| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() | LeadRefs | Forum Sponsorship |
| Want to sell your domain? LeadRefs.com finds multiple potential buyers to contact instantly! | ||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 70
![]() | strange Hello, I dunno if this is posted in the correct section. Friday last week I was checking some free domains at name.com I had put some in my cart but did not order them. One of them was capisland.com which is not a special name but it sounded snappy. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/177152-strange.html It was still free but I didn't take it. Now today I went to godaddy to register it and found out that it was registered march 13. Now I think, this domain does not specifically represents something so what are the changes of someone else registering it just a few days later? Are there techniques or spywares that could hijack or intercept information while checking for free domains? It would be far fetched that someone at name.com would have checked the logs of unfinished orders and actually go register it themselves at nameview.com where it got registered march 13. Or is it not? Anyone ever had same experiences? Thanks for letting me know.
__________________ PLAY FOR FREE AND WIN |
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| A Wealth of Knowledge Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,803
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Possibly. What whois sites did you check the name on for availibility? Some may monitor, but if the domain name didn't have anything special with it, I am pretty sure that someone would not register it. -Steve |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #3 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 70
![]() | I just checked if it was free at name.com, nowhere else The whois of capisland.com is a protected whois at nameview.com I also had caplux.com in the cart and yep same day march 13th caplux got registered by a french company/person at www.ovh.net ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=177152 Expiration Date: 2007-03-13 Creation Date: 2006-03-13 Last Update Date: 2006-03-13 Name Servers: ns.ovh.net dns.ovh.net But I don't understand how do they monitor this? The names aren't that important to me but it shows something is not kosher. I didn't tell anyone, I sweeped my disk for spyware/trojans etc. Also sent an email to support at name.com to have them check. If not for me it maybe could be helpfull for someone else.
__________________ PLAY FOR FREE AND WIN |
| |
| | #4 (permalink) |
| A Wealth of Knowledge Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,803
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Strange - I cannot make a connection from the information that have been provided. I've never heard of a connection between those two companies, I know that name.com is out of Denver, but OVH is out of Europe. I know that expiring domain names are held by registrars to see if they can generate some PPC revenue. This might be a new tactic done between registrars to eliminate suspicion and distrust between registrar and customer. I'd be interested to see if other information arises. I'd keep checking to see if the name returns to available status within the next few days/weeks. -Steve |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Nov 2005 Location: LLL.us City
Posts: 6,328
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | There has been a similar post on this topic before. There have been other members with similiar stories, but I don't think anyone has provided direct proof that someone is using searches/queries to snatch domains out from underneath you.
__________________ |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #6 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 70
![]() | When I checked both names were free. Capisland has become a landing page, caplux was nothing (yet?) I think it is very strange, I sent a new email to name.com support adding the caplux domain which was in the same cart. Also asked them if they have a domain squatting policy on unfinished orders, lol. ![]()
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=177152 Anyway if this is a new trend could get quite annoying don't you think? No more second doubts if it's free get it right away. New landrush coming up. It would be a good motivation though from all registrars as this would pick up pace in domain registrations.
__________________ PLAY FOR FREE AND WIN
Last edited by zendiz; 03-15-2006 at 06:22 PM.
| ||||
| |
| | #7 (permalink) | ||||
| First Time Poster ! Join Date: Apr 2005 Location: GB
Posts: 6,877
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=177152 I always check names I am interested in by going somewhere that offers multiple domain extensions - I never put in directly the ext I am interested in when checking the name. Try using www.123-reg.co.uk or www.eurodns.com | ||||
| |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Nov 2005 Location: LLL.us City
Posts: 6,328
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | There seems to be a common theme that many of these people that supposedly "scoop" up domains test them for a few days and then drop them if their traffic is not high enough.
__________________ |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #9 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 70
![]() |
Manipulative system. And this brings domain trading in a very bad daylight. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=177152 Also by bringing this up to name.com support they should at least have a look into it as it doesn't do they any good if they are connected to such practices. This can create domain buyer mistrust for any registrar. (Well if they care anyway)
__________________ PLAY FOR FREE AND WIN | ||||
| |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Sep 2005 Location: Scotland
Posts: 835
![]() ![]() | Happened to me recently. Just search the forum for "kenyatech", a company that seem to do this often. I'd forget about it for a week or two if I were you, hopefully the name doesn't get much traffic, and they'll drop it. Good luck. |
| |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Sep 2005 Location: Goblin Wars Zone & California
Posts: 4,471
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | you never believe this until this happens to you: http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-...is-search.html |
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Very Strange... anyone had similar experiences? | Paddy | Domain Name Discussion | 4 | 02-05-2006 02:44 AM |
| Strange Google happenings | alex_d | Search Engines | 0 | 01-16-2006 05:54 AM |
| Strange ,Really strange | mosaic | Domain Name Discussion | 3 | 06-28-2005 09:48 PM |
| strange white line in tables?! | courtney. | Programming | 7 | 02-08-2004 10:52 PM |