![]() |
Quote:
With sedo, once they have possession of your domains and the payment then the transaction is completed and the buyer and seller cannot change their mind. Both are committed to the sale. |
Quote:
dysl.com domd.com If anyone notices them in a sales thread somewhere I'd appreciate if they could PM me. Thanks! |
Not sure if this is the right place to post this, but I just got an email from ceo@eliteinvestment.net: Hello, Your domain name has been found online. Please let us know your price. We make money on selling and buying names and sites. Now the domain business is very attractive. Looking forward to do business with you. Regards, Robert Gardos CEO Elite Investment The email was in regards to a domain I sold several days ago, XJQV.com. I did a little google research and is sounded pretty sketchy... |
Quote:
I just checked another forum. A poster there claimed he got an appraisal and was able to sell it as a result. I REALLY DOUBT IT |
Quote:
Next email is "get an appraisal at our site"...I would bet my boots on it. |
Yeah, when I googled that email address, ceo@eliteinvestments.net, there were several results at other forums with the same conclusion that it was a scam. Just thought I would let people know in case it happened to them! |
Quote:
Can eNom freeze the domains and revert back to you? I heard that Godaddy won't help in these situations, but thought other registrars may be better. |
Actually, about a month ago I had several domains stolen from my eNom account and transferred to a GoDaddy account. Both registrars were very helpful in getting me all of my domains back. As a side note, GoDaddy put an indefinite lock on the domains until the issue was resolved and eNom told me they would have as well, but since the domains were now at GoDaddy, their hands were tied. I found eNom support to be helpful in the end and with a quick call, they will send you some forms to fill out in order to get the lock placed on your domain and begin the process of getting your stolen domains back. |
Thanks for the heads up, nice to hear registers are doing something about!! |
They can, but they probably won't, depending on how the names were stolen. Quote:
|
Quote:
"Unfortunately, we cannot assist you with this. eNom takes no responsibility for third-party domain sales and we do not have the authority to make judgments as to who has the rights to the domain. This is an issue that needs to be resolved through other channels." They basically refuse to do anything, not even look at the specifics and the fraudulent account. This is not exactly a theft as far as enom is concerned as I did push the name and my account was never compromised. While I totally understand their general policy of not reversing "pushes", I would still expect them to make some exceptions and look at the bigger picture in specific instances like this one. In this case I presume most of the domains currently siting in the Inbrownstockings account were fraudulently "acquired" (I know of at least another party's name) and it would not take much time for eNom to verify things. By doing nothing, they are just assisting the scammers. |
Thanks for posting this warning - I will keep an eye out. There are too many people out there trying to scam people online. I appreciate you posting this! |
Be carefull with syndromeX. He may be (or may not be) a scammer, or his account might be hacked. http://www.namepros.com/domains-for-...-com-tqax.html also potentially the same guy: http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showt...ight=syndromeX |
Quote:
appraisal cost maybe higher than enduser price for that VCVC domain :bah: |
thank you all for the update..will look out for the stolen domains if they ever surface n let u know |
I checked whois to contact the owner of a couple LLLL.coms for sale in the forum - by a brand new member. The created date for both is this month... Created: 2008-09-05 Created: 2008-09-13 Is that possible? Even if they were recent expired domain purchases, wouldn't they still show the original created date? |
Depends if they went through a full drop cycle or not... if it was a registrar catch sometimes it will keep its age. If the name fully expired then yes its possible. |
Are any LLLL.coms fully expiring? Aren't they all caught? |
Sounds like those 2 may not have... |
I contacted the owner via whois contact info and he confirms that he's selling the names here. Also says he is affiliated with a drop-catching company that obtains expired domains the second they become available. So I guess that explains it. Just wanted to be sure I wasn't buying stolen domains. |
BE CAREFULL WITH FRAUDULEN "ICANN" update emails: My GD account was hacked today. In the meantime the issue with hacking of my GoDaddy account is resolved, my correct email and owner details are restored. Shenron, thank you very much for your support! The hacker was trying to transfer out my cvcv.com, vcvc.com, and quads to moniker account. he changed PIN, email, my name (to "adam Zicher"), address (to some US address) in the account details. He also changed the whois emails in some domains (most expensive LLLL.com) and was requesting auth codes. I was not able to login to the account becase he also changed my password and PIN code for phone requests. GD representative whom I contacted quickly verified me and restored my email (thus I was able to receive some auth codes per email the hacker was requesting, as well as the request from Moniker to approve the transfer). As I immeadeatly locked back all the domains (the hacker unlocked them all), no transfer out was done. I hope the issue is resoled now, but I lost approx 1 hour for this. To my regret GoDaddy rep could not give me the IP from the hacker. For security reasons I also changed all my passwords at my other registrators. I also got a PM from another NPer who mentioned he had the same problem after he received ICANN update email from "godaddy". I checked once again the ICANN email I have received few days ago, and it was really fraudulent (I think this was how the hacker obtained my password) Clicking on the link https://www.mya.godaddy.com/Login.asp? you were forwarded to http://www.godaddywh0is.com/login.aspx.htm (now not active) Below is the email (i expanded it in google, and it shows that the email was sent from accountupdate@godaddy.com (google usually warns if shown email is not the same as the actual email), thus it is strange. Quote:
THEREFORE BE CAREFULL WITH ICANN CONFIRMATION, CHECK THE LINK WHERE IT FORWARDS YOU! |
I changed the thread title to better reflect that this thread is about letting fellow members know about any scamming methods or known scammers. |
SCAMMER ALERT I just got scammed on DP by a guy nicknamed 'eroxite'. After doing some research, I came to a conclusion that his nickname on NP is 'JuliusOlivetti' (selling the same sites, domains, etc). I pushed a domain first and then he refused to pay (he even tried to sell it there before he sent the payment). Then he scammed another guy (asked the guy to pay before he pushes - luckily it was paypal, so the guy did a chargeback). Anyway, the domain he stole from me is DL-V.COM. Here's the info he's using on his domains: #1 Rob Condell 16 Kilkenny Place, Portishead. Bristol, South West BS20 6HA United Kingdom juliusolivetti@googlemail.com +011 01179584932 #2 Robbie Pring 16 Kilkenny Place, Portishead. Bristol, South West BS20 6HA United Kingdom robbytemplar@googlemail.com +011 07775656345 #3 Olivetti, Julius juliusolivetti@googlemail.com 16 Kilkenny Place, Portishead. Bristol, South West BS20 6HA United Kingdom 01179574832 Fax -- His another email is eroxite@live.com. His Dynadot username is robbytemplar. He has a 100% positive feedback on DP, it's an older account, etc. But he's a damn scammer. |
Quote:
JFYI, none of the telephone country codes are valid. This should be something everyone checks out on the whois when considering buying or selling. Country codes etc can be quickly checked here: http://www.kropla.com/dialcode.htm |
Also part your fault for pushing the domain before getting payment. That's some risky business and you just found out why. |
| All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:12 AM. |
Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger