| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() | LeadRefs | Forum Sponsorship |
| Want to sell your domain? LeadRefs.com finds multiple potential buyers to contact instantly! | ||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 550
![]() | Possible Godaddy Scam Alert I'm very dissapointed and shocked that Godaddy would run such a scheme. I want to see if anyone has a similar expierence. I had a domain name that was supposed to drop today. Yesterday i got an email like this Greetings, I would like to buy your domain adamcarola.com, if possible. If you are able to sell and release the rights to this domain please let me know. I am looking to buy within a week or two so let me know how much it would cost to take over this domain. Regards, Mike Bernstein I called godaddy and asked them what do i need to do to sale this domain. They told me it looks like it's going to drop tomorrow and you must pay $9 to save the domain name so you can sell it. I purchase the domain name again and never got a response back from that mystery buyer. From what i can see this is some kind of auto generated email sent out by goaddy to scheme people into registering there domain name with them again before it's droped. Anyone else have this scheme sent to them? If so how do i report internet fraud? |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 149
![]() | well it would be a good idea to make a point of this and keep the eyes out... but people would catch on pretty quickly I would think.
__________________ silver.im - taking offers. All domains listed here: www.buyagood.com |
| |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| Buy my domains. Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,792
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | edit, exactly; they are big. Meaning they have more people to get more money from. Either way, the headers of the email won't really show anything. GoDaddy is a giant registrar, they could send an email from any domain, hosting, etc. |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #9 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 550
![]() | It can be a spoofed email address. The email address is not from godaddy. Anyone can easily spoof email addresses. I offer the guy the domain for $5 just to see if he was real and i never got a response. So it looks to be some auto generated response. |
| |
| | #12 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Nov 2004 Location: Esse quam videri
Posts: 8,316
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() GoDaddy being behind the email is almost a laughable suggestion, as your $9 isn't worth the risk of any bad press (And any other issues aside, that just doesn't sound like a GD business practice.). Thanks to GoDaddy for weighing in. -Allan
__________________ Something Witty This Way Comes... | ||||
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #14 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 550
![]() | not if they do it to millions of domain names. Do the math Just like paypal freezing peoples funds for 180 days and keeping the intrest.
| ||||
| |
| | #16 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,168
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | if a domain was about to drop the next day, how on earth would $9 get it back??? that means it was at pending delete stage. No way they could get it back. if it was at redepmtion, the price is MUCH higher than $9. I dont understand your situation.
__________________ Seek and you shall find! |
| |
| | #17 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jun 2006 Location: East Coast, USA
Posts: 86
![]() | seeker, the $9 is for renewal. As far as GoDaddy being behind this, though, I find it a little hard to believe. I have had quite a few domains registered with them in the past, and never experienced a problem like this.
__________________ Daniel B. - WebMaster Web Hosting |
| |
| | #18 (permalink) | ||||||||
| Revolution Calling! Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: NamePros Avenue
Posts: 5,919
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Same thing here,I have let many drop over the last month,The only e-mail i ever receive is the fact the name is expiring,Never anything else,This sounds like a spoof e-mail from someone else,I don't see godaddy doing business in a negative way...They also have TDNAM...They can simply auction off a domain name if the register lets the name expire. | ||||||||
| |
| | #19 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,356
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | its defo not a scam, do you reckon GD would risk losing all its domaining customers over your $9 obviously just someone that decided against the domain
__________________ Y5S.com for sale - PM mepoker blog |
| |
| | #21 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,356
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | maybe its some kind of email address trawling thing for spamming, and they are wanting a reply to confirm email addy is in use
__________________ Y5S.com for sale - PM mepoker blog |
| |