| | |||||||
| |||||||
| New! Use your Facebook, Google, AIM & Yahoo accounts to securely log into this site, click logo to login | |
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() | RJ's ULTIMATE SALES THREAD ... a NamePros Exclusive ... | Forum Sponsor |
| THE MOTHER OF ALL SALES THREADS! You won't believe the deals NamePros founder RJ is serving up on premium domain names, many never before listed for sale. Priced so cheap you can flip them for double! | ||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #1 (permalink) |
| New Member | Last night about 2am pacific time I logged into my SnapNames account, one of my domain names that I backordered stated "Acquiring Name". Usually this means that I am getting the name. Then I logged in this afternoon and it states "Active Auction". Why did they change the status when it stated "Acquiring Name" for me? It makes me very hesitant about using SnapNames recently. How are we guaranteed that the employees are not deliberately trying to drive the prices up? I have recently purchased about $10000 worth of domains in two months. On a few occassions, I felt leary about my transactions. Anyone have the same experience? Thanks for listening. |
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | Unfortunately you will realise that Snapnames.com and other Backordering services are just a scam. Snapnames have all the major registrars lining up to feed their brilliant dropping domains into and each of the registrars take a cut. Even if they do drive prices up, it is your responsibility to decide how much the name is actually worth the money you would have to bid for it! Snapnames is a business, they just want more and more of your money...
__________________ :hi: |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular | i don't see how they are a scam. they provide a service, just like other backordering systems. it's almost impossible to get a high quality dropping name nowadays -- not like the good ol' days. even so, $60 including registration to secure a dropping name is not a high price to pay, assuming the name isn't highly coveted by others. |
| |
| | #5 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular | i could be mistaken, but i believe "acquiring name" to mean that snapnames was acquiring the name for the members that have it in their list... not just for you. i've seen "acquiring name" in my list as well only to have it go to auction. looking at the bid history should show you if you're alone in wanting the name. |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member | They intercept the domain name expiration process. It's a scam because they are charging you for something that they could let expire... and then for a reg fee, the lucky guy that gets their first gets the name. NOT THE PERSON WITH THE DEEPEST POCKET Its all about selfish people who want more and more money, and unfortunately, that's the way things work. The only service that they provide is: 1) Stealing the domain name off the registrant to sell on their behalf without them getting any profit from it 2) Preventing normal people registering domains the conventional way. 3) Making amazing amounts of money for them selves and their partners. They dont have a 1 person backordering system, like the conventional way, first come first serve. They dont give lists of expiring domain names for domains that arent going to make them gain. All they have done is found an oppourtunity to make it impossible for normal people getting hold of the names they could need for their business or personal use, but so that another person can go and charge another even higher price in the future. The expiring domain industry should not be about auctions and who can get an automated service to grab it for them, it should be about names that are actually going to be available for normal people to register at base price! imho
- Luke
__________________ :hi: Last edited by Jiblob; 11-14-2005 at 05:36 PM. | ||||
| |
| | #7 (permalink) | ||||
| First Time Poster ! |
They must make some serious money with backorders as I have seen many bids in the thousands - the biggest I have been in went for $60,000 but I am sure they have gone for alot more than this Last edited by gazzip; 11-14-2005 at 05:50 PM. | ||||
| |
| | #8 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular | the complaining about it being a scam sounds to me like sour grapes. i just picked up a name that i wanted just last week for the $60 fee. as the domain name resale market gains in popularity, you'll find more and more services sprouting up to make it easier for those with deep pockets to get what they want. sure, it makes it hard for the little man -- but really, i don't see it as a scam in the least. |
| |
| | #9 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster ! | No, I don't think it is a scam in general but I do agree that there would be more chance for the "little man" - ME ! if they had to drop naturally.There are buyers at all this backordering places that obviously have a massive - almost never ending budget to buy multiple names. At least at snapnames you can see how many and who you are up against unlike at Pool (which I don't bother with anymore) |
| |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| New Member | I have picked alot of names for $60 however everytime they stated "Acquiring Name" I got them. Recently, all of a sudden I have received status changes on a few occasions for very desireable domains after it prompted "Acquiring Name." Last edited by Wyztyz; 11-14-2005 at 06:34 PM. |
| |
| | #12 (permalink) |
| Forum Moderator Forum Moderator | "Acquiring domain" is the first step for any SnapNames auction... not the last step... Acquiring domain is when Snap claims to be rushing to register the domain name (acquiring it). That's bizarre if you usually see that last (Either that or I'm bizarre... probably the case either way ).-Allan
__________________ I resolve to try to be more noob-friendly. |
| |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| Senior Member | About a week ago a VERY nice drop was happening when all of a sudden it was GONE! Turns out the former owner all of a sudden got it back? And yes it had expired. Also turns out that company is HUGE US based company, from films to mgazinez etc. Different rules for different folks gets me a bit hot. |
| |
| | #14 (permalink) | ||||
| Insectivora Member |
__________________ If a man will begin with certainties, he shall end in doubts; but if he will be content to begin with doubts he shall end in certainties. Sir Francis Bacon | ||||
| |
| | #15 (permalink) | ||||
| First Time Poster ! |
I guess it took a bit of brain power to get that sort of money, they must be doing something right either that or they are doing their laundry | ||||
| |
| | #16 (permalink) | ||||
| Electrifying Guy Forum Moderator |
was renewed on the eleventh hour by whoever represented its current owner. Was the domain name deleted and ventured into RGP, Pending Delete, etc.? | ||||
| |
| | #17 (permalink) |
| The Buddha Of Bubbas | When they say 'acquiring' it doesn't really mean they acquire it when they say they do. They 'acquire' the rights to auction it off from a registrar, but that registrar doesn't necessarily own the domain they say they are dropping. I don't really feel right about their auctioning process anymore, though I have had some successes with it.
__________________ Quality .coms Only $20 |
| |