NamePros.Com (http://www.namepros.com/)
-   Warnings & Alerts (http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/)
-   -   email scam from vice.president@phreaker.net (http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/454716-email-scam-vice-president-phreaker-net.html)

RobinB123 04-07-2008 02:35 PM

email scam from vice.president@phreaker.net
 
Another scam - ask you for a price, then want you to value it at a website:


Hello,

After checking domains for sale sites I've found your domain for sale. So what is your price?

Buying and selling domains is not our only business. But domain aftermarket is hot now, so we are always interested in domain names.

Looking forward to do business with you.

Regards,
Anthony Peterson
Vice President
PRF Software
================================================== ==========================
NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged
information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any
viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by
unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this
message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message
and deleting it from your computer.

================================================== ========

OI2 04-08-2008 08:05 AM

It's actually a double scam. If you reply they will point you to some fake forum where fake people talk about the worth of a domain name. This forum will then recommend a service to find out the real value of your domain but the funny part is: The reason they send such emails is they want to make money off you doing the appraisal while the "deal" never takes place cause the possible buyer is actually someone from the appraisal service and just wants to make a few bucks.

It's funny they used such an email address tho cause it just tells you enough without even looking at the email.

sdsinc 04-08-2008 09:23 AM

The scammers are pathetic... wasting their time and ours for $$ a pop :sick:

amirt5 04-09-2008 08:27 AM

this stuff are so sad.. i cant understand how people appraisal there domain and thing those assholes are going to buy it...

RobinB123 04-09-2008 09:11 AM

yeah - this was the 'forum' they pointed me to:
http://domaintalk.007sites.com/Archive/291358.htm

I got the email a few days after parking the domain on sedo incidently

gogowebnames 04-18-2008 06:01 AM

I had a similar scam email from phreaker.net aka 'Harold Peterson' asking me price of a domain. :hehe: Thank goodness I was directed to this forum else I may given into...I think SEDO or similar is the best way to buy/sell domains, don't you? :hmm:

-Alex- 04-18-2008 04:42 PM

Funny lol, I got a similar email. Though you may think you have to be stupid to fall for it....all it takes is one person to.

weblord 04-18-2008 04:48 PM

i think their president is in vacation from scamming. :lol:

jack1 05-12-2008 07:58 AM

Just received a similar email too

Originally Posted by OI2
It's funny they used such an email address tho cause it just tells you enough without even looking at the email.



Yes this address stands there telling you: "Look at me, I'm a big scam" , lol, funny guys, they gave me a smile :D

2002mjf 05-13-2008 10:02 AM

I got one of those letters a couple of weeks ago and did what everyone should do..."put in folder>>>trash"

A2020 07-08-2008 05:51 AM

To let everyone know, I too got this message :

From: "PHR LLC" <phrllc@phreaker.net>

George Sterling
President
PHR LLC

webwizzy 07-11-2008 01:36 PM

mann.. I got one today from the same above person "George Sterling". He's even offering me 12000 USD !!!!! can you believe it ?

1901gt 07-11-2008 01:54 PM

George Sterling emailed me too! :lol:

seanboy 07-11-2008 02:01 PM

I just got one too. Hah! :)

fren 07-17-2008 06:37 AM

I just got one too, a few minutes ago from prsllc@phreaker.net. I think all of these emails were coming from one boring teenager. And I strongly believe that he can make more money if he used gmail account. LOL!

domaindevelopers 08-06-2008 08:29 PM

I got a similar email for zzc.in from

Sebastian Sterling
Vice President
PRS LLC

I replied them saying since you are already well aware of the potential of the market, you may offer a fair price.

No reply.

Hurley4540 08-06-2008 08:32 PM

Same scammers using the title as owners of "TNGtech" or w/e...


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:45 PM.
Site Sponsors
Advertise your business at NamePros

Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 2.4.0