| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #26 (permalink) |
| Domains my Dominion Join Date: Aug 2005 Location: Web 1.0
Posts: 9,558
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I'm afraid there is no clear-cut answer. It depends on the circumstances. A name can be taken away from you if it can be established you have registered in in 'bad faith'. It all boils down to establishing the proof of 'bad faith'. Of course another lady with the same name could perfectly want the name. Saying that, do some research and you will see that other celebs have already recovered their names in the past. Snap is doing the right thing by making bidders aware of the potential legal problems ahead. When purchasing/registering TMs/typos there is often a risk that the owner must be prepared to take on. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/177994-jeniferlopez-com-snapnames-mail-you-must.html Don't forget that the lawyers for J.L.O. are on the lookout and ready to throw big guns. It looks aggressive here because they are trying to asserts their rights not on the true name but a typo ! On the other hand big guns and money do not always win at WIPO (just see the recent case of post.com). To me (and it's not legal advise) the case looks a little bit excessive given that we are dealing with a typo here. But if the lawyers get though it could mean more hassle than the name is really worth. Personally I would stay clear of this name
__________________ NameNewsletter.com - free lists of available domain names ZoneFiles.net (beta) - ccTLD and gTLD droplists |
| |
| | #27 (permalink) | ||||
| Senior Member Join Date: Aug 2003 Location: United States
Posts: 2,317
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=177994 She owns some rights to the name, but not all rights. There is another Jennifer Lopez who is a Meteorologist on The Weather Channel and I'm sure there are others out there as well. Here's her bio: http://www.weather.com/aboutus/telev...cms/lopez.html
__________________ LIMITED TIME OFFER FOR 3 LUCKY NP'RS ONLY! Mobile website (6 pages) for your business! Reduced heavily to $99 (Reg. $397!) for testimonials! PM Me. | ||||
| |
| | #28 (permalink) |
| Account Closed Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,770
![]() ![]() ![]() | How would I handle a situation like this. I would find all examples of registered JenniferLopez cctld's that the lawyers have not demanded. You could then make a case that Miss Lopez is not trying to protect her name, but just wants to profit from acquiring the .com - if her interest was purely protecting her name why not go after the cctld's too? |
| |
| | #29 (permalink) |
| Yup. It's cold. Join Date: Jul 2005 Location: Alaska
Posts: 2,737
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | While Brady is the VP of Engineering, I don't find any mention of him as VP of Customer Support, which is usually a separate department under separate management, but this was just quick research though and may be faulty. Moreover, it would be unusual for a senior VP to personally handle something so simple...and unusual to give out his personal snapname address to a potential large number of teenyboppers. While he may put his name to a letter, the response would be normally be delegated to an assistant. Perhaps he wants to deal with a potential landslide of e-mail, you think?
__________________ A good domain name is worth more than money. I've got domains up the Wazoo...wanna buy some? |
| |
| | #32 (permalink) |
| First Time Poster ! Join Date: Apr 2005 Location: GB
Posts: 6,881
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | If the new owner uses it in a way the has nothing to do with the singer Jennifer Lopez they should be no problem - BUT - If they use it to earn in anyway that is associated with her they will get hammered IMO. What make me think this is that The airlines - Gulf Air have the TM on the words Gulf Air - but GulfAir.com is owned by a company selling (or trying to look like they do) Air Freshners. ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/showthread.php?t=177994 If Gulf Airlines have not gone after this name I suspect it is because legally they cannot do so - If the name was ever parked and earning PPC they would probably already own it. GulfAir.com - 673 with ext in overture - That's a lot of people looking for Air Freshners JMO of course . |
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NUMB3RS: What’s the deal with 4-Digit Domains (NNNN)? | paxton | "Short" Domain Discussion | 176 | 01-26-2012 04:42 PM |
| Snapnames Security Update... | Dave Zan | Industry News | 0 | 09-01-2005 05:13 PM |
| All about the mail function in PHP. | bbalegere | Programming | 1 | 08-19-2005 10:25 PM |
| BulkRegister Joins up with Snapnames | unholy1 | Industry News | 0 | 01-25-2005 01:02 PM |