NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Name Discussion
Reload this Page Push to Wrong Account... What can be done?

Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2003, 12:08 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
RyanPrice.ca - Developer
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,328
Jeanco is a jewel in the roughJeanco is a jewel in the roughJeanco is a jewel in the rough
 



Push to Wrong Account... What can be done?


Hello,

I've recently purchased a domain from someone and the account is with dotster. Through a miscommunication it was pushed to the wrong account. This is an account I used to own, but whenever I try to access it or have my PW emailed I get messages telling me the account does not exist, and yet the individual who pushed it said it went through fine.

I've tried to contact Dotster but they're support is sketchy and there's no telephone number where I can reach an actual person. Has anyone else ever expereinced this? How did you solve it?
__________________
Ryan Price - Webmaster
www.HostDurham.com - For Hosting | www.jeanco.ca - For Webdesign
Jeanco is offline  
Old 12-23-2003, 12:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
RJ
NamePros Webmaster


 
RJ's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12,930
RJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatness
 



Find Marrow Donors! Cystic Fibrosis Parkinson's Disease
Only two options are to contact Dotster, or contact the person it was pushed to if you can figure out who that is. Who's name shows up in the whois for it? If it's your name in the whois, you ma be able to transfer the name to another registrar.

Dotster has poor support, so expect a few days before you get an answer back from them.
__________________
@DomainBuyer facebook
RJ is offline  
Old 12-23-2003, 02:13 PM THREAD STARTER               #3 (permalink)
RyanPrice.ca - Developer
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,328
Jeanco is a jewel in the roughJeanco is a jewel in the roughJeanco is a jewel in the rough
 



Its still under the person I bought it from (dloft). the domain is www.zanyplace.com
__________________
Ryan Price - Webmaster
www.HostDurham.com - For Hosting | www.jeanco.ca - For Webdesign
Jeanco is offline  
Old 12-23-2003, 02:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
RJ
NamePros Webmaster


 
RJ's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12,930
RJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatnessRJ Has achieved greatness
 



Find Marrow Donors! Cystic Fibrosis Parkinson's Disease
In that case you could go to another registrar and initiate a transfer, requesting dloft to authorize it.

It'll cost you a years reg fee somewhere and add a year to the domain.
__________________
@DomainBuyer facebook
RJ is offline  
Old 12-23-2003, 02:52 PM THREAD STARTER               #5 (permalink)
RyanPrice.ca - Developer
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,328
Jeanco is a jewel in the roughJeanco is a jewel in the roughJeanco is a jewel in the rough
 



awesome, I'm gonna try that.
__________________
Ryan Price - Webmaster
www.HostDurham.com - For Hosting | www.jeanco.ca - For Webdesign
Jeanco is offline  
Old 12-23-2003, 09:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
kohashi's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kathmandu, Nepal
Posts: 788
kohashi is on a distinguished road
 



domainloft are legitimate so I wouldnt worry about them scamming. I purchased quite a few domains from them recently and it went through fine. Otherwise I would be worried that it was a scam if it still showed their name in the whois.
__________________
-kohashi || Earn 20% Commissions with this Affiliate Program!
Ohashi.US - Your Domain Name Resource Visit Ohashi.us for the largest set of Domain name links and tools.
Free eNom Reseller Accounts and $6.50 retail accounts (biz/us)
http://www.demigod.net - Free Subdomains For You! No Ads!
kohashi is offline  
Old 12-24-2003, 12:35 AM THREAD STARTER               #7 (permalink)
RyanPrice.ca - Developer
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,328
Jeanco is a jewel in the roughJeanco is a jewel in the roughJeanco is a jewel in the rough
 



Oh no I'm not concerned about a scam. It was a legitimate breakdown of communications.
__________________
Ryan Price - Webmaster
www.HostDurham.com - For Hosting | www.jeanco.ca - For Webdesign
Jeanco is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 07:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
NamePros Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 36
dloft is on a distinguished road
 



Dear Jeanco: I checked the whois and still shows domainloft as the administrative contact. We cannot access the domain but if you request a transfer the authorization request is going to come to us and we will approve it. Ithink this is the simplest and best way to get access to the name.

Thanks.

VR Moses
Dloft
dloft is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:49 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger