| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert ![]() Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,997
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Is this genuine or a scam? This smells fishy to me. But if it's real. What does it mean? The domain used for the email was only regged on 14th June 2008 (10 days ago) and is WhoiGuard protected. First I get this email... Subject: Test From: ICANN <icann@icannresolve.com> To: my whois email address test Followed shortly after by this email... Subject:: ICANN - Domain Upgrade Notice From: ICANN <icann@icannresolve.com> To: my whois email address Dear Domain Account Holder, You are being sent this notice from ICANN due to the fact that you currently own an active domain name. ICANN is currently upgrading all domains from their registry database. The upgrade will introduce new control options for your domain and easier access. The new upgrade is required by the registry. All domain users are expected to submit their domain information manually at http://www.icannresolve.com/email/link.php?M=<snip> with the required information for ICANN to apply the required updates. The upgrades will be applied to accounts on a first come, first serve basis. You have until July 25, 2008 to submit the required information to avoid service and domain interruption. Thank you for your time. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/485270-is-this-genuine-or-a-scam.html Sincerely, ICANNResolve ICANN.org Resolutions Department
Last edited by stub; 06-23-2008 at 11:05 PM.
|
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 608
![]() ![]() | Looks like a scam...
__________________ Wise man says... Websites: Virtualization.net: Virtualization & Cloud Computing Portal - Solutions.PRO - AUTOTALK.com Domains: Memory.pro - Furniture.pro - Scuba.pro - Marble.pro - Lens.pro |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,702
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | looks like a scam! http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and...n-resolve.html http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-...de-notice.html
__________________ - shockie |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Oct 2007 Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 976
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | my scam/spam detector is pegged. Almost all of my junk/scam mail starts off with some kind of initial test message, followed by the scam/spam once they determine it is live. Did you do a traceroute or other tracking on the sender and associated IP's?
__________________ . (Just another mathematician obsessed with proving P != NP -- that is a math joke for job security) Smile! In a few short years you will realize that these are the good old days! |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Oct 2007 Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 976
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ . (Just another mathematician obsessed with proving P != NP -- that is a math joke for job security) Smile! In a few short years you will realize that these are the good old days! | ||||
| |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| is on hiatus Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,453
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Dear Domain Account Holder, You are being sent this notice from ICANN due to the fact that you currently own an active domain name. ICANN is currently upgrading all domains from their registry database. The upgrade will introduce new control options for your domain and easier access. The new upgrade is required by the registry. All domain users are expected to submit their domain information manually at {link removed} with the required information for ICANN to apply the required updates. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=485270 The upgrades will be applied to accounts on a first come, first serve basis. You have until July 25, 2008 to submit the required information to avoid service and domain interruption. Thank you for your time. Sincerely, ICANNResolve ICANN.org Resolutions Department Got the same thing, site doesn't load for me, so i was like WTF. The domain is just regged, so seems like a scam
__________________ Currently on hiatus. Back whenever.
Last edited by Etab; 06-24-2008 at 07:37 AM.
|
| |
| | #10 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Legend Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,785
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | the domain whois looks suspicious why would they shield it?
| ||||
| |
| | #11 (permalink) | ||||
| is on hiatus Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,453
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=485270 Name Server:NS.ICANN.ORG Name Server:A.IANA-SERVERS.NET Name Server:C.IANA-SERVERS.NET Name Server:B.IANA-SERVERS.ORG Name Server .IANA-SERVERS.NETvs Name Servers: dns1.registrar-servers.com dns2.registrar-servers.com dns3.registrar-servers.com
__________________ Currently on hiatus. Back whenever. | ||||
| |