| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #77 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
![]() | is this person a scammer? a few days ago i received a mail from this guy who calls himself Paulson with a Url name thedomaininvestors .com He claims to be buying and selling domains and business projects. i'll be glad with your views.
Last edited by mis_chiff; 01-28-2010 at 04:03 PM.
|
| |
| | #78 (permalink) |
| Domains my Dominion Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Web 1.0
Posts: 9,941
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Google search: domain appraisal scam.
__________________ NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists |
| |
| | #79 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Apr 2009 Location: The Web
Posts: 4,637
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ RunningShoes.in @ just $300 on Sedo auction (RunningShoes.com sold for $700,000 in 2011) Coater.com for sale - Premium industrial 1-worder.
Last edited by mis_chiff; 01-28-2010 at 04:05 PM.
Reason: removed quoted link
| ||||
| |
| | #80 (permalink) | ||||
| New Member Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
![]() | well listen bud yes the owner of Domainsecondhand.com is i-framing DNDBOARD.COM , but the question is why within the bunch of billions websites around he's iframing yours? anyways if its as you clams and you have nothing todo with the big fat scammer of Domainsecondhand.com , accept my sincere apology otherwise the owner of Domainsecondhand.com whatever is you or not ,should realy sit with him self and give a thought of everything he's doing and think if it's worth to do this for a bunch of dollars? robbing others money? is he realy comfy spending 'em ?! I dont think so , the guy who made this big joke Domainsecondhand.com is a sicko and needs to see a shrink .????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=401699
Last edited by mis_chiff; 01-31-2010 at 02:12 PM.
Reason: Removed links!
| ||||
| |
| | #82 (permalink) | ||||||||
| New Member Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 10
![]() | Is this a scam? Someone interested in buying my domain
Last edited by mis_chiff; 02-26-2010 at 10:56 AM.
Reason: Removed links
| ||||||||
| |
| | #84 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster! Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
![]() | |
| |
| | #85 (permalink) |
| Account Suspended Join Date: Sep 2009 Location: Matrix
Posts: 506
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Never buy an appraisal for some one who wants to buy your domain. If they are interested in buying the domain then they can get an appraisal where ever they like. If you want to do an appraisal for your self then that is different. Free appraisal tools are very inaccurate. Just compare a domain at esibot and swift appraisal to see the difference. There could be as much as 30K difference between the 2. People who value their domains on these free appraisal are way off base most of the time. Study the industry for awhile and get a feel of the business. You then can determine yourself roughly what a domain is worth. Beware of the domain appraisals here also. Check to see how long they have been a member and if they know what they are talking about. Some newbies pretend to be experts. I'm no domain expert myself but have learned a lot by reading the information here and listening to the people who have been in the industry a long time. That does not guarantee they are good at it either though. Just like some people have driven a car for 20 years and still could not drive a stick up a dead dog's a** ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=401699 If you hang around here awhile you can tell who knows what they are talking about and pay attention to their posts. |
| |
| | #86 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Nov 2009 Location: Indonesia
Posts: 365
![]() ![]() ![]() | I have received an offer from thedomaininvestors.com as well - I googled and find out that they are most likely scammers. saw this thread as well. Thanks NP!
__________________ Domains For Sale, PM me your offers: H-E-X.com | TextFever.com (Regged since 2002) Visit The Indonesian Domainer Blog: WartaDomain.com |
| |
| | #88 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Mar 2010 Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4
![]() | Had two of these emails from thedomaininvestors.com this morning alone. Both were for names I'd recently posted to sedo for parking, so I don't know if they're scanning sedo for new postings to get their lists or something. It smelt fishy from the first email, then another from a different address (same domain) so I did a search and came across multiple posts mentioning these scammers. |
| |
| | #89 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 12
![]() | So glad I read up on this. I got his email this morning! I don't usually play games, but these people are doing so wrong to others. Thanks, everyone. They're messing with the wrong one today .
__________________ http://CoolDomainStop.com My website! |
| |
| | #90 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster! Join Date: Mar 2010 Location: Toronto
Posts: 1
![]() | Now It's My Turn This same dude contacted me with this; ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=401699 obringer@thedomaininvestors.com Hello, We buy and sell domains and web pr®jects. What is your price for the domain? If you have other domains for sale feel free to send your list. Looking forward to do business with you. Regards, Joe Obringer CEO Cybersquatters Strategies LLC I thought it was serious and replied (no personal info given) and then got the same response about going to researchappraisals.com Once I saw the site I knew something was up. Google the domain and here I am adding my 2 cents, lol.
Last edited by mis_chiff; 04-03-2010 at 06:46 PM.
Reason: Wrong thread for advertising
|
| |
| | #92 (permalink) | ||||||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 167
![]() | SCAM: Possible scam artist in the industry. Need your thoughts? I received a few emails from hopkins@thedomaininvestors.com using the name Hopkins in regards to buying my domain web-help.net. This person appears to use a form email that says
I said for such a small figure sale of xxx I felt no need to spend low xxx on an appraisal. I said if it was a more expensive domain possible. They replied back again referring me to the same website with the exact same form e-mail. I then offered to take the domain to auction at sedo for $499 and they could see what happens. Again they replied back referring me to the same website with the same e-mail ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=401699 I kinda thought at this point they were a scam so stopped communication. Then I listed this domain on Bido.com with a buy it now of around $800. I then got the same exact form e-mail from this person with one addition at the top.
I think this company is running some sort of appraisal scam and wanted to warn other domainers. Any thoughts on this person or company or this "possible" scam. CC
Last edited by mis_chiff; 05-02-2010 at 09:56 AM.
| ||||||||
| |
| | #94 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Feb 2010 Location: The United State of TEXAS
Posts: 111
![]() | go to this link, it is another thread here at Namepros. http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and...ml#post2360086 Read as much as you can, but maybe pay attention to post #7? GL. |
| |
| | #96 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Feb 2010 Location: The United State of TEXAS
Posts: 111
![]() | I assume an idiot does something that doesn't profit them in any way, but they do it anyways. If this is true, then they're not idiots..their scheme DOES work and they know what they're doing. They are CONS and, yes, they're a**h***s. Glad you didn't get ripped off...good searching on your part. |
| |
| | #97 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 167
![]() | I have been selling domains for 10 years so I have a sense for things that seem "not right". I just wanted to make sure that any new domainers that frequent these forms see this post and do not fall into the scam. I say idiot because he can not even run his scam properly. He offered me more for the domain then I offered it to him for? That qualifies as a idiot who can not even scam properly. |
| |
| | #98 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Feb 2010 Location: The United State of TEXAS
Posts: 111
![]() |
They know what they are doing. People fall for that and assume it is an oversight on their part and then take the higher offer.????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=401699 If a new domainer, or ignorant domainer, is unsure or not if it is a scam or not that they are getting an offer from these guys, then this higher offer the cons present may push the domainer into not thinking clearly and falling for the scam since all they are thinking is profiting off their own domain. And who doesn't want to make money? This kind of scam is not special only to domaining, it works in the real estate business/buying and selling of cars/(stocks)..etc etc. It's the real world..only cyberized! GL. | ||||
| |