NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Name Discussion
Reload this Page All domains hijackable at my registrar!

Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions.

Advanced Search
0 members in live chat ~  
LeadRefs LeadRefs
Forum Sponsorship
Want to sell your domain? LeadRefs.com finds multiple potential buyers to contact instantly!



Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2003, 07:33 PM THREAD STARTER               #1 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 24
elenad is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Sad All domains hijackable at my registrar!


Ok. This is really upsetting. I got the name from pool.com, and it happened to be registered by some shithole registrar - sory I have no other name for them, see for yourself why..

I went to change my record - to get my dns transferred, and I was pretty amazed when I got on their site...

Site looked pretty crappy with a lots of 404s, they threw some pages together, with probably 5 lines of perl script, there 5 ugly links, that require you to enter your email address /password and domain name each time! you want to change any *part* of the record! ( re-assuring security - what a joke - read on !)

Now... I know these kind of scripts when I see one, and my guts just told me to try out changing my record without providing email/password.

Sure enough - it took no effort!! I copied the source of one of the "confirm before submit" pages, which contained hidden fields with all my info ( including handle) - I've "adjusted" my password to some other arbitrary password ( w/o providing old one ) and posted this off my local disk without much trouble - the bastards took it!!!! Next time I was "logging in", it asked for new password... Now, I dont get it - how such idiots get to be the registrars??? I am surprised they were able to "catch" the name all together.

Not only I can't transfer my domains - as registry denies any transfers if domain registered for less than 60 days, I have very little hope they will even fix it - they probably don't even have anyone to fix it! I email them with no reply so far!
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/12807-all-domains-hijackable-at-my-registrar.html

This is terrible for ANYONE they are the registrars' for!

Seriously, ANY domain sitting with them is hijackable at ANY time!

Can't wait to get out. I will probably email ICANN if I don't hear from them with the fix!

Beware of careless registrars!

-elena
elenad is offline  
Old 12-07-2003, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Riceman's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,015
Riceman is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Which registrar if you do not mind me asking?
__________________
:gl:
Riceman is offline  
Old 12-07-2003, 07:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Kodeking's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Naperville Illinois
Posts: 1,786
Kodeking is just really niceKodeking is just really niceKodeking is just really niceKodeking is just really nice
 



What registrar is it? It is probably a reseller not a registrar.
__________________
Quote:
Clan-Forums.com >> $30 BoardingForum.com >> $100
TalkWebHosting.com >> $200 AvoidChapter13.com >> $100
Send PM to make lesser offers on the above names.
Kodeking is offline  
Old 12-07-2003, 07:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Webtwink's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: United States of America
Posts: 1,158
Webtwink is a glorious beacon of lightWebtwink is a glorious beacon of lightWebtwink is a glorious beacon of lightWebtwink is a glorious beacon of lightWebtwink is a glorious beacon of lightWebtwink is a glorious beacon of lightWebtwink is a glorious beacon of lightWebtwink is a glorious beacon of light
 



it be better if you don't make rogistry name public, you can expect some realy hijacks.
Webtwink is offline  
Old 12-07-2003, 07:52 PM THREAD STARTER               #5 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 24
elenad is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Quote:
Originally posted by Webtwink
it be better if you don't make rogistry name public, you can expect some realy hijacks.
Well, yes - this is the reason I did't not post the name... And beleive it or not, it is ICANN accredited registrar

-elena
elenad is offline  
Old 12-07-2003, 07:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Account Suspended
 
Delete's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,104
Delete is a jewel in the roughDelete is a jewel in the roughDelete is a jewel in the rough
 



probably one of the korean or chinese ones. I had the same prob. Looks worst then something I would code
Delete is offline  
Old 12-08-2003, 01:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Internet Entrepreneur
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,855
PokerGuide.com has a spectacular aura aboutPokerGuide.com has a spectacular aura about
 



Have you made a report to Ican or something ?
PokerGuide.com is offline  
Old 12-08-2003, 04:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
 
Tippy's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 7,099
Tippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond reputeTippy has a reputation beyond repute
 



You paid Pool to catch the name, I would contact them and have them fix it or at least let them know about what happened, if any one is able to get things straight with this register they should.

Mike
Tippy is offline  
Old 12-08-2003, 07:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,370
jj2ii3344 is a jewel in the roughjj2ii3344 is a jewel in the roughjj2ii3344 is a jewel in the roughjj2ii3344 is a jewel in the rough
 



Agreed with Mike, good luck!
__________________
www.canonlens.ws
Updated daily - Get Canon lens reviews and good deals on new/used Canon lens from CanonLens.ws![/SIZE]
jj2ii3344 is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 06:45 PM THREAD STARTER               #10 (permalink)
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 24
elenad is an unknown quantity at this point
 



Emailed pool, will let you know when I hear back from them.

Thanks for suggestions!
-elena
elenad is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 07:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
NamePros Expert
 
redhippo's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: ANForum
Posts: 5,218
redhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to beholdredhippo is a splendid one to behold
 



Quote:
Originally posted by Tippy
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=12807
You paid Pool to catch the name, I would contact them and have them fix it or at least let them know about what happened, if any one is able to get things straight with this register they should.

Mike
ditto....pools should have some responsibities to this matter...
elena,.... can you PM me the said registrar...

got to watch out for them thanks
__________________
|www.vb-skins.com|- Quality Premade Vbulletin skins for Your VB forum makeover |www.Banjir.com|-Free image hosting?[B]For Sale!|AlphaScripts|Money Generating Scripts
FREE VB Skins
redhippo is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


 
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:24 AM.

Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger