View Single Post
Old 06-15-2008, 03:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Cronus
NamePros Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 243
344.00 NP$ (Donate)

Cronus is a name known to allCronus is a name known to allCronus is a name known to allCronus is a name known to allCronus is a name known to allCronus is a name known to all



I dealt with this company recently too. I'm guessing that it is just another shady Enom front company, but it is hard to tell. There is a domain name I have wanted for years because it is the .com version of a popular developed .org site I run. I also own all the other major extensions of this non-generic keyword. When the .com expired, years ago, Enom noticed that it had a lot of traffic (from people trying to reach my site), so Enom kept it for what they call "extended RGP". They use whois privacy to hide that it is owned by Enom itself, but when I sent a trademark violation complaint they replied from legal@enom.com. Their parking pages now serve ads directly related to my site content, even though it is not a generic term. It sucks that they are diverting my own misdirected users for their own profit. Large registrars aren't supposed to be in the cybersquatting business!

Recently, I noticed that the page changed to include the acquirethisname.com link. And the parking page now looks like what BuyDomains uses. So I made an $xxx offer and they responded that "The owner of this domain is accepting offers starting at xxxxx for this domain". That stated minimum offer price was completely ridiculous--well over $50,000.

Sigh.
Cronus is offline   Reply With Quote