| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() | LeadRefs | Forum Sponsorship |
| Want to sell your domain? LeadRefs.com finds multiple potential buyers to contact instantly! | ||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| Senior Member ![]() Join Date: Mar 2003 Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 1,180
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | ICANN - Domain Upgrade Notice Guys, this domain was just registered 10 days ago, Don't give these people your information, it's a scam! ************************************** Domain name: icannresolve.com Registrant Contact: WhoisGuard WhoisGuard Protected 8939 S. Sepulveda Blvd. #110 - 732 Westchester, CA 90045 US +1.661-310-2107 Fax: +1.661-310-2107 ************************************** Here's the e-mail I just received: ************************************** Dear Domain Account Holder, You are being sent this notice from ICANN due to the fact that you currently own an active domain name. ICANN is currently upgrading all domains from their registry database. The upgrade will introduce new control options for your domain and easier access. The new upgrade is required by the registry. All domain users are expected to submit their domain information manually at Link Removed with the required information for ICANN to apply the required updates. The upgrades will be applied to accounts on a first come, first serve basis. You have until July 25, 2008 to submit the required information to avoid service and domain interruption. Thank you for your time. Sincerely, ICANNResolve ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/485265-icann-domain-upgrade-notice.html ICANN.org Resolutions Department
__________________ ![]() I'm going for personal success rather than the lottery; the odds are MUCH better. Not everyone who smiles while listening to your achievements, is planning on congratulating you.
Last edited by KingDon; 06-24-2008 at 01:29 AM.
|
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Sep 2007 Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 232
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Received the same email just a few minutes ago. Hopefully no one falls for this.
__________________ LLLL.com Sales |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jun 2007 Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 954
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Got the same email and immediately hit the spam button.
__________________ QABE.com, TSNO.com, GRMF.com, HVHH.com, KKFK.com, LDTN.com, LOHB.com, DFBP.com, GNAB.com ..... and many more. PM me if interested in HIGH quality llll.com's. ROWdotnet |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #8 (permalink) |
| Senior Member ![]() Join Date: Mar 2003 Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 1,180
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | He must be pumping them out as we speak; where's the FBI when you need them? I wonder what stolen information he has on his laptop?
__________________ ![]() I'm going for personal success rather than the lottery; the odds are MUCH better. Not everyone who smiles while listening to your achievements, is planning on congratulating you. |
| |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| NamePros Legend Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,784
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | see this as well http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-...or-a-scam.html |
| |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,299
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | KingDon you might want to kill that link in your post. I fear this will gather quite a bit of information, if only because no-one has tried it before. Has anyone gotten more than one of these to the same email address? It appears that they have removed duplicate listings. Spelled everything correctly and although the grammar is strained it isn't too far off. Pretty dangerous, IMHO. Hey I have an idea! Lets report this to the real ICANN! Their expert detectives will catch these guys in hours! Oh, wait. ICANN has no expert detectives, do they? Not even sure if there IS anyone to report this to. |
| |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| Join our Mailer! Join Date: Jan 2005 Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,098
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | evil
__________________ HuntingMoon Twitter Essociate PDDW.com Pending Delete Domain Watcher | Tube Domains |
| |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Sep 2007 Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 232
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Looks like the site has been shutdown now as its no longer resolving for me. Let's hope not to many people fell for this, and they can catch whoever is behind it.
__________________ LLLL.com Sales |
| |
| | #14 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,999
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | got one too , thx
__________________ Proxy list: http://theproxi.com 5-6 years old Proxy lists for sale with PR: Prxy.us and iProxylist.com |
| |
| | #16 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Mar 2008 Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,057
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | i got this email,is it genuine ??? Dear Domain Account Holder, You are being sent this notice from ICANN due to the fact that you currently own an active domain name. ICANN is currently upgrading all domains from their registry database. The upgrade will introduce new control options for your domain and easier access. The new upgrade is required by the registry. All domain users are expected to submit their domain information manually at LINK REMOVED with the required information for ICANN to apply the required updates. The upgrades will be applied to accounts on a first come, first serve basis. You have until July 25, 2008 to submit the required information to avoid service and domain interruption. Thank you for your time. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=485265 Sincerely, ICANNResolve ICANN.org Resolutions Department * it came from an email id icann@icannresolve.com,as i am a newbie in domain name business i need your help as to what should be done.thanks in advance.
Last edited by sankalpsingh; 06-24-2008 at 03:06 AM.
|
| |
| | #17 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Apr 2003 Location: Golden Triangle
Posts: 5,854
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ MonikerBlog.com |
| |
| | #19 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Mar 2008 Location: Melbourne/Singapore
Posts: 30
![]() | The best way is to forward to their web hosting company, ensure that such phishing accounts are closed so that they won't be a threat to others. Also send a copy to ICANN hope that they will take action. |
| |
| | #21 (permalink) |
| GenericDomainMarket.com Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 6,801
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Got it too and report it to ICANN.
__________________ ► Generic & Premium Domains for sale! |
| |
| | #22 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Mar 2008 Location: Melbourne/Singapore
Posts: 30
![]() | Yeap, it looks down, hope that it is forever down.
| ||||
| |
| | #25 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 15
![]() | Did anybody get a phone call from these creeps? I got a call yesterday from the "ICANN Domain Federation" saying they needed to update my records. The guy spoke reasonable english but has a slight Indian or Asian accent. The phone number he called from was: 1-800-224-8606. It was clearly a scam and it really pissed me off they pushed so close to invade my privacy. |
| |