| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #51 (permalink) |
| Domains my Dominion Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Web 1.0
Posts: 9,941
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I would definitely file a chargeback. If enough people challenge the charges these crooks will ultimately lose their merchant account.
__________________ NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists |
| | |
| | #53 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 197
![]() | I have gotten some of the simliar emails.. Apprently there is probly a spider lucking around NP getting our emails or something..silly scammers Trix is for Kids
__________________ Free Online Article Rewrite Tool | Kilobyte Solar Energy | Gaming, Music and Webmaster Community |
| | |
| | #54 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
![]() | I'm at five replies with this guy - now trading as Patrick Harrison, Chief Operations Officer, PHK Consulting, using management@phreaker.net to email. He's quite generous, and appears to have a set of standard replies. I've gone down the sedo route of appraisal and things like that, but he is persistent. I'll see how long I can go. Any tips? Thanks, James |
| | |
| | #55 (permalink) | ||||
| Account Suspended Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,242
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Yea, I got one from him too just now. Just ignore
| ||||
| | |
| | #57 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
![]() | This is the one I received .... at least he put in a decent $ amount. Can you accept 7,000 USD? Do you sell domain with a web site or just the name? Domain without content is ok with me. Web site is not necessary. Have you had your domain names evaluated in the past? I mean domain appraisals. Without valuation we cannot be sure in the sale price. It's very important for me in terms of reselling too. But we must engage a valuation company with REAL manual service. So I will only accept valuations from independent sources I and my partners trust. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=317467 To avoid mistakes I asked domain experts about reputable appraisal companies. Please check this blog: http://domainmarket.007sites.com/Archive/419570.htm If, for example, the valuation comes higher you can adjust your asking price accordingly. It will be fair. I also hope you can give me 12% - 15% discount. After you send me the valuation via email (usually it takes 1-2 days to obtain it) we'll continue our negotiations. What is your preferred payment method: Escrow.com, International wire transfer, PayPal.com or something else? Hope we can come to an agreement fast. Looking forward to your reply. Mailed from NG Services | ngservices@phreaker.net |
| | |
| | #58 (permalink) | ||||||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 35
![]() | Same scam is still around. Email recieved:
![]()
| ||||||||
| | |
| | #59 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
![]() | lol look what I wrote back to this f#$#: Not to discredit what your link shows, but I am not really impressed with some random blog on a sub domain of a site that has no ability to leave comments. I will use godaddy for appraisal and the domain name aftermarket. Is that up to your standards? |
| | |
| | #60 (permalink) |
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 276
![]() ![]() | this guy is a known scammer. the domain @toughguy.net is used by the members part of the scamming
__________________ Online Security & Web Design |
| | |
| | #62 (permalink) |
| Account Suspended Join Date: Jul 2008 Location: Scotland
Posts: 61
![]() | Yip ogilvie@toughguy.net caught me out with an offer of 4500 pounds, 500 less than i asked for, but I opted for an appraisal from Sedo which I'm now waiting on. After that he said he couldn't accept one from them as I'm listed with them and their appraisal will be higher as they want 10% although we could use them as a broker... told him to get one himself and we'd compare the two, but he now says "We both need independent valuation first. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=317467 Sellers always provide buyers with valuations. This is a common practice. I don't trust $14 services like that GoDaddy's valuation service. Nobody will do a research for $14. We need a real manual service. I researched several companies and here are the results: I wanted to engage AccurateDomains.com as appraiser but looks like this company has very bad reputation Just read this blog http://accuratedomains.blogspot.com/ So I'm not going to accept this fraudulent service. I also considered www.Afternic.com, but now it's clear their service is not reliable enough. Just read this: http://www.igoldrush.com/links3.htm "Capsule Review: After lots of complaints, Afternic is no longer a recommended service. We will re-review the service in the near future." Another complaint http://www.out-law.com/page-1630 I was told about manual research service from http://www.DomainMart.com. It costs - $200/hour. Many experienced sellers suggested me www.EasyNameSale.com as a trustworth manual service. They charge per name not per hour. I've read only positive comments about them." even bringing up other scams, the re-suggestion of www.EasyNameSale.com led me here... I've told him I've gone for the $200 an hour one for now, as well as the Sedo one that's due back soon... |
| | |
| | #63 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 46
![]() ![]() | HE's back! I just got: ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=317467
__________________ * insure.bz * mailbox.bz * criticize.it * * normalizations.com * justificatory.com * passionateness.com * proxyaccess.org * * webaccess.info * gethostname.com * 0day.asia * for sale at sedo. | ||||
| | |
| | #64 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 145
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I have a friend who is on the "other" side of this business. He's a legit opt-in and double opt-in publisher. I know what makes these guys shake in their boots... and unfortunately for him. He just spammed me... it took me about 15 minutes to be sure of what this mailer is up to, but I figured it out without too much trouble. I feel bad for those that actually paid this guy off, but I guess it's not that high of a price to pay. If you are interested in hitting back a little bit. Try here: http://www.spamhaus.org/
__________________ http://www.wwtlds.com World Wide Top Level Domains... Now offering World Wide Domain Registration from $1.99, as well as Hosting and WebBuilding Services |
| | |