| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #28 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 134
![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/289418-sedo-helping-scammers-fake-domains-like.html I can't see any value. Unless you want to advertise for free for the real fix.com Nobody will type it in. It's not brandable. It's not even a keyword that will help you in the search engines. I can't see it being worth anymore then app1es.com | ||||
| |
| | #29 (permalink) |
| Account Closed Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 23
![]() | MarcelProust, Sedo has nothing to do with it, they wouldn't risk their reputation over a few hundred dollars. I think people are bidding on the names at $60 a pop knowing they are indeed IDN based, once they enter the auction though, hard to tell what bidders actually think they are buying. I've been watching these sales, every one has fallen through, so I'm not worried about it. Sedo is just wasting their own time.
Last edited by CrazyHorse; 02-10-2007 at 12:21 PM.
|
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #30 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Sep 2006 Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,922
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | CrazyHorse, Thats not true. There is no chance that by coincidence so many people can make an offer for fake domains all at the same time. There are two possibilities: 1. The seller has a second account and bids something like 60 or 100usd for his own domain just to get it into auction. Afterwards it keeps rolloing on its own. 2. A sedo employee is involved and is trying to make some quick money. I still cant explain how some of those went there without any offer at all. |
| |
| | #31 (permalink) |
| NamePros Member Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 134
![]() | They should just list the domains like so: xn--fx-kja.com (fìx.com) Since that is what they are selling. Do you think it would be anywhere near $5K if it was listed in it's true form? xn--fx-kja.com Come on you know you guys want it
Last edited by Danny25; 02-10-2007 at 12:28 PM.
|
| |
| | #34 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 134
![]() |
xn--fx-kja.com Just broke the five digit barrier.. $20,000 I think you're right. There is no way a domain as worthless as this can command such a price. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=289418 This sale should put a end to this kind of shady pratice | ||||
| |
| | #36 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 134
![]() |
This is insane. I wonder how much it will sell for? ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=289418 $25,500 with 45 minutes to go.. Somebody is NOT going to be happy.. I wonder if the person who put this up for sale actually thinks he/she will get away with this? | ||||
| |
| | #37 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Feb 2006 Location: Near Chicago
Posts: 2,397
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
__________________ MortgageandLoan.com | ||||
| |
| | THREAD STARTER #38 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Sep 2006 Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,922
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | The buyer might not realize it until he gets the domain. There is a chance the buyer might send the money. Since we don't know who the buyer is we can't warn him. I expected sedo to handle this more professional. There were a few other sales like this recently. Sedo should have learned their lesson. |
| |
| | #39 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 134
![]() |
| ||||
| |
| | #40 (permalink) |
| Senior Member Join Date: Jan 2007 Location: British Columbia
Posts: 2,705
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | re:domain If he wanted it badly enough on the auction, wouldn't he get his wife/friend to make a $60 bid on a second account and push it to auction (not that Im recommending that as that would be unethical?)? Since everyone is going crazy over them it for sure would get more bids then the starting $60. just my thoughts, Gary. |
| |
| | #42 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jan 2007 Location: Amsterdam - Netherlands
Posts: 439
![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=289418 What about phishing ? Every bank with an i in his name must be carefull. Even careful people won't see the strange i when giving in their login and password... Martin | ||||
| |
| | #43 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 134
![]() |
I don't think these IDNs will make that anymore a problem then it already is. The browser automaticly jumps to: http://xn--fx-kja.com/ when you type-in fìx.com | ||||
| |
| | #45 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Jan 2007 Location: Amsterdam - Netherlands
Posts: 439
![]() ![]() |
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=289418 Martin | ||||
| |
| | #48 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 134
![]() |
High $xxx,xxx - low $x,xxx,xxx www.fix.com is actually a site
Last edited by Danny25; 02-10-2007 at 01:59 PM.
| ||||
| |