NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Name Discussion
Reload this Page Anyone ever get calls from Web.com?

Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions.

Advanced Search
8 members in live chat ~  
LeadRefs LeadRefs
Forum Sponsorship
Want to sell your domain? LeadRefs.com finds multiple potential buyers to contact instantly!



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2009, 02:28 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
Ex-President
 
Ronald Regging's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mount Joy, PA
Posts: 2,643
Ronald Regging has much to be proud ofRonald Regging has much to be proud ofRonald Regging has much to be proud ofRonald Regging has much to be proud ofRonald Regging has much to be proud ofRonald Regging has much to be proud ofRonald Regging has much to be proud ofRonald Regging has much to be proud ofRonald Regging has much to be proud of
 


Ethan Allen Fund Protect Our Planet

Anyone ever get calls from Web.com?


I recently registered a .US domain from Moniker and I've been getting calls from Web.com, informing me that with my registration I am entitled to a free website design. They usually call when I'm in the middle of something, so I just hang up, but next time they call I'm going to mess with them. I'm trying to figure out if this is pure whois mining telemarketing scum... Or if they have a partnership with Moniker or the .US extension that I am unaware of?
Ronald Regging is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
stewystarr's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 229
stewystarr is on a distinguished road
 



Cant find a partnership with either .us or moniker Current Partners | Web.com
__________________
UfoNews.net for the latest Ufo News
stewystarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 05:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
 
evirtual1's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rod.Tv
Posts: 7,368
evirtual1 has a reputation beyond reputeevirtual1 has a reputation beyond reputeevirtual1 has a reputation beyond reputeevirtual1 has a reputation beyond reputeevirtual1 has a reputation beyond reputeevirtual1 has a reputation beyond reputeevirtual1 has a reputation beyond reputeevirtual1 has a reputation beyond reputeevirtual1 has a reputation beyond reputeevirtual1 has a reputation beyond reputeevirtual1 has a reputation beyond repute
 



they must feel there is money in your name ? could be worth listening to them ?
__________________
Start your business with.... AllDogWalking.Com
Business Information
School Study Guide
Blonde
evirtual1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 06:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
stewystarr's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 229
stewystarr is on a distinguished road
 



could also be someone posing as web.com. I would mess with them a little but never agree to anything. There are alot of people who have reported problems with web.com as well if you do a google search for web.com reviews.
__________________
UfoNews.net for the latest Ufo News
stewystarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 06:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Business Member
 
SpareDomains's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,462
SpareDomains has a reputation beyond reputeSpareDomains has a reputation beyond reputeSpareDomains has a reputation beyond reputeSpareDomains has a reputation beyond reputeSpareDomains has a reputation beyond reputeSpareDomains has a reputation beyond reputeSpareDomains has a reputation beyond reputeSpareDomains has a reputation beyond reputeSpareDomains has a reputation beyond reputeSpareDomains has a reputation beyond reputeSpareDomains has a reputation beyond repute
 


Cancer Survivorship
Originally Posted by Ronald Regging View Post
I recently registered a .US domain from Moniker and I've been getting calls from Web.com, informing me that with my registration I am entitled to a free website design. They usually call when I'm in the middle of something, so I just hang up, but next time they call I'm going to mess with them. I'm trying to figure out if this is pure whois mining telemarketing scum... Or if they have a partnership with Moniker or the .US extension that I am unaware of?
Next time they call I would ask... How did you get my number?

If they respond we are whois mining scream "you bitches" and slam the phone down

If they respond moniker leaks all emails to us scream "those bitches" and slam the phone down


????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/623434-anyone-ever-get-calls-web-com.html

stewystarr has a good point as well, google the number and make sure it is actually web.com as well.

I know a while ago I did some .mobi or .us at moniker (don't remember which one) and I was confused as it went through one of their registration partners so the receipt didn't say moniker on it, don't think it was web.com though somebody else.

I'm sure Bari can let ya know if they have anything to do with web.com
Last edited by SpareDomains; 11-16-2009 at 06:44 PM.
SpareDomains is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:31 PM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger