| | |||||
| ||||||||
| "Short" Domain Discussion Generally defined as easily resalable domains of 5 characters or less -- LLL, LLLL, L-L-L, 2c, 3c, acronyms, etc |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #551 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: N43°54′, E017°40′
Posts: 976
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| ||||
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #553 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Sep 2004 Location: Canada
Posts: 8,996
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | FEX.com reported stolen: http://www.namepros.com/legal-issues...ml#post3113155 |
| | |
| | #554 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Oct 2007 Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,541
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | This just in from paypal... ================================================== ================ PayPal ================================================== ================ Hello krx, We've made some fantastic improvements to our Seller Protection policy on eBay and wanted to share the good news. It's now easier than ever to be covered against item-not-received and ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/short-domain-discussion/425450-warning-how-avoid-domain-scams-scammers.html item-significantly-not-as described claims, chargebacks, and reversals. Additional highlights include: - No annual coverage limit - Every eligible claim is covered at no additional cost to you. - International sales coverage - Go ahead, sell worldwide. Seller Protection extends to purchases made by buyers in 190 countries. - Ship to unconfirmed addresses for eBay sales - Now you can ship to any address and eligible sales are covered. There's nothing you need to do. These improvements apply to all eBay sellers in the U.S. and are effective immediately. For details, see our complete terms and conditions at: http://email1.paypal.com/u.d?h4GtunwlgAyqvp_QgnV2P=1810 Learn More http://email1.paypal.com/u.d?gYGtunwlgAyqvp_QgnV18=1780 Anyone know if this provides any *real* protection against fraudulent chargebacks? |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #555 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Sep 2004 Location: Canada
Posts: 8,996
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Sounds like it only applies to sales conducted through eBay. It also still seems like it only covers shipped "non-digital" goods.
| ||||
| | |
| | #556 (permalink) |
| Account Closed Join Date: Dec 2007 Location: Punjab
Posts: 3,790
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I just received an email from paypal for unauthorized claim for two transactions completed with DP user through yahoo messenger. So I have $350 held by Paypal for now.. The user in question is: shandoli (at DigitalPoint) his email: silencer03@live.com Yahoo id: socratescasanova paypal email : scootthepower@metalking.wanadoo.co.uk everyone, please be careful while dealing wit him :-( |
| | |
| | #557 (permalink) | ||||||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Oct 2007 Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,541
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I don't frequent DP much ... sounds like it is scam haven over there. What's up with that? | ||||||||
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #558 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Sep 2004 Location: Canada
Posts: 8,996
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I've heard they make little to no effort to ban members even when it's obvious that members are scamming people. I guess all the scammers tell their scammer friends to come over and have a free lunch on the unsuspecting honest members.
| ||||
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #559 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Sep 2004 Location: Canada
Posts: 8,996
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Seems to be a phishing email scam going on with .ca and possibly other extensions: http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and...ml#post3139255 |
| | |
| | #561 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: N43°54′, E017°40′
Posts: 976
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I don't know if this was posted here before, but it's sure a good read. http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/breakin...s-get-stollen/ Is it Gmail or something else? |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #562 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Sep 2004 Location: Canada
Posts: 8,996
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | The big problem with pretty much all the big web-based email platforms is that the sheer number of people using them encourages hackers to look for vulnerabilities to exploit. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=425450 I've heard enough vulnerabilities about all 3 (Gmail, Hotmail, Yahoo Mail), that I really wouldn't recommend using any of the 3 for important business or domains. I use an ISP based email and have done so for the past 10 years without problems. More often than not though, it's not vulnerabilities to blame, it's ignorant people who can't tell a legitimate email from a spoofed one. Easy to copy a web-based email provider's source code, send a spoofed email to an intended recipient, and record their username/password when the log into your "fake Gmail".
| ||||
| | |
| | #563 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jan 2008 Location: N43°54′, E017°40′
Posts: 976
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I just got an email from a "company" called WebnameSolution (infoATwebnamesolution.com). They are offering to sell me a LLLL.com for $200. By the way, I own the same LLLL.net, and it's developed. Anyway, I did some research and came to a conclusion that the LLLL.com they're offering in Pending Delete status (they don't actually own the name). There were complaints on other forums from people who got scammed before. Beware... |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #564 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Sep 2004 Location: Canada
Posts: 8,996
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Thanks for letting us know Samir. I was doing some reading the past couple days and came across an article on Cnet discussing the supposed Gmail vulnerability: http://news.cnet.com/8301-1009_3-10108529-83.html . It appears to have been a phishing scam afterall. |
| | |
| | THREAD STARTER #565 (permalink) |
| NamePros Expert Join Date: Sep 2004 Location: Canada
Posts: 8,996
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Warning HUGE THEFT TO REPORT Courtesy of TheLegendaryJP: http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-...new-level.html |
| | |
| | #568 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 318
![]() ![]() ![]() | scammer report: His MSN: domaingk2@yahoo.com His Paypal: pyrenees46@yahoo.com His name.com account code: 185594-abc0771 He try to "purchase" my 17 LLLL.com domain names for $500. Through his name.com account code, I found he is a scammer!
__________________ 230 NNNNN.COMs. Over 1,000 LLLL.COMs. Over 20,000 LLLL.CNs. Over 30,000 LLLL.COM.CNs. |
| | |
| | #569 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Sep 2006 Location: eUrls.Network
Posts: 615
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Another scammer that I found on another forum, so watch out for this guy from Romania: First Name: Isvanca Last Name: Mihai Alexandru Address: Oituz 33 bl 33 ap 17 City: Onesti State: Romania Zip: 601047 Phone: 40742727476 |
| | |
| | #570 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster! Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
![]() | Just buy domain names from certified companies and you'll be ok!
__________________ www.comedy-bog.net |
| | |
| | #571 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 150
![]() ![]() ![]() |
Its been eight months that the above two names were stolen from me through an illicit transaction. What is amazing is that even after contacting various parties at enom and documenting the theft and even thought this was not an isolated case by this thief, the names are just sitting there in the thief's enom account and I have been unable to recover them. Ridiculous! | ||||
| | |
| | #573 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 229
![]() | http://www.namepros.com/domains-for-...-premiums-subs Elmos Elmos IS scammer i send money to him but now i can not send message to him now him is offline ****! him block my message
Last edited by willen009; 07-17-2009 at 06:07 PM.
|
| | |
| | #574 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
![]() | Hi I posted this here (and paid for a sticky) because it seems like this guy is preying on Namepros members.. With how fast he's targetting them, having merely a post in the Warnings and Alerts section just won't get the word out soon enough... ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=425450 Anyone with more info on this guy, please let us know. As EG.Domains, the NPer who alerted me to this scammer told me -- it's very probable that large holders of LLLL.coms are at the very top of his list of people to scam. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Buildings and Contents Insurance credit card debt solutions |
| | |
![]() |
LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.namepros.com/short-domain-discussion/425450-warning-how-avoid-domain-scams-scammers.html | ||||
| Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
| » With More Domain Thefts, enter Fort Moniker ? - John Andrews - johnon.com | This thread | Refback | 09-19-2011 04:23 AM | |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |