NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Name Discussion
Reload this Page A question

Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions.

Advanced Search
4 members in live chat ~  
LeadRefs LeadRefs
Forum Sponsorship
Want to sell your domain? LeadRefs.com finds multiple potential buyers to contact instantly!



Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-28-2008, 02:34 AM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
dmi
Senior Member
 
dmi's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N43°54′, E017°40′
Posts: 1,000
dmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant future
 


Save a Life Protect Our Planet

A question


Hi there,

I've got a little question for you guys... Let me explain the situation. Someone registered a domain name (let's call it SOMENAME.COM) in 2002. I remember that very well. They registered it for 10 years (expiry in 2012). After a year, ICANN (or the registrar) found out that they used stolen credit cards to do that... and they dropped the domain. Someone picked it up... I checked the WHOIS on several occasions (in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008) and it was owned by the same guy and it's expiry date was in 2012.

I contacted the guy to inquire about it, and he was asking too much for it. Anyway, in August I went to do a WHOIS and I was surprised -- the domain is available for registration! I regged it right away... and it's mine now. But what I was wondering is how it dropped when it's expiry date was in 2012???

I hope you understand what I'm asking.

Thanks in advance,
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/528132-a-question.html
dmi
dmi is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 02:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
NamePros Legend
 
weblord's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,784
weblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatness
 


Autism Protect Our Planet
forced drop or forced transfer could be the answer since you said it was obtained by Illegal means
http://www.answers.com/topic/domain-name
__________________
Nabaza.com - Amaia
weblord is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 02:46 AM THREAD STARTER               #3 (permalink)
dmi
Senior Member
 
dmi's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: N43°54′, E017°40′
Posts: 1,000
dmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant futuredmi has a brilliant future
 


Save a Life Protect Our Planet
Originally Posted by weblord
forced drop or forced transfer could be the answer since you said it was obtained by Illegal means
http://www.answers.com/topic/domain-name
It was obtained ilegally the first time, but the second time it wasn't (I guess). The same guy owned it for like 5 years and then it suddenly dropped.
dmi is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 02:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
NamePros Legend
 
weblord's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,784
weblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatnessweblord Has achieved greatness
 


Autism Protect Our Planet
at any point registrar can intervene, orig. owner didn't own in the first place.
maybe a premium member of domaintools.com can help you specifically do a domain research on it in detail.

Originally Posted by dmi
It was obtained ilegally the first time, but the second time it wasn't (I guess). The same guy owned it for like 5 years and then it suddenly dropped.
__________________
Nabaza.com - Amaia
weblord is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 11:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ill Annoy
Posts: 56
duodec is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Originally Posted by dmi
It was obtained ilegally the first time, but the second time it wasn't (I guess). The same guy owned it for like 5 years and then it suddenly dropped.
Any chance there was a trademark issue with the name? That could have caused the registrant to drop/cancel it also.
duodec is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 06:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Domain Branding Expert
 
R9V.com's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 781
R9V.com is a splendid one to beholdR9V.com is a splendid one to beholdR9V.com is a splendid one to beholdR9V.com is a splendid one to beholdR9V.com is a splendid one to beholdR9V.com is a splendid one to beholdR9V.com is a splendid one to beholdR9V.com is a splendid one to behold
 



if you look in the legal issues of this forum - these is a thread about a site where you can search to see if a domain has had any legal issues at any point...
R9V.com is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 11:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
soggyindo's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: ✰$479 sites✰ artistwebsite.org
Posts: 1,283
soggyindo is a splendid one to beholdsoggyindo is a splendid one to beholdsoggyindo is a splendid one to beholdsoggyindo is a splendid one to beholdsoggyindo is a splendid one to beholdsoggyindo is a splendid one to beholdsoggyindo is a splendid one to behold
 



false whois details?
__________________
Get a top quality domain portfolio, blog, or developed website, from $479.
Quote NAMEHUGGER11 for a NamePros only discount.
Artist Website | Contemporary Art Blogs.
soggyindo is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:51 AM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger