| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() | LeadRefs | Forum Sponsorship |
| Want to sell your domain? LeadRefs.com finds multiple potential buyers to contact instantly! | ||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | THREAD STARTER #1 (permalink) |
| Web Marketing Specialist Join Date: Oct 2003 Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,335
![]() ![]() ![]() | |
| |
| | #2 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 214
![]() | I wouldn't have agreed to him being the broker if he'd deliberately messed you about like that, and didn't have a buyer. He sounds very untrustworthy. Now that you've agreed to him being the broker, if you now sell it independently, he might try demanding 20% off you. |
| |
| | #3 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Nov 2004 Location: The Land of Oz
Posts: 1,680
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | If there was a fee involved which you had to pay I'd have to say its a scam. Sounds like a variation on the "you'll need a valuation" type scam. "Sharing" the costs is a "nice" touch to get you to part with your 1/2 of the "fee". (pun unintended) |
| |
| | #6 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 123
![]() ![]() | I hope that you post this in every domain forum you can think of because it seems like a new (or new to me) scam. I am very sorry that this happened to you. If someone were to try this one on me I would tell them to get the verification done and then send me the XX,XXX - 1/2 of the verification fee. Thank you very much for the heads up and I hope that everything works out! Please PM me the name of the company for future reference.
__________________ AllVegasTickets FileFreak MySpace Layouts Accepting offers on: dorkfun.com imagepro.us |
| |
| | #10 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 653
![]() | Ouch, that sounds horrible!
__________________ DateinaDash.com - Speed Dating & Singles Party Events in London! |
| |
| | #11 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
![]() | Wow, that hurts, Can you PM me the name as well please.
__________________ Want to make money in 15 minutes or less? Find out more here, this really works! :$: |
| |
| | #13 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Aug 2004 Location: London, UK
Posts: 722
![]() ![]() ![]() | I posted about a similar scam last week: http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/135633-new-scam-check-domain.html |
| |
| | #14 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Oct 2005 Location: India
Posts: 608
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I got involved in something similar..... the guy wanted to buy one of my domains. He kept emailing me to get it appraised by a particular company (his reasoning was that a domain is like real estate, and as such must be appraised by a third party... he used the phrase "Certified Appraisal"). He even mentioned that I shouldnt get it appraised by Sedo because my domain was parked on sedo, and as such they would appraise it on the higher side so that they could get higher commissions ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=139106 In the end, after many failed attempts, he just dissappeared... probably found out that i'm kind of a tough nut
__________________ My blog (beta) Bachelor.co.in - Gemstone.co.in Assets.co.in - PropertyDealers.org MortgageFirms.org - eLearner.org
Last edited by sm; 11-11-2005 at 04:06 AM.
|
| |
| | #15 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Nov 2005 Location: Dubayy / Budapest
Posts: 2,905
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Something similar as well:
__________________ Dubai Marina | ||||
| |
| | #16 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Oct 2005 Location: India
Posts: 608
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | oh heck !!!!!!!!! he's the same guy !!! sheesh. wait a minute, I'll copy and paste my version: Hello, I'm interested in your domain name listed for sale. Can you drop me your desired price? If I can afford it I'll reply. By the way, did you receive offers from other buyers? I run a software development company. Selling & buying names is not my main business. Just another way to invest money and make additional income. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=139106 Please keep our correspondence confidential. Best regards, Chris Calagna, Ph.D. Vice President RTS Engineering The email used in my case was: mcalagna@phreaker.net
__________________ My blog (beta) Bachelor.co.in - Gemstone.co.in Assets.co.in - PropertyDealers.org MortgageFirms.org - eLearner.org |
| |
| | #17 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Nov 2005 Location: Dubayy / Budapest
Posts: 2,905
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Hehe, yes definitely. Beware of @phreaker.net emails!
__________________ Dubai Marina |
| |
| | #18 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 463
![]() | Beware of anyone who uses "PhD" in their sig. Don't we have enough people that have been scammed by this to take some action? I have not been duped into this yet, but I think we could get enough folks that have been hurt by it together, find out who really is behind it, and... well... you know the rest.
__________________
| ||||
| |
| | #19 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Nov 2004 Location: www.DomainBlog.net
Posts: 1,841
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=139106 He paid for half the verification fee, so this deception is not easy to detect. But thanks for posting. Good to know. AmCy
__________________ AmCy | ||||
| |
| | #21 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 265
![]() | Best thing you can do is just not respond to those emails. I know its enticing to respond to someone inquiring about a site you own - even when it looks really dodgy - but all those emails are doing is phishing through whois data to find emails. If you respond to it, all youre doing is letting the scammer/spammer know that: Yes, the email is legitimate; and yes, this person is naive enough to warrant sending them more scammy emails... because eventually theyll probably fall for one.
__________________ Dathorn Internet Services - $13.95/mo = reseller acct w/ 4gb HD, 60gb BW, cpanel, WHM, SSH, unlimited domains Dissent |
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #22 (permalink) | ||||
| Web Marketing Specialist Join Date: Oct 2003 Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,335
![]() ![]() ![]() | The email below was sent to me by the potential scammer. Email: khenson@operaen.com
| ||||
| |
| | #23 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Oct 2005 Location: India
Posts: 608
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=139106 That's how they work..... they'll start by telling you that they're very interested in buying your domain, to get you all excited and stuff hen they'll say, aaah I need a certified appraisal.... after a few mails, they'll drop you a link to their own company, and they'll offer to split the fee 50-50 as if they're doing you a big favour
__________________ My blog (beta) Bachelor.co.in - Gemstone.co.in Assets.co.in - PropertyDealers.org MortgageFirms.org - eLearner.org | ||||
| |
| | #25 (permalink) |
| NamePros Admin ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 12,919
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Sorry to hear you got taken by these scammers. Do consider a chargeback if you paid by credit card. What service did you use to "verify" your domain name, Softforces.com? Notice anything similar between these sites? http://www.allfordomains.com/appraise.asp http://www.softforces.com/appraisal.htm Just a new variation on the appraisal scam.
__________________ Reach me at rj at namepros dot com
Last edited by RJ; 11-11-2005 at 02:18 PM.
|
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| PHP and FTP | Barrucadu | Programming | 3 | 10-21-2005 10:48 AM |
| WARNING - Do no do business with 'superbowldotcom' | luxinterior | Warnings & Alerts | 82 | 04-09-2005 02:27 AM |
| A Really Cool Story | yl88 | The Break Room | 1 | 04-07-2005 05:32 AM |
| A Really Cool Story | yl88 | The Break Room | 0 | 03-31-2005 05:03 AM |