NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Name Discussion
Reload this Page Appraisal Companies?

Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions.

Advanced Search
0 members in live chat ~  
LeadRefs LeadRefs
Forum Sponsorship
Want to sell your domain? LeadRefs.com finds multiple potential buyers to contact instantly!



Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2006, 05:10 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
Online Broadcaster
 
siradio's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 515
siradio has a spectacular aura aboutsiradio has a spectacular aura about
 


AIDS/HIV

Appraisal Companies?


Somebody recently contacted me regarding one of my "Wii" domains, asking what price I was selling it for.

After providing his with the price, he then asked me whether I have an appraisal certificate. Now, I am fairly new to this, and this is the first time i've actually seen this mentioned.

I would assume that such companies who provide "certified" appraisals are merely groups of domainers, similar to what we have here on namepros, who charge for their expertise. Is this the case?

It just so happens i've had several offers for the domain in question and was not particularly prepared to enlist the -paid- services of an "expert" when its clear from places like this website, sitepoint etc that opinions about the value of a domain varies greatly.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/192719-appraisal-companies.html

I also did not feel that such a company whose only interest is to make money from their "expertise" would take the time to actually consider the domain in context.

Anyhow, I was just curious about these so called "certified" experts - whether any of you have had positive/negative experiences and whether their appraisals hold any tangible weight.

Cheers
siradio is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Devil_Dog's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: az
Posts: 1,429
Devil_Dog is a name known to allDevil_Dog is a name known to allDevil_Dog is a name known to allDevil_Dog is a name known to allDevil_Dog is a name known to allDevil_Dog is a name known to all
 



NEGATIVE.

Search here for "domain appraiasal scam".
__________________
.::: e-nic.com :::.- semperfidelis.com - stow.org - shopbooks.com - and more....
Devil_Dog is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Esse quam videri
Posts: 8,316
IAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond reputeIAmAllanShore has a reputation beyond repute
 

Member of the Month
January 2005Member of the Month
February 2007
Ethan Allen Fund Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Save The Children Save The Children Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse VA Tech Memorial Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse Child Abuse
Scam on.

Did they sign the email "______, PhD" ? Seems to be another pattern.

Anyone who's buying who wants an appraisal certificate referencing a forum is a scam.

-Allan
__________________

Something Witty This Way Comes...
IAmAllanShore is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 10:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
rome2ng's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 1°88′N, 7°95′E
Posts: 1,387
rome2ng has much to be proud ofrome2ng has much to be proud ofrome2ng has much to be proud ofrome2ng has much to be proud ofrome2ng has much to be proud ofrome2ng has much to be proud ofrome2ng has much to be proud ofrome2ng has much to be proud of
 


Adoption
high possibility to be scammers.

but yea, you must excerise caution.
__________________
What's a good blog ? Find out here [+++]
[http://treoo.com]- S'pore Local Gadget Store® - Now Online
For Sales : | Ads Development Site [neatad.com] -HOT |
rome2ng is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 292
Dr.Lee is an unknown quantity at this point
 



scam. very possible an appraisal scammer.
__________________
dugoohoo.com--ppc search engine & domain parking

If you have good quality trafffic, please contact me for ppc xml feeds.
Dr.Lee is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 12:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: In front of my Dell
Posts: 1,126
khuldun has a spectacular aura aboutkhuldun has a spectacular aura about
 



It would be pretty interesting if the email came from a bonbon.net address
__________________
New mobile content website coming soon
khuldun is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 AM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger