| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() | LeadRefs | Forum Sponsorship |
| Want to sell your domain? LeadRefs.com finds multiple potential buyers to contact instantly! | ||
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #51 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Nov 2004 Location: Esse quam videri
Posts: 8,316
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ Something Witty This Way Comes... | ||||
| |
| | #52 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster! Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
![]() | Yet another new poster here because of AcquireThisName.com I use my full name for everything on the Internet, because I am the only Jack William Bell out there so far as I can tell. (It makes it much easier to ego-google.) AcquireThisName.com apparently glommed onto my personal domain of jackwilliambell.com and I have been having the same issues others have related here. I posted about it in detail on my LiveJournal. Readers of this forum might enjoy the post and the lively discussion there... (I refer to a 'whiff of carrion' in it.) ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/475278-anyone-knows-acquirethisname-com.html In any case, the stupid thing is that I am just an average guy. Not famous. Not using my personal domain for business. And they actually expect me to fork over significant bucks in ransom for a domain name no one else can use? What kind of business model is that? |
| |
| | #53 (permalink) | ||||
| Electrifying Guy ![]() Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,825
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=475278 http://blog.ericgoldman.org/archives...n_golf_v_g.htm It'll probably be difficult, if not impossible, to file a class-action for them. | ||||
| |
| | #54 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Nov 2006 Location: M@RVEL.COM
Posts: 2,292
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | My only experience of AcquirethisName.com is that they secure a large proportion of the good LLLLL.com drops with eNom drop catchers. The names they keep always revert to a private whois but display a parked page with a 'for sale' link.
__________________ Domains for sale, free available to register domain lists and much more! LLLL.com domains and other great names on sale! Click here! |
| |
| | #55 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
![]() | well, that was an interesting discussion. I understand, after reading the article about Google Adsense and domainers, why a class-action suit would be unlikely. I just wish we could organize everyone who has been pirated by eNom or other domain companies in this way. I understand that the $300 Verisign recovery period was one way of trying to deal with this issue, but it really isn't a good solution. A good solution would be laws / policies that prevent cybersquatting outright. What I'm saying is that domain registrar companies are playing both sides, like Caesar having his private militias riot and uprise while using Roman legions to crush the rebellion and institute a martial-law regime. In the end, the laws and regulations related to domain name recovery are designed to extract money from people who carelessly fail to renew our domains. In my case, they screwed someone who couldn't afford to pay the bill for a little over a month, and now my domain's gone maybe for good. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=475278 At any rate, I'd like to see how effectively we could institute a boycott of eNom. How many people would that take and how could we attract attention to the issue? |
| |
| | #56 (permalink) | ||||
| Electrifying Guy ![]() Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,825
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Consumer Protection Act (ACPA), though it mainly applies to TM holders and only within the country. You can probably ask Wikileaks how to go about boycotting eNom. I'd imagine eNom has enough resellers doing their legwork for them, though. While I understand analogies can only apply so far, a big difference between Caesar and this is Caesar enforced his will that caused demonstrable harm to others. That's why I asked earlier how eNom or AcquireThisName has done similarly other than trying to sell someone something ATN hadn't solicited for, outside of trademarks which has been pretty much established. | ||||
| |
| | #59 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Mar 2005 Location: www.move.us
Posts: 3,046
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | This company is as dishonest as they come, set up a deal a few months back, for $3000 or there abouts, ready to sign the contract, payment in escrow, deal confirmed both sides, then they want more money as they have another "buyer" who has offered more, but they want to sell to me so they ask for lots more money, domains still belong to the same person to this day. there an enom company, shady practice, dont go anywhere near them. Someone high up in enom.com owns (his whois details are all over some domains) a few good names listed for sale through them.
__________________ Visit www.about.us for dot us news! |
| |
| | #61 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster! Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
![]() | Here is how ENOM and AcquireThisName.com got my URL... My wife is a realtor - with a small but enthusiastic clientele and business. I administered her site for six years with ENOM through DNBUY.com - but this year (January 15th) I fell victim to a scam that I've read about again and again throughout internet forums since. This really needs prompt correction. Here is how the scam worked for me: 1. The Domain comes up for renewal - I recieved ENOM's 2 notices. I went online and paid the renewal with my credit card through their payment gateway. 2. The Domain expires - the credit card payment didn't register with ENOM nor my credit card company and I recieved no notice or warning it didn't work. Worse I have an internal-DNS server and an internal web server - so I cant see that the site is no longer online. Everything looks fine. 3. Redemption - 15 days later - a state of redemption is enacted where only a $250 charge will recover the URL. A client of my wife tells her that her site is offline at this point. After research I find the problem - but on principal I refuse to pay the ransom - so I am forced to wait twice the normal time for the url to drop. Its now early July. 4. The URL is picked up immediately by a company with a homepage identical to the ENOM suspension homepage - and so I assume ENOM is implicated. A call to ENOM tech support tells me that although ENOM hosts the domain name, another company is responsible for this - perhaps NAMEJET.com or similar. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=475278 5. I contact the ENOM domain reseller from their link on heathertilley.com ( http://www.acquirethisname.com/Defau...thertilley.com ). Although the domain name is completely worthless to anyone else - I am informed that it will cost me $5000 to get the URL back. Clearly the ICANN and Internic system that was put in place with best intentions is now abused to beyond any grounds worth defending. This name-company has self-administered redemption and cybersquatting into petty larceny. The situation demands attention - but for my immediate needs I want my wife's Domain name transferred back immediately. I wondered can the Internic and ICANN assist me - and so I sent this above message as a letter of complaint to ICANN. ICANN is infamously inactive so I think I agree with folks on this thread that a lawyer's letter is all that will work with these pirates. |
| |
| | #62 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jan 2006 Location:
Posts: 172
![]() ![]() | eNom being investigated by ICANN. "ICANN asks Demand Media for answers after report" http://http://www.computerworld.com...._after_report/ Spearseven |
| |
| | #63 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jan 2007 Location: Glasgow
Posts: 264
![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ No Signature. | ||||
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |