Another scam - ask you for a price, then want you to value it at a website:
Hello,
After checking domains for sale sites I've found your domain for sale. So what is your price?
Buying and selling domains is not our only business. But domain aftermarket is hot now, so we are always interested in domain names.
Looking forward to do business with you.
Regards,
Anthony Peterson
Vice President
PRF Software
================================================== ==========================
NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged
information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any
viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by
unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this
message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message
and deleting it from your computer.
It's actually a double scam. If you reply they will point you to some fake forum where fake people talk about the worth of a domain name. This forum will then recommend a service to find out the real value of your domain but the funny part is: The reason they send such emails is they want to make money off you doing the appraisal while the "deal" never takes place cause the possible buyer is actually someone from the appraisal service and just wants to make a few bucks.
It's funny they used such an email address tho cause it just tells you enough without even looking at the email.
I had a similar scam email from phreaker.net aka 'Harold Peterson' asking me price of a domain. Thank goodness I was directed to this forum else I may given into...I think SEDO or similar is the best way to buy/sell domains, don't you?
I just got one too, a few minutes ago from prsllc@phreaker.net. I think all of these emails were coming from one boring teenager. And I strongly believe that he can make more money if he used gmail account. LOL!