NamePros.com

NamePros.com (http://www.namepros.com/)
-   "Short" Domain Discussion (http://www.namepros.com/short-domain-discussion/)
-   -   WARNING: How to Avoid Domain Scams and Scammers (http://www.namepros.com/short-domain-discussion/425450-warning-how-avoid-domain-scams-scammers.html)

EG.domains 05-29-2008 02:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by INDIGIAN.com
I'm trying to get him to push me 35 bucks for one domain so I can see where his paypal is coming from

Even so. It might be "stolen" Paypal account. Be careful.

ODST.com 05-29-2008 02:10 PM

thks for the warning I'm just trying to gather as much info as possible.

Len 05-29-2008 02:11 PM

Here's what I have found out:
He claims he is based in India, uses the IM: eximprise
FYI Eximprise Technologies is Delhi-based ( don't know if this guy is somehow a part of this company)

ODST.com 05-29-2008 02:18 PM

He told me he works for Enom? says that he has a bunch of domains with swiss commerce. If he is a scammer he claims he has already purchased 15k worth of domains. YIIIIKES!!!!!

Idees 05-29-2008 02:25 PM

:eek: Well he's probably not a scammer IMO
Quote:

Originally Posted by INDIGIAN.com
he claims he has already purchased 15k worth of domains. YIIIIKES!!!!!


ODST.com 05-29-2008 02:28 PM

well thats what I am here to do. Find out whether he is reliable or not. 15k worth of domains and no trader rating plus all of the other red flags. I'm not saying he is a scammer I just wanted some added security because he insists on paypal.

EG.domains 05-29-2008 02:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by INDIGIAN.com
well thats what I am here to do. Find out whether he is reliable or not. 15k worth of domains and no trader rating plus all of the other red flags. I'm not saying he is a scammer I just wanted some added security because he insists on paypal.

Ask him to tell you any of the domains he bought.


BTW, One of the scammers who reported in this thread before was claiming that he bought/buying domains up to 50k+ .. So I don't think it's safe enough because he told you that. IMO

Idees 05-29-2008 02:37 PM

Yea I understand, good luck on your possible sale.
Quote:

Originally Posted by INDIGIAN.com
well thats what I am here to do. Find out whether he is reliable or not. 15k worth of domains and no trader rating plus all of the other red flags. I'm not saying he is a scammer I just wanted some added security because he insists on paypal.


ODST.com 05-29-2008 02:38 PM

thanks for your help guys i will keep you updated

filter 05-29-2008 03:00 PM

this guy?

serge20 -> http://www.namepros.com/members/50660.html

shows 2 transactions in March, last activity in May, account closed now

I got a PM from him in February inquiring about LLLL.com (to sell or buy) - seemed to be located in Lebanon

ie, check the whois for qmgm.com, which is advertised in this thread -> http://www.namepros.com/domains-for-...from-50-a.html

Idees 05-29-2008 03:19 PM

Excellent find, I wouldn't deal with him at all.
Quote:

Originally Posted by filter
this guy?


filter 05-29-2008 03:24 PM

hard to say exactly what's going on, but would definitely want to know a lot more before doing anything via PayPal, that's for sure!

-REECE- 05-29-2008 11:27 PM

If anyone has serious doubts about dealing with someone who they believe to be a potential scammer, I'd recommend pming Namepros Management -- they can do things us normal domainers can't, like IP checks. Funny enough, you wouldn't believe how many scammers are too stupid to use a proxy :)

SlimPickins 06-01-2008 12:39 PM

watch out for this person as well! another NP member was kind enough to send me a link to this thread on DP, where i sent a pm and received a list.... OF MY OWN NAMES!! eek!

http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=866734

big scam!! these are my names, not any "client" of alexralph!!!

sp

jehnidiah 06-03-2008 04:50 PM

serge20 has also been contacting me about purchasing a lot of LLLL from me. He's offered to buy from me and, while he seems shady, he's agreed (though not gone through yet) to using escrow.com's premium service. I'll update here if I experience anything worth posting.

ODST.com 06-03-2008 05:44 PM

hey i just dealt with serge good luck I didn't see a cent from him but then again I was pretty weary

SlimPickins 06-06-2008 10:19 AM

just a reminder: do NOT BUY NAMES FROM ALEXRALPH on DP!!


despite my contact with mods there, they refuse to take any action despite my willingness to back up my claim he is a danger to the forum...... i couldn't believe that they are only willing to give infractions for spam pm's, but a case of identity theft is no problem.....

another member contacted me after i posted in his thread saying alexralph was STILL sending pms offering to sell names that whois shows are mine.... very annoying and frustrating! STEER CLEAR of ALEXRALPH!!!

denver

winson 06-06-2008 10:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SlimPickins
watch out for this person as well! another NP member was kind enough to send me a link to this thread on DP, where i sent a pm and received a list.... OF MY OWN NAMES!! eek!

http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=866734

big scam!! these are my names, not any "client" of alexralph!!!

sp


i was the one who was scammed :( asked cc bank to chargeback he is fisher

ddchan 06-06-2008 06:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by winson
i was the one who was scammed :( asked cc bank to chargeback he is fisher

Give him an -ve itrader, that's the best you can do to alert others on DP.
It's pitiful that DP mods don't do anything to stop fraud, and I've basically
left DP because of this attitude.

anuj291 06-08-2008 12:24 PM

DP s***ks....
There Mods have no control over anything... they just know how to give infractions...
if u check out DP, you will see most of their reputed members are banned... and most of the members remain banned....

I am speaking from experience... I have got infractions on threads where i had no fault as well...

SlimPickins 06-08-2008 12:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by winson
i was the one who was scammed :( asked cc bank to chargeback he is fisher

i agree with ddchan, give alexralph negative itrader so its at least a glaring signal to potential buyers... and POST what happened in the thread i opened (to warn people about alexralph) after mods on dp opted not to take my recommendation that he/she is a danger to the safety of the forum and ban the person....

http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=874340

sp

Idees 06-17-2008 08:27 AM

I'm in the process of completing a transaction with him, in which he contacted me, we'll see what happens but so far as he seems very legit.
Quote:

Originally Posted by jehnidiah
serge20 has also been contacting me about purchasing a lot of LLLL from me. He's offered to buy from me and, while he seems shady, he's agreed (though not gone through yet) to using escrow.com's premium service. I'll update here if I experience anything worth posting.


ODST.com 06-17-2008 11:13 AM

lets hope he gets enough good trader rating where he can be trusted....good luck

Idees 07-02-2008 09:01 PM

Thanks!

It has been a while since we completed the transaction, so I must say that serge20 is a very reliable and is not a scammer. :)
Quote:

Originally Posted by INDIGIAN.com
lets hope he gets enough good trader rating where he can be trusted....good luck

I would like to report a suspicious person that I would NOT do business with:

Mark Taylor (taylor.mark23@gmail.com)
a.k.a.
"ManKat"
"sunny23"
"Mark.Taylor"

He does business via email and demands that you push first, or that you push half, and then he send you payment.

In the entire conversation I had with him, he was acting very suspicious.

GreenGambler 07-02-2008 09:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Idees
I would like to report a suspicious person that I would NOT do business with:

Mark Taylor (taylor.mark23@gmail.com)
a.k.a.
"ManKat"
"sunny23"
"Mark.Taylor"

He does business via email and demands that you push first, or that you push half, and then he send you payment.

In the entire conversation I had with him, he was acting very suspicious.

Yeah, this guy came onto NameChatter.com, and started offering people money for there LLLL.coms. He did seem somewhat suspicious and eager to make a deal via paypal, and he also would not agree to use Escrow.com for a large dollar deal.

Thanks for the heads up Idees!! Much appreciated.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger