NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Name Discussion
Reload this Page Is it scam?

Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions.

Advanced Search


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2009, 03:17 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
MasterGuru's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Russian Federation
Posts: 270
MasterGuru is an unknown quantity at this pointMasterGuru is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Is it scam?


Just received this kind of message. In my opinion this is scam. What do you think ?
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/601999-is-it-scam.html

----begin----------
Dear Sir,
we are interested to buy your domain name ******** and offer 65% of the appraised market value.
As of now we accept appraisals from either one of the following leading appraisal companies:

*********
**********
**********

If you already have an appraisal please forward it to us.
As soon as we have received your appraisal we will send you our payment (we use Paypal for amounts less than $2,000 and escrow.com for amounts above $2,000) as well as further instructions on how to complete the transfer of the domain name.
We appreciate your business,
Thank you,
Resale Domain
-----END--------------
MasterGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 03:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Be Happy... Don't Worry
 
Michelle's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 16,036
Michelle Has achieved greatnessMichelle Has achieved greatnessMichelle Has achieved greatnessMichelle Has achieved greatnessMichelle Has achieved greatnessMichelle Has achieved greatnessMichelle Has achieved greatnessMichelle Has achieved greatnessMichelle Has achieved greatnessMichelle Has achieved greatnessMichelle Has achieved greatness
 

Member of the Month
April 2007
Ethan Allen Fund
Yes
Michelle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 03:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
www.DataCube.com
 
bmugford's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 5,818
bmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatnessbmugford Has achieved greatness
 


Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Animal Rescue Animal Cruelty Animal Cruelty Animal Cruelty Save a Life Save a Life Save a Life Cancer Survivorship Cancer Survivorship Cancer Cancer Breast Cancer Breast Cancer Parkinson's Disease Alzheimer's SIDS Lou Gehrig's Disease (ALS)
Yes, it is the is the standard appraisal scam.

Brad
__________________
DataCube.com - Buy and Sell Premium Domains
Add Me on Facebook
bmugford is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 03:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
.X.
Revolution Calling!
 
.X.'s Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NamePros Avenue
Posts: 5,807
.X. has a reputation beyond repute.X. has a reputation beyond repute.X. has a reputation beyond repute.X. has a reputation beyond repute.X. has a reputation beyond repute.X. has a reputation beyond repute.X. has a reputation beyond repute.X. has a reputation beyond repute.X. has a reputation beyond repute.X. has a reputation beyond repute.X. has a reputation beyond repute
 

Member of the Month
November 2005
Baby Health Ethan Allen Fund Protect Our Planet
defiantly a scam. The old domain valuation scam "sigh"
.X. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 03:22 AM THREAD STARTER               #5 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
MasterGuru's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Russian Federation
Posts: 270
MasterGuru is an unknown quantity at this pointMasterGuru is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Thank you for fast reply.
MasterGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 03:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
NotSober's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 431
NotSober is just really niceNotSober is just really niceNotSober is just really niceNotSober is just really nice
 



Yes.. its a spam scam...
NotSober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 03:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Uk
Posts: 1,026
shane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to behold
 



Scam scam scam
shane mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 03:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
useless's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: India
Posts: 360
useless has a spectacular aura aboutuseless has a spectacular aura about
 



i actually was saved from falling for this scam some years back..... but i don think people fall for these scams now....
useless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 03:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Uk
Posts: 1,026
shane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to beholdshane mac is a splendid one to behold
 



Originally Posted by useless View Post
..... but i don think people fall for these scams now....
You would be very wrong.Not every domainer/part time domainer or entrepreneur uses forums like these.There will be a lot of people who do fall for these scams.
shane mac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 04:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
mojojo's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 360
mojojo has a spectacular aura aboutmojojo has a spectacular aura about
 



I think every of us got 1 or 2 mails of this kind when we start with domains. wondering how many payed for an appraisal...
mojojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 04:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 173
cwinhall is on a distinguished road
 



whats ur domain name they emailed u about? Be nice to know what letter they are up to now on their list.
cwinhall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 09:04 AM   #12 (permalink)
NamePros Supporter
 
Tribulatio's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 868
Tribulatio has a brilliant futureTribulatio has a brilliant futureTribulatio has a brilliant futureTribulatio has a brilliant futureTribulatio has a brilliant futureTribulatio has a brilliant futureTribulatio has a brilliant futureTribulatio has a brilliant futureTribulatio has a brilliant futureTribulatio has a brilliant futureTribulatio has a brilliant future
 




Just read the discussion thread there:
Another Domain Appraisal Scam ~ Kevin Hill : DotWeekly.com Domain Name Blog
Tribulatio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 10:58 AM   #13 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
rocknrollo's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 867
rocknrollo has much to be proud ofrocknrollo has much to be proud ofrocknrollo has much to be proud ofrocknrollo has much to be proud ofrocknrollo has much to be proud ofrocknrollo has much to be proud ofrocknrollo has much to be proud ofrocknrollo has much to be proud of
 



Originally Posted by L2 View Post
Got one a couple days ago on a first letter "S" domain.

L2
yes they must be on the s's becouse I got one today for silverdollar dot info
__________________
www.FreedomTrail.mobi
LibertyIsland.mobi ........
www.Cloud.in Get In The Cloud
rocknrollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 109
intheflow is on a distinguished road
 



Got one for SE.........

Movin through the alphabet.
intheflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 01:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
dnpimping.com's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
dnpimping.com has a spectacular aura aboutdnpimping.com has a spectacular aura about
 



I received the same email, it is definitely a scam. If you care to read about my experience with this scam artist feel free: Domain Appraisal Scam Artist Poses As A Domain Buyer : DNPimping Domaining News, Tips, Tutorials, Videos

This person will eventually run into the wrong domainer and find himself paying a hefty penalty for this scam. Domain scams are now recognized by the authorities and can be convicted in the court of law. He'll eventually get busted.
__________________

dnpimping.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 08:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 245
thewebhostingdir is on a distinguished road
 



It is a scam for sure and you got to be very careful and not to deal with such spam emails. Also mark such emails as Spam.
__________________
AccuWebHosting.Com - Low cost 1 GB RAM Windows VPS Hosting from $23/Month
Brick7 Cars & Jobs
thewebhostingdir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:44 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger