| |||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| NameBio.com Founder Team Leader | Warning: In Regards to Stolen Domains Within the past 48 hours it came to light that there were some very high end adult domain names being sold on DNF that were in fact stolen. I wont post them here as they may be inappropriate, but a substantial amount of money appears to have been lost (upwards of several hundred thousand). Please be advised to conduct due diligence when buying domain names! Justin
__________________ Read my Blog! NameBio.com - Search The Domain Sales Index Buying LLLL.com's ending in "CA" |
| | |
| | #2 (permalink) | |
| Retired© | Quote:
![]() Thanks for the heads up, Justin ... we don't need any of that drama around these parts! ![]() -Jeff
__________________ Be cool. Be polite. Be professional.™ | |
| | |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| NameBio.com Founder Team Leader | I have posted the domain names that were stolen in the Adult Section, here is a link for those interested: http://www.namepros.com/showthread.p...03#post2600203
__________________ Read my Blog! NameBio.com - Search The Domain Sales Index Buying LLLL.com's ending in "CA" |
| | |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | Cheers for the heads up Spade. It seems that such things are happening on a much larger scale and more frequently than they used too.
__________________ Manage your portfolio using my new Domain Portfolio Management script. Securing Your Domain Name From Theft |
| | |
| | #5 (permalink) | |
| NameBio.com Founder Team Leader | Quote:
__________________ Read my Blog! NameBio.com - Search The Domain Sales Index Buying LLLL.com's ending in "CA" | |
| | |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | can't access i can't access this link..help? http://www.namepros.com/showthread....203#post2600203
__________________ Taking Offers Over 1000 Great Names on Sale PicoProjectors.com Huge Sale || UmlU.com nycQT || SwNb.com PM Offers (good for Banks) || 24h.fm | |
| | |
| | #7 (permalink) | |
| On Signature Patrol! Forum Moderator | Quote:
You must be this tall (over 18) to view the adult thread. your birthday profile does not show your correct birthday (year)
__________________ Affiliate links and/or links to Parked pages are not permitted! | |
| | |
| | #9 (permalink) | |
| Visit -- NameManor.com | Quote:
__________________ 4L.coms HERE | |
| | |
| | #10 (permalink) | |
| NameBio.com Founder Team Leader | Quote:
__________________ Read my Blog! NameBio.com - Search The Domain Sales Index Buying LLLL.com's ending in "CA" | |
| | |
| | #11 (permalink) | |
| Yofie.com | Quote:
Even if you are buying a domain listed on a service like SnapNames.com and the whois shows "Senior Account Rep Snapnames.com" means that it's a user submitted domain and still could be a stolen domain. Afternic.com, TDNAM.com, eBay.com, Sedo.com etc all could be places stolen domains can be listed for sale, so do not think just because a domain is listed on one of these sites, that you are "safe". If you have your account at a registrar, I stronly suggest you use a domain for your email and that email address on your registrar account. Also, 9MM was in the master mind of this and he was or is a member HERE! I am not fully sure if that is his user name here a not?
__________________ | |
| | |
| | #12 (permalink) | |
| GenericDomainMarket.com | Quote:
His NP's account is suspended and i remember seeing his account closed 2 or 3 times before.
__________________ | |
| | |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | 9MM was permanently banned a few weeks back.
__________________ Manage your portfolio using my new Domain Portfolio Management script. Securing Your Domain Name From Theft |
| | |
| | #14 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | he was on DNF a week or so ago.. also was a mod at Nameslot.. I questioned their choice and was contacted by another mod (np member) who was going to make the owners aware.. not sure what happened after that.. I knew something was fishy with him the first 10 mins he joined ..was in chat and myself and another member i remember Pm'd each other questioning his motives |
| | |
| | #15 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member | Ok, so let me ask this then: Say you buy a domain and you use an escrow service. Are you protected, or are you at risk of your investment, i.e. could you lose the domain you bought with the escrow service without getting your money back?
__________________ :) |
| | |
| | #16 (permalink) | |
| Senior Member | Quote:
I almost conducted a mid $XXX sale with him! Im glad he was banned before I could finish!
__________________ ObamaCaption.com - Create & Share Your own 'Obama Caption' | |
| | |
| | #17 (permalink) | |
| NameBio.com Founder Team Leader | Quote:
Justin
__________________ Read my Blog! NameBio.com - Search The Domain Sales Index Buying LLLL.com's ending in "CA" | |
| | |
| | #18 (permalink) | |
| Yofie.com | Quote:
Now each case would be unique via Escrow, but you will NOT get your money back most of the time. At times, you can get your money back, but it can be after a very long period of time. If you are the Seller, the money will be protected the most. So when you are selling, Escrow is near 100% safe route to go.
__________________ | |
| | |
| | #19 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular | I was just wondering is all this scamming recent or has it been around? I recently started domaining in late November. I don't remember seeing all these scams back then, but over the past month or so I've heard about alot of people being scammed.
__________________ :hearts: :love: Buy some domains |
| | |
| | #20 (permalink) | |
| Yofie.com | Quote:
Story from 2001, for Properties.com .
__________________ | |
| | |
| | #22 (permalink) | |
| NameBio.com Founder Team Leader | Quote:
Justin
__________________ Read my Blog! NameBio.com - Search The Domain Sales Index Buying LLLL.com's ending in "CA" | |
| | |
| | #23 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | These guys really are sick. Cant they find any better job?
__________________ † Did We Know That There Aren't Really Thousands Of Bands Who Might Be Interesting, We Will Get To Deleting All Bands That Aren't In Flames, Cannibal Corpse, Morbid Angel, Deicide † |
| | |
| | #24 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular | regarding how the scammers do it ... some of the scams were done through a Gmail exploit ... some scammers set up some kind of program that when a person visited a site (while being logged-in in his Google account) the program set up a filter in Gmail that redirected emails of the victim to the scammer's email account ... then he went to the registrar of a good domain of the victim and initiated a forgot-my-password+sent-password-to-email-account procedure ... the email duplicated through the filter ... and the scammer got access to the account at the registrar ... then he transferred the domain(s) to his account (or changed the registrar account password and sold the domains through that account so that no changes would appear in the whois that might alarm prospective buyers) and hastily tried to sell the domains ... a little after this exploit became known , it was said that Google has somehow closed the exploit ... but , also it is believed that many people that had became victims did not delete the filters in their Gmail account (even after Google mentioned that it stopped the exploit) , therefore their emails were still forwarded) ... if you got a Gmail account , it is a good idea to check your filters ...
__________________ Last edited by Earthian; 03-09-2008 at 11:35 AM. |
| | |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |