WARNING: How to Avoid Domain Scams and Scammers

SpaceshipSpaceship
Watch
Impact
502
Prevention:

Google the domain (also try adding words like stolen, scammed, help, missing, etc), asking other domainers about the domain in question, checking the various marketplaces and making sure things add up... The biggest single indicator of a potential scam is the price. A scammer will want to price the domain low enough that it sells before he gets caught. Keep a watchful eye on new members. Recently modified whois is another warning sign. If other indicators are present (ex. extremely low price), proceed with extreme caution.

Some known scams:

1. Appraisal Scam -- If they ask for an appraisal, it's probably a scam.

2. Snail mail scam letters -- Letters through the mail reminding you to renew your domains from companies which aren't your current registrar

3. Compromised web-based email accounts and keyloggers -- Using an email provided to you by your Internet Service Provider is generally safer than web-based email solutions. There have been known security flaws in certain webmail applications in the past (ex. Gmail) which made compromising member accounts considerably easier than guessing a password. Understand the risks involved with using a web-based solution. Download spyware software such as Adaware Lavasoft and scan your computer daily. Keyloggers are A) easy to put on someone's computer and B) potentially catastrophic to a web based business.

4. Unauthorizing funds (particularly bad with Paypal). Paypal makes it very easy to create chargebacks. Don't accept large amounts by Paypal unless you're dealing with people you absolutely trust. Moneybookers/Escow.com are a step above Paypal, however the best option would be to go with a true escrow service such as Sedo Escrow, Moniker Domain Escrow Service or EscrowDNS.

5. Emails saying your domain requires renew/transfer/you to take a certain action. Check the email and make sure that A) it's from your registrar and B) the url mentioned matches what your registrar's would be. Safer to just visit the registrar than click the links in the email.

6. Incorrect Whois emails -- if your whois isn't incorrect, beware. Phone your registrar if you think they made a mistake.

7. Traffic/Click Fraud -- Self explanatory. If it isn't direct navigation it shouldn't be sold as such. Due diligence is required here.

8. Hijacking -- If you use one of your own domain names as the nameserver, be sure to make sure it doesn't expire or someone could fraudulently gain control of your domains.

9. Escrow.com is NOT 100% safe. They do not cover stolen domains -- buyer beware. Don't think processing a "bargain" through Escrow.com won't potentially end in you being out money. In the event a domain is stolen from someone's account, the domain WILL be returned to the original owner and you'll be out whatever you paid for the domain.

10. One thing I should add: Most free webmail providers will delete accounts after certain periods of inactivity. A clever scammer could notice that your Hotmail/Yahoo/other webmail account had expired, register that same email address (which is now available) and then proceed to "Request Password" at various registrars using what was previously your email address. If you plan on using your webmail infrequently, it's recommend you verify what amount of inactivity is tolerable and won't result in email account deletion.
 
Last edited:
15
•••
The views expressed on this page by users and staff are their own, not those of NamePros.
AfternicAfternic
I guess ppl with no trader ratings show not be able to use Paypal
 
0
•••
Yes, that's where 90%+ of the problems occur (no offence to the hundreds of honest members with zero trader ratings).

It's very rare that you'll run into trouble with a member with 5+ iTrader, much like it is dealing with eBay powersellers. It happens, but if you're careful about who you deal with, it happens much less often. Moneybookers is a must imho for people with zero feedback.

Takwa said:
I guess ppl with no trader ratings show not be able to use Paypal
 
0
•••
Yea, over on DP, I got scammed on two of my LLLL.com's, FKKJ.com and PJJG.com. Here is the link to it:

http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=799489&highlight=fkkj.com

That guy has been scamming on DP for a long time with lots of usernames is what we found. Unfortunately, we couldn't get him in time before he sold them. Anyways, that information was just a little heads up, just don't want him on NamePros....
 
0
•••
I got an email from [email protected]
trying to sell me bbuu.com for $199
When I goggle for webnamesolution.com, it got back lots of bad news. Can some one confirm is this is a scam or real? The price is too good to be true.
thx
 
0
•••
Lol, it's obviously too good to be true. Don't fall for it. Maybe you could set the guy up though...Ask for a phone number to talk to him, then call the police about it if you have found bad news about the guy...Thats what I would do, and have tried...Except, my setup didn't go as planned :)
 
0
•••
Thanks. Will do.

JrsDirectory said:
Lol, it's obviously too good to be true. Don't fall for it. Maybe you could set the guy up though...Ask for a phone number to talk to him, then call the police about it if you have found bad news about the guy...Thats what I would do, and have tried...Except, my setup didn't go as planned :)
 
0
•••
Oh, after researching, just figured out their scam :) Basically, they email you and make it appear as though they own the domain...But it's basically just a backordering service where when you pay, they try to get the domain...So they don't own it...Scammers!
 
0
•••
JrsDirectory said:
Oh, after researching, just figured out their scam :) Basically, they email you and make it appear as though they own the domain...But it's basically just a backordering service where when you pay, they try to get the domain...So they don't own it...Scammers!
They taste domains and try to sell to holders of alternate extensions. The name could be available now...
 
0
•••
BBUU.com is obviously not going to become available any time soon :)
 
0
•••
1
•••
Thanks Sterling :) Appreciate it, I might bid myself :)
 
0
•••
Yes sir. B-)

Anytime!

Good luck

JrsDirectory said:
Thanks Sterling :) Appreciate it, I might bid myself :)
 
0
•••
Can someone help me? I think I have a scammer on the fishing line. He wants to buy every single 4 letter .com I have and seems to only want to pay with paypal. He has 0 feedback in Ebay and 0 the other site he has listed. He seems to have been buying domains up. He gave me a site www.thedomainboss.com and I tried to check the whois put its unlisted. Anyone want to clue me in on what to do next. I don't really care about selling the domains I just want to catch this guy if he is a fraud.

Here is what I have gathered from him
He claims to work for enom and states that he cannot scam me due to the fact that I will be transferring the domains to another registrar*******I'm not sure if this is true
He only wants to use paypal
His ebay username is sbsb20sbsb20
His site he claims is www*thedomainboss*com
His name is Serge Basi*l
On v7n.com his username is serge20
and here is his latest deal

http://www.v7n.com/forums/domains/87292-about-30-llll-com-sell.html

I just need to know if I can trust this guy or if hes a scammer. If he is I want to catch him
 
0
•••
INDIGIAN.com said:
Can someone help me? I think I have a scammer on the fishing line. He wants to buy every single 4 letter .com I have and seems to only want to pay with paypal. He has 0 feedback in Ebay and 0 the other site he has listed. He seems to have been buying domains up. He gave me a site www.thedomainboss.com and I tried to check the whois put its unlisted. Anyone want to clue me in on what to do next. I don't really care about selling the domains I just want to catch this guy if he is a fraud.
First of all. Don't sell him anything (at least for now) .. Everything you said sound fishy about this guy.

Also, thedomainboss.com created 11 Apr 2008

I'm digging right now for more info.
 
0
•••
I'm trying to get him to push me 35 bucks for one domain so I can see where his paypal is coming from
 
0
•••
INDIGIAN.com said:
I'm trying to get him to push me 35 bucks for one domain so I can see where his paypal is coming from
Even so. It might be "stolen" Paypal account. Be careful.
 
0
•••
thks for the warning I'm just trying to gather as much info as possible.
 
0
•••
Here's what I have found out:
He claims he is based in India, uses the IM: eximprise
FYI Eximprise Technologies is Delhi-based ( don't know if this guy is somehow a part of this company)
 
0
•••
He told me he works for Enom? says that he has a bunch of domains with swiss commerce. If he is a scammer he claims he has already purchased 15k worth of domains. YIIIIKES!!!!!
 
0
•••
D-: Well he's probably not a scammer IMO
INDIGIAN.com said:
he claims he has already purchased 15k worth of domains. YIIIIKES!!!!!
 
0
•••
Dynadot — .com TransferDynadot — .com Transfer
Appraise.net

We're social

Escrow.com
Spaceship
Rexus Domain
CryptoExchange.com
Domain Recover
CatchDoms
DomDB
NameFit
  • The sidebar remains visible by scrolling at a speed relative to the page’s height.
Back