| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() | LeadRefs | Forum Sponsorship |
| Want to sell your domain? LeadRefs.com finds multiple potential buyers to contact instantly! | ||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,187
![]() ![]() ![]() | |
| Quote: |
| telnet whois.enom.com 43 enom.com =-=-=-= Visit AboutUs.org for more information about enom.com <a href="http://www.aboutus.org/enom.com">AboutUs: enom.com</a> Registration Service Provided By: eNom, Inc. Contact: paul.stahura@enom.com Domain name: enom.com Registrant Contact: eNom, Inc. DNS Manager (info2@enom.com) +1.4258838860 Fax: +1.4258833553 PO Box 7449 Bellevue, WA 98008 US Administrative Contact: eNom, Inc. DNS Manager (info2@enom.com) +1.4258838860 Fax: +1.4258833553 PO Box 7449 Bellevue, WA 98008 US Technical Contact: eNom, Inc. DNS Manager (info2@enom.com) +1.4258838860 Fax: +1.4258833553 PO Box 7449 Bellevue, WA 98008 US Status: Locked Name Servers: dns1.name-services.com dns2.name-services.com dns3.name-services.com dns4.name-services.com dns5.name-services.com Creation date: 24 Oct 1997 00:00:00 Expiration date: 21 Sep 2012 13:45:09 =-=-=-= The data in this whois database is provided to you for information purposes only, that is, to assist you in obtaining information about or related to a domain name registration record. We make this information available "as is," and do not guarantee its accuracy. By submitting a whois query, you agree that you will use this data only for lawful purposes and that, under no circumstances will you use this data to: (1) enable high volume, automated, electronic processes that stress or load this whois database system providing you this information; or (2) allow, enable, or otherwise support the transmission of mass unsolicited, commercial advertising or solicitations via direct mail, electronic mail, or by telephone. The compilation, repackaging, dissemination or other use of this data is expressly prohibited without prior written consent from us. We reserve the right to modify these terms at any time. By submitting this query, you agree to abide by these terms. Version 6.3 4/3/2002 |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2005 Location: Canada
Posts: 990
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | IMHO I like the idea of aboutus.org and as far as I know, it is not a for-profit organization. Domaintools.com and other whois lookup sites display it for all domains so I'm not sure where there is an issue with Enom doing it. If anything, it's a way of getting more info out there about your site/domains to potential buyers!
__________________ Domainate.com - coming soon :) |
| |
| | #4 (permalink) | ||||||||
| is on hiatus Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,449
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ Currently on hiatus. Back whenever. | ||||||||
| |
| | #5 (permalink) | ||||
| Electrifying Guy ![]() Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,827
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=372715 If some of you don't like that, then ask those registrars (if you got names with any of them) for options on how to possibly edit those listings. But...it's their WHOIS to do as they see fit. | ||||
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 259
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Yeah, I find it really annoying too (Enom has been doing this pretty much all year, and Network Solutions now does too). It isn't at all clear that it is a paid advertisement for AboutUs.Org -- people might think I'm recommending them since the text appears in my whois entry. It should be labeled as an advertisement. AboutUs is a FOR PROFIT company with millions of dollars in investments, but they use the .org even though they also own the .com. They do this so people will associate them with actual nonprofit wiki sites, such as Wikipedia, and be more likely to generate free content for them. The reason DomainTools shows them is that NameIntelligence is an AboutUs investor. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=372715 The worst thing is they took a bunch of text and logos from my websites without permission for their "AboutUs" page, then they show Google ads on my content. I think this is a copyright violation. They were called on it and now say that they will take fewer paragraphs, but they never went back and removed all the pages that they blatantly swiped for commercial gain. In the AboutUs Wikipedia entry, the longest section is "criticism". Most popular web sites have a Wikipedia entry anyway, which I certainly trust much more than the deceptive AboutUs company. Sorry for the rant! But as you can see, I think AboutUs are obnoxious and hope they fail. The whois ads are annoying, but I could live with them if they were actually labeled as advertisements. |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #7 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,187
![]() ![]() ![]() | This is interesting, I opened a ticket with enom asking how I could opt-out of this and (12 hours later) they responded that they have removed it for all my existing domains. However I don't see any change yet (2-3 hours since their reply) so I'll give it a bit longer before checking with them. |
| |