guess they also share info about who's DNS servers don't propagate quickly or can serve up incomplete data to give them a few extra days or hours of use before being shut down.
__________________ AdoptableDomains.com ~~~~~Finding Good Homes for Good Names~~~~~ FuelPrices.mobi - Fish.us - ManhattanNewYork.net - Salesmen.info - SoundSystems.org Dickering.com - JobPlacement.biz - LotteryTickets.ws - Deleted.cc - Names.im - MP3.hn |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #5 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,438
![]() ![]() | Ahhhh. thanks guys. I actually called one of these spoofers/spammers before. Well, actually I didn;t. The whois registrant info was totally false and the # and name they used was soem randon phonebook entry. The guy I talked to was a really old person that was very intrigued about someone using his name to register a domain for illegal purposes. Don;t know if he ever pursued it. |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2005 Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,746
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | at namecheap.com it says its taken
__________________ WowHumor.net - Funny World of Warcraft Pictures |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #9 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,438
![]() ![]() |
Every domain reg I go to says that it is already taken but WHOIS.net both show that the domain is available. Go figure. | ||||
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Redemption Grace Period | TopNames.com | Domain Newbies | 1 | 07-31-2007 11:04 AM |
| PPC Domain Manager Script Now Available! | Cyphix | Scripts For Sale | 8 | 04-01-2005 01:50 AM |
| Parse a URL in PHP to return domain | RJ | Programming | 43 | 11-12-2004 07:45 AM |
| Planning a domain switch | odditysoftware | Industry News | 9 | 05-31-2004 09:57 PM |
| Treasured Domain Name related names up for grabs! | GoldenDomains | Domains For Sale - Make Offer | 2 | 04-08-2004 08:52 AM |