| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() | LeadRefs | Forum Sponsorship |
| Want to sell your domain? LeadRefs.com finds multiple potential buyers to contact instantly! | ||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #26 (permalink) | ||||||||
| Electrifying Guy ![]() Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,825
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| ||||||||
| | |
| | #27 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Mar 2007 Location: Texas
Posts: 950
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | It bears repeating - search at Moniker. I've queried 1000s of domains there and never suspected them of taking anything. I have used NameCheap also - with much less frequency - and never had anything taken. Outside of that, all bets are off. I have seen several domains I exclusively searched for at Godaddy magically get taken the next day. It's not stealing though. It's unfortunate that some registrars take part in that, but it's part of the playing field and you have to adjust. |
| | |
| | #28 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Legend Join Date: Dec 2005 Location: Philippines - www.Nabaza.com
Posts: 19,784
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | there are selling the whois lists. they already made money on you.
| ||||
| | |
| | #30 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Expert ![]() Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 7,309
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| ||||
| | |
| | #31 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2007 Location: Copenhagen - Denmark
Posts: 1,789
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Hi all, I dont know if whois.sc does what you say, but I know of one who does and has been proved to be doing it, read more here: http://blog.domaintools.com/2008/01/...eas-confirmed/ I also read in some other blog that GoDaddy also was involved in it too, anybody knows about this? Is it true or just rumors? Best regards,
__________________ World Food Programme - No Children Should Go To Bed Hungry. It's simple, it's not rocket science, not political, not cultural, not religion, not complicated... It's this simple!. |
| | |
| | #32 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster! Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
![]() | Dear Luca Mueller, you screwed up I came across this site because I was searching for the name Luca Mueller. Many people have stories of searching for domains only to have the domain purchased based on their search. This is unethical but I have a story that is much worse. My business partner actually registered a name with 1and1, received a confirmation, however within 24 hours was told by 1and1 that they were deleting his registration and refunding his money. 1and1 claimed that they let us register the domain by mistake and that it was already registered.The next day the whois stated that Luca Mueller had registered the site the day after we registered it. This goes beyond being unethical. This is fraud and theft. It turns out that 1and1's registrar, Schlund+Partner is based in Germany, about 2.5 hours from Luca Mueller's address. I am assuming that Luca Mueller, if he is in fact a real person, is a relative or associate of someone who works at 1&1, Schlund+Partner or a connected company. This person is associated with 120k+ domain names and has been associated with theft. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/481774-domain-name-stolen-by-registrar.html If you or anyone you know has had a problem with Luca Mueller, Schlund+Partner or 1&1, related to domain fraud or theft, please send me a private message. Our company attorney is looking into filing a lawsuit against 1&1 in the US and possibly in germany. Anyone who has documented a similar situation will be welcome to contribute. Thanks. |
| | |
| | #33 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
![]() | Domain Tools does not register any domains that aren't related directly with our services. Nor do we make any money from parking domains. We also do not keep logs of what users are searching for. What you notice is only a coincident. Domainers register hundreds of thousands of domains everyday, and usually drop them in a few days. If the domain you wanted was available you should have registered it as soon as possible. |
| | |
| | #34 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster! Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
![]() | I did a search on aboutdomain.com on the 25th. Processed my order with my hosting company within 5 minutes and found out on the 29th that my domain had been stolen on the 26th by ABOUT DOMAIN DOT COM SOLUTIONS PVT. LTD I.E Luca Mueller. That company is a bottom feeder fraud and nothing more. |
| | |
| | #35 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 220
![]() |
How can it be stolen from you when you never even registed it? Explain????? ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=481774 If you liked it that much you should have claimed it right away. When you search for a name this data is gathered by other snoop companies. | ||||
| | |
| | #36 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,187
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=481774 --- There's no theft involved -- someone simply registered a domain after you checked it. It happens a lot if you're not careful where you do your searches. I perform my checks at NameCheap, and I've never had a problem. This thread is three months old.
__________________ Steve NamePros Staff Emeritus | ||||
| | |
| | #37 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: Ireland
Posts: 696
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Didn't Domain Tools promote its own domain parking service a while ago? Though this is not to say that DT abuses user data.????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=481774 Regards...jmcc
__________________ http://www.hosterstats.com Hoster Stats and Free Domain Name History Search. HosterStats.com Blog | ||||
| | |
| | #38 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 224
![]() | In the recent past the well known registrar netsol was also entangled in many controversies. Any domain on whom a whois was performed, when checked later, was already registered directly by netsol. The news was splashed across various newsletters and although this eventually ceased (which I am assuming) a considerable amount of damage was already done. I am still a little weary about network solutions and continue getting my domains through resellerclub. |
| | |
| | #39 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2008 Location: Australia
Posts: 1,800
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Before i check for any domain at sites at i dont know or trust i do a simple front running taste test first. Type in a complete rubbish word and number combo a couple of times and see if they reg it, or if it is now "not available". I have caught a few places out with this tactic, hence i do not use then now.
__________________ Drez Media |
| | |
| | #40 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 131
![]() | I use a godaddy reseller account to purchase domains at the best prices and an enom reseller account to search or research. no problems with registrations, if I return latter to register, the names are available. But if I stumble onto an extremely good domain I register it immediately, no research, just buy it because by the time you check around a few websites or use some web tools to make your decision, you know if its good the domain will be gone.
__________________ DOMAINERS Directory Domain Names SERVER / Super Reseller Sale / APPRAISALS site LINK Exchange |
| | |
| | #42 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 84
![]() | I will never understand why people do not do searches at the main whois - Verisign whois. Just get Domainpunch and scan whois. 1K domains per hour. Do NOT scan for IP ! All these "stolen whois searches" imho are anyway NOT from whois but because every retard first try to LOAD the domain in browser, which logs into NXD data and THAT tips the tasters off, not some whois search... |
| | |