| | |||||
| ||||||||
| Warnings & Alerts Report and discuss scams, stolen domains, and bad people or companies to deal with. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools |
| | #26 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Jul 2006 Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 12
![]() | Hey gang, I'd be wary of "Dr. Hegglund". We've been getting emails that look exactly the same for our web properties. We've also posted a warning on our site as well. THERE IS NO LEGITIMACY TO THIS! DON'T FALL FOR IT! If there is any question about this scam, please ask someone reputable to give you their honest and unbiased perspective. Also, face-to-face or by phone is a great way to initiate this type of business, as personal touch can often weed out a lot of these types of issues.
__________________ OptimizedDomains.com - The Thought-Leader In Domain Name Theory And Search Engine Consulting Domain Names For Sale: MoneyMakingFunds.com, BreakingFinancialNews.com, CarolinaManagedHosting.com, ... and many, many more! |
| |
| | #27 (permalink) |
| New Member Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
![]() | Wish I had found this thread yesterday I too fell for this. I just started in the domain buying/selling game last week and received an offer for $25,000.00 from Robert Hegglund for my coachteed.com site. I'll admit it, I ran and had a appraisal done on all 5 of my domains. Good thing I did a search and only paid 29.00 for 5 appraisals. Now I feel like a dumbass |
| |
| | #28 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 788
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
![]() I don't think that what their doing is illegal, I don't agree with it and if they all went to jail I'd be happy but I don't think that what their doing can be proven in court to be different then seeking to buy domain names. So why would the FBI care? just my opinion
Last edited by rocca; 07-27-2006 at 01:08 AM.
| ||||
| |
| | #29 (permalink) | ||||||||
| www.randypendleton.com Join Date: Jan 2004 Location: Southern Ohio, USA
Posts: 7,045
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Same guy, same scam. I made a thread awhile backk: http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-...m-praying.html An excerpt:
Well, to read it properly, with his/my messages to each other, ya gotta read the original in the link above ![]() ????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/165976-fallen-half-way-into-popular-appraisal.html From the url I mentioned above:
| ||||||||
| |
| | #30 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Regular Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 788
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| ||||
| |
| | #31 (permalink) | ||||
| NamePros Member Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25
![]() | |
| Quote: |
|
Hello, Our company develops software so domain investing is not our main business. Just additional way to generate income. Please email me price for your domain name mentioned in the subject line. If it's reasonable we'll do business. If you have other domain names for sale please send us the complete list with prices for consideration. I'm a very busy person so it may take several hours before I respond :-) Looking forward to do business with you. Regards, Robert Hegglund, Ph. D. President Opera Software ================================================== ========================== NOTICE - This communication may contain confidential and privileged information that is for the sole use of the intended recipient. Any viewing, copying or distribution of, or reliance on this message by unintended recipients is strictly prohibited. If you have received this message in error, please notify us immediately by replying to the message and deleting it from your computer. ================================================== ========================= |
| | #32 (permalink) |
| Account Suspended Join Date: Apr 2006 Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,042
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | I got this email too, there were slight variations but the second email you received was WORD for WORD the same as the one I got, they sure do sound tempting.. I knew something was up when they offered 800 USD for a name of mine that was not even worth $30 ![]() Be careful out there... |
| |
| | #34 (permalink) |
| Adsung.com Join Date: May 2006 Location: England
Posts: 1,625
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Ye i heard about this scam in chat, guess thats the way they think they can earn a hard-buck, and anyways if he wants you get get an appraisal at a trusted person from him surely he should do this free?
__________________ Adsung |
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Appraisal Scam Investigation [CLOSED] | UKZJ007 | Warnings & Alerts | 57 | 04-10-2006 02:58 AM |
| New or Old scam... req an appraisal. | domainSPOTLIGHT | Warnings & Alerts | 9 | 06-27-2005 06:37 AM |
| Domain Appraisal Scam | kjnetworks | Warnings & Alerts | 2 | 04-23-2005 08:17 AM |
| Huge scam against sedo, afternic | airnike764 | Warnings & Alerts | 11 | 04-06-2005 02:20 AM |