The fact that other extensions show as taken - even for domains that are not worth registering in any extension - is a quirk of the system (one hopes).
__________________ *****************************************
**** This area being returned back to Nature ****
*****************************************
I saw that too, in one of the links to their new FAQ additions - thanks for those, Dave.
What doesn't make sense to me are some of the other FAQ additions, for instance this one:
---------------------------------------- How does domain name “Front Running” happen? How can people get access to these searches?
There are many ways Front Runners may get access to these searches. It may happen through the sale of such search data by domain name registries, Internet Search Providers (ISPs), or even through the use of Spyware placed on your computer by 3rd parties, who then would be able to access your search queries. The reason these unscrupulous individuals may “front run” domains is to conduct what is called “tasting” to see how much money they can make on a domain name through pay-per-click ads or by re-selling the domain in the aftermarket at a highly marked up price. ----------------------------------------
So they are saying you should really beware the registry, your ISP or spyware on your PC.
Well, who is the registry for .com?
Verisign, which used to be part of Network Solutions.
Do they know something we don't?
The other possibilities:
ISPs/rogue employees thereof/Spyware distributors - would any of those really focus on the domain ideas that even I didn't consider valuable enough to register, or on my bank account passwords (or failing that - on the passwords to my administrative contact email accounts, and domain registration user name and password - for the myriad of .coms that I did register, many years ago and which are actually worth the bother)?
Exactly how afraid do they want me to be now?
Just one theory: Perhaps they are programming the script to recognize domains containing meaningful words only.
Obviously what's meaningful to one person is not necessarily meaningful to all, so it might be best to use NetSol's own words, for instance:
---------------------------------------- How does domain name “Front Running” happen? How can people get access to these searches?
There are many ways Front Runners may get access to these searches. It may happen through the sale of such search data by domain name registries, Internet Search Providers (ISPs), or even through the use of Spyware placed on your computer by 3rd parties, who then would be able to access your search queries. The reason these unscrupulous individuals may “front run” domains is to conduct what is called “tasting” to see how much money they can make on a domain name through pay-per-click ads or by re-selling the domain in the aftermarket at a highly marked up price. ----------------------------------------
Seems to work:
Whois Record
Registrant:
This Domain is available at NetworkSolutions.com
13681 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 300
HERNDON, VA 20171
US
Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
Network Solutions, LLC [removed by poster]@networksolutions.com
13681 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 300
HERNDON, VA 20171
US
Last edited by Mobi Cheap : 01-10-2008 at 09:12 AM.
Reason: Removed the the admin contact's phone number and email address - didn't want to be blamed for any deterioration in NetSol's customer service (as they appear to be standard domain support ones)
Hearing that is very frustrating to me. I'm in the middle of looking closely at the ones I'd like to buy, and I can't actually register the ones I'd like to register. I'm going to have to throw out my personal "to register" list soon.
I suppose it's time to get out the credit card before it's too late...
__________________ Vidane Racing -- Online Sim Racing League
LLLL.coms are way, way up the last couple days... Can't say it's not coincidence, but I can't help but think that speculation on the NetSol affair may be connected to it.
Just wanted to update my previous post, don't want
to report inaccuracies...but now the .eu is gone for this
fantastic domain....
so the .com is not available anywhere (except netsol) - but all the others are
you can get the deal of a lifetime on this
domain, and look...4 ... no .... 5 other tld's already registered...pfffft
They just pretend the other's are taken, and only on their own
site do they show as taken. (to encourage you to spend that crazy amount)
Putting aside the fact that this action is completely unethical... Even putting aside the fact that ICANN doesn't seem to think there is anything wrong with it...
Aren't there some type of anti-competitive or consumer protection laws that this would fall into? I just can't see how this is either ethical or legal.
Indeed, I would be quite surprised if there isn't at least one US state (not to mention other countries) that offers a good legal foundation for challenging this practice.
But why wait for the lawyers and the attorney generals?
This is our chance to show that people who register domains are not sheep.
If we keep making enough noise their PR people will tell them to back down - hopefully before their lawyers do.