NamePros.com

NamePros.com (http://www.namepros.com/)
-   "Short" Domain Discussion (http://www.namepros.com/short-domain-discussion/)
-   -   WARNING: How to Avoid Domain Scams and Scammers (http://www.namepros.com/short-domain-discussion/425450-warning-how-avoid-domain-scams-scammers.html)

deboer123 05-19-2008 02:19 PM

gaaaaa

bricio 05-19-2008 04:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by italiandragon
I also stopped using PayPal and so I have never been scammed despite lots of scammers tried to scam me offering me too many good names for cheap or trying to buy with PayPal my names.

JUST STOP USING THAT USELESS COMPANY and use MoneyBookers Escrow!!!

:yell:


The reason why some LLLL.com prices dropped is mainly because of these scammers that re-sell the stolen domains at lower prices to get away quickly with their scams.

i think we can still use paypal if we are buying from or selling to a trustable member and i do this but i am careful because an account can be hacked by a scammer

the problem is when people see a too-good-to-be-true sale or offer and get blinded; then they are scammed
in these sales thebest thing to do is use an escrow service; as you told moneybookers' can be used as sedo's, moniker's even being more expensive but you will be safe

i have to agree with you about the relation between scammers and LLLL.com prices

fleadom 05-20-2008 07:03 AM

Is verified paypal account safe. I mean, if someone has a verified paypal account can he also make use of the charge-back?

-REECE- 05-20-2008 07:23 AM

Paypal is never safe.

Quote:

Originally Posted by fleadom
Is verified paypal account safe. I mean, if someone has a verified paypal account can he also make use of the charge-back?


UrbanCowboy 05-20-2008 07:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fleadom
Is verified paypal account safe. I mean, if someone has a verified paypal account can he also make use of the charge-back?

Paypal accounts, whether verified or not, can be stolen( or hacked into) and when real owner finds out about transaction, a chargeback would definitely occur.

italiandragon 05-20-2008 07:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fleadom
Is verified paypal account safe. I mean, if someone has a verified paypal account can he also make use of the charge-back?

answering to your question: of course a verified PayPal can do a chargeback

(plus trust me, being "verified" does not guarantee much)

-REECE- 05-20-2008 07:50 AM

That happened to me in 2006 (unrelated to domaining) and marked the last time I used Paypal until very recently when I realized it was costing me a fair bit more in lost sales than the chargebacks would have.

As sorry as I feel for a person who's account is actually hacked, I really don't see how I should be the one out $300+ -- what did I do wrong to deserve that? Why isn't this covered under seller protection?

Frankly, I'd love to see someone sue these POS and I really wish everyone would just use Moneybookers.

Quote:

Originally Posted by UrbanCowboy
Paypal accounts, whether verified or not, can be stolen( or hacked into) and when real owner finds out about transaction, a chargeback would definitely occur.


italiandragon 05-20-2008 07:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reece

Frankly, I'd love to see someone sue these POS and I really wish everyone would just use Moneybookers.


if only the sheeps that follow the 3 chars letter quality fable would follow your invite, we would have solved the issues....

oh wait.....but then they would have to pay 1% of the transaction for the MB Escrow......noooooooo......better a free fees PayPal ticket for a chargeback!! :music:

fleadom 05-20-2008 07:57 AM

Reece, Italiandragon, UrbanCowboy, thank you very much for your instant responses. Paypal will be past for me really soon.

philski 05-20-2008 08:16 AM

as a BIG powerseller.

I have sent hundreds of NEW customers to paypal "because i trust them" and NEVER had a problem with them.

untill something more secure comes up. with out spam. etc
Go paypal.

Takwa 05-20-2008 08:27 AM

I guess ppl with no trader ratings show not be able to use Paypal

-REECE- 05-20-2008 09:18 AM

Yes, that's where 90%+ of the problems occur (no offence to the hundreds of honest members with zero trader ratings).

It's very rare that you'll run into trouble with a member with 5+ iTrader, much like it is dealing with eBay powersellers. It happens, but if you're careful about who you deal with, it happens much less often. Moneybookers is a must imho for people with zero feedback.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Takwa
I guess ppl with no trader ratings show not be able to use Paypal


Asmro 05-22-2008 09:32 PM

Yea, over on DP, I got scammed on two of my LLLL.com's, FKKJ.com and PJJG.com. Here is the link to it:

http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showt...light=fkkj.com

That guy has been scamming on DP for a long time with lots of usernames is what we found. Unfortunately, we couldn't get him in time before he sold them. Anyways, that information was just a little heads up, just don't want him on NamePros....

mreborn 05-24-2008 06:39 PM

I got an email from info@webnamesolution.com
trying to sell me bbuu.com for $199
When I goggle for webnamesolution.com, it got back lots of bad news. Can some one confirm is this is a scam or real? The price is too good to be true.
thx

Asmro 05-24-2008 06:43 PM

Lol, it's obviously too good to be true. Don't fall for it. Maybe you could set the guy up though...Ask for a phone number to talk to him, then call the police about it if you have found bad news about the guy...Thats what I would do, and have tried...Except, my setup didn't go as planned :)

mreborn 05-24-2008 06:46 PM

Thanks. Will do.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JrsDirectory
Lol, it's obviously too good to be true. Don't fall for it. Maybe you could set the guy up though...Ask for a phone number to talk to him, then call the police about it if you have found bad news about the guy...Thats what I would do, and have tried...Except, my setup didn't go as planned :)


Asmro 05-24-2008 07:16 PM

Oh, after researching, just figured out their scam :) Basically, they email you and make it appear as though they own the domain...But it's basically just a backordering service where when you pay, they try to get the domain...So they don't own it...Scammers!

sdsinc 05-25-2008 06:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JrsDirectory
Oh, after researching, just figured out their scam :) Basically, they email you and make it appear as though they own the domain...But it's basically just a backordering service where when you pay, they try to get the domain...So they don't own it...Scammers!

They taste domains and try to sell to holders of alternate extensions. The name could be available now...

Asmro 05-25-2008 09:21 AM

BBUU.com is obviously not going to become available any time soon :)

Sterling 05-25-2008 10:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JrsDirectory
BBUU.com is obviously not going to become available any time soon :)

BBUU.com is on NameJets homepage and is up to $100 pending delete.


http://www.namejet.com/Pages/Auction...nname=bbuu.com

Asmro 05-25-2008 10:44 AM

Thanks Sterling :) Appreciate it, I might bid myself :)

Sterling 05-25-2008 11:02 AM

Yes sir. :cool:

Anytime!

Good luck

Quote:

Originally Posted by JrsDirectory
Thanks Sterling :) Appreciate it, I might bid myself :)


ODST.com 05-29-2008 01:52 PM

Can someone help me? I think I have a scammer on the fishing line. He wants to buy every single 4 letter .com I have and seems to only want to pay with paypal. He has 0 feedback in Ebay and 0 the other site he has listed. He seems to have been buying domains up. He gave me a site www.thedomainboss.com and I tried to check the whois put its unlisted. Anyone want to clue me in on what to do next. I don't really care about selling the domains I just want to catch this guy if he is a fraud.

Here is what I have gathered from him
He claims to work for enom and states that he cannot scam me due to the fact that I will be transferring the domains to another registrar*******I'm not sure if this is true
He only wants to use paypal
His ebay username is sbsb20sbsb20
His site he claims is www*thedomainboss*com
His name is Serge Basi*l
On v7n.com his username is serge20
and here is his latest deal

http://www.v7n.com/forums/domains/87...-com-sell.html

I just need to know if I can trust this guy or if hes a scammer. If he is I want to catch him

EG.domains 05-29-2008 02:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by INDIGIAN.com
Can someone help me? I think I have a scammer on the fishing line. He wants to buy every single 4 letter .com I have and seems to only want to pay with paypal. He has 0 feedback in Ebay and 0 the other site he has listed. He seems to have been buying domains up. He gave me a site www.thedomainboss.com and I tried to check the whois put its unlisted. Anyone want to clue me in on what to do next. I don't really care about selling the domains I just want to catch this guy if he is a fraud.

First of all. Don't sell him anything (at least for now) .. Everything you said sound fishy about this guy.

Also, thedomainboss.com created 11 Apr 2008

I'm digging right now for more info.

ODST.com 05-29-2008 02:04 PM

I'm trying to get him to push me 35 bucks for one domain so I can see where his paypal is coming from


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:28 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger