| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
![]() | Domain Name Found Online!!! Hello Everyone, I bought a domain name petfat.com yesterday and this afternoon i got an email from the onlinebrokerage.com saying that they found my domain name online and would like to purchase it because they are very much interested in it. I gave them a quote of $4,500 after doing an appraisal, but the problem is how to sell it to them because it is already listed on Sedo. Should i just tell them to go to Sedo and purchase it. If you have any other view, please let me know, Thanks. |
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2006 Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,594
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | This is commonly known as an "appraisal scam"... they probably did a list of newly registered domains and sent you an e-mail through your who-is contact information. I'd "delete" the e-mail and forget about it. |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #4 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
![]() | The message i got Hi 190GT, This is the email that was sent to me, Hello, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! Your domain name has been found online. We are very interested in it. Please let us know your price. This is not our main business but we make money on buying/seling domains. This is a profitable business. Looking forward to do business with you. Regards, Michael E Myers Vice President OB Securities LLC Please tell me if this is for real or a scam. Thanks, I await your suggestions.
Last edited by vickydomino; 12-29-2008 at 08:04 AM.
|
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #6 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
![]() | @ Nick @ Nick, So are you suggesting that ignore it? I listed this site on sedo.co.k but i have not gotten any views yet. I dont have cash now to list it as premium. Do you have any suggestions as to how i can sell this domain name off in time because i am new in this business. Please suggestions.... Thanks. |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #8 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
![]() | @ Nick @ Nick, So are you suggesting that ignore it? Please what is an appraisal scam? I listed this site on sedo.co.k but i have not gotten any views yet. I dont have cash now to list it as premium. Do you have any suggestions as to how i can sell this domain name off in time because i am new in this business. Please suggestions.... Thanks. |
| |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,204
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Great name for a hand registration. I remember seeing a news clip once for "pet fat." Anyway, this is definitely the ever-so-common appraisal scam. Essentially, the "buyer" leads you along as if he's going to buy the name from you, but he requests you get an appraisal from a certain company he suggests. In short, you pay for the appraisal, the money for the appraisal goes to him, and he suddenly loses interest in your name. Do a search here or on Google for "domain appraisal scam" to find out a little more.
__________________ Steve NamePros Staff Emeritus |
| |
| | #10 (permalink) | ||||
| Forum Moderator ![]() Join Date: Aug 2006 Location: USA
Posts: 2,041
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I see they added "Holiday Greetings" to their customary form letter ... This scam has been going around for years - domain forums are full of posts about it but still new folks often get burned. Sorry it happened to you.
__________________ Enlytend Solutions - Internet marketing and web development, specializing in local search optimization Was my advice helpful? Please consider a small donation to the National Canine Cancer Foundation - a tax deductible 501(c)(3)that directly funds cancer research | ||||
| |
| | #12 (permalink) | ||||
| First Time Poster ! Join Date: Apr 2005 Location: GB
Posts: 6,881
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
LOL, your domain name has been found online ! No shit sherlock . | ||||
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #13 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
![]() | @Steve Please do you know any good place where i can sell my domain name in time. As i said earlier on, i am new to this business and i listed my name on sedo, but i cant afford to pay for premium listing because i dont have the money, i just graduated and i have little money with me. Please help me with a cost effective method or way to sell this domain name. Thanks. |
| |
| | #14 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,204
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=546316 Don't expect the $4,500 you're asking. Oftentimes, it's difficult to find a buyer if the name is newly registered or receives no traffic -- keep that in mind while selling. Best of luck, Steve
__________________ Steve NamePros Staff Emeritus | ||||
| |
| | #15 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,295
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | The "this is not our regular business" line is just about proof that it is a scam. It goes like this. You respond with a price and they come back and say that your price sounds reasonable, but they need an appraisal to satisfy their boss. Then they ask you to get an appraisal from a company that they name, at your cost. Thing is that that they also own the company and once you get the appraisal you never sell the domain. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=546316 While it is possible to register a domain and sell it quickly, it is rare. There is no substitute for knowledge and experience in this business. The more time you spend reading this forum, the more chance that you will make money in domains. Domains provide an opportunity to make a significant amount of money with a modest investment, given time, knowledge, and a little luck. But you do have to earn it, with study and long hours of searching. |
| |
| | #18 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 24
![]() ![]() | Yes, this is an appraisal scam. Usually, they will ask you to get an appraisal from a place of their choice, ranging from 100$ to 300$. They claim that godaddy, sedo, or any other appraiser is not trustworthy. Don't get to excited about it. Good Luck! JR |
| |