| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() | LeadRefs | Forum Sponsorship |
| Want to sell your domain? LeadRefs.com finds multiple potential buyers to contact instantly! | ||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| *Epitome.Of.Pulchritude* Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,130
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Feb 2004 Location: Montreal
Posts: 197
![]() ![]() | I received an almost identical email, they said they would suspend my account in three days. Never happened though.
__________________ :music: HitZ.ca | Your #1 Music Station |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #5 (permalink) |
| *Epitome.Of.Pulchritude* Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,130
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | This is not trojan, simply some email scams. If a trojan, it will be in your computer registry. That, you definitely don't want that. (Take hell alot of time to get everything cleaned).
__________________ %%- 29th May NP Auction at 8pm EDT/5pm PDT/12am UTC %%- Drop-by when you are free: 1-after-1 NP$ .info Auction Toronto Summer 2011: Book NOW! | For Sale: CrazyScript.com - comes with some traffic! |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,200
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
thanks for the information great npr
__________________ Forex Trading Information | ||||
| |
| | #9 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Sep 2004 Location: Vancouver not BC, Washington not DC
Posts: 188
![]() |
| ||||
| |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Dec 2003 Location: The Beach
Posts: 584
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | It's phishing all right, and it's gotten thousands of people hoodwinked out of their credit card info. First it used to be really long URLs that spoofed the target site (eg eBay) at the start of the URL, only to be ended at the far end of the longish URL with the real domain name. Now they're using the more insidious method as described above where the anchor text of the hyperlink is supposedly a valid domain, but in fact when you look at the actual hyperlink (via a mouseover or worse-- if you fell for it and clicked on it) it was actual somewhere else that gave you the look and feel of the target site but is actually in the criminal's site. Best never to click on questionable emails like that when asked for a link and instead verifying or doing a copy-and-paste to your browser and the like, and only after verifying if the link is legit.
__________________ Newsback.com -- Commentary and backstories of the news ----------------------------------------------- |
| |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| NamePros Legend Join Date: Jul 2004 Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 18,396
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I get at least one or two of these a month.. many, instead, of using a domain, use an IP address that you can see on mouseover.. I also get spoofs for SunTrust Bank (and I have never had an account there!). |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #12 (permalink) |
| *Epitome.Of.Pulchritude* Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,130
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I don't see any harm just clicking it though, personally. It is not a virus-infected site. Just a page that looks exactly like official eBay's. BUT of course, do not type your info in it. Don't fall for the trap! And pal (webdome), I will be interested to know some trojan that does not affect the registry. Exploring pc virus is one of my hobby, won't hesitate to grab this chance to know more about it from you, hehe.
__________________ %%- 29th May NP Auction at 8pm EDT/5pm PDT/12am UTC %%- Drop-by when you are free: 1-after-1 NP$ .info Auction Toronto Summer 2011: Book NOW! | For Sale: CrazyScript.com - comes with some traffic! |
| |