[advanced search]
Results from the most recent live auction are here.
14 members in the live chat room. Join Chat!
Register Rules & FAQ NP$ Store Active Threads Today's Posts Domain Services
Go Back   NamePros.Com > Design and Development > Web Design Discussion
User Name
Password

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2003, 10:38 AM   · #1
Fallout_Multi.
www.falloutweb.com
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 105
NP$: 171.00 (Donate)
Fallout_Multi. is an unknown quantity at this point
Some guy is linking my stuff in his portfolio

Cobbycode.com

This guy is linking my ad banners (that I made) in his portfolio. I found this out by looking at AWStats. He didn't even bother to load the images on his server. This has never happened to me before. What should I do?

I have attatched images of his site, and you can see my domain (falloutweb.com) in the status bar.

http://falloutweb.com/samples/link.jpg
http://falloutweb.com/samples/link2.jpg


Please register or log-in into NamePros to hide ads
__________________
http://www.falloutweb.com
Fallout_Multi. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2003, 01:50 PM   · #2
deadserious
Senior Member
 
Trader Rating: (13)
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,300
NP$: 2.85 (Donate)
deadserious has a spectacular aura aboutdeadserious has a spectacular aura about
Hey it looks like you've already figured out how to prevent them from direct linking to your images and how to replace it with your own image - http://www.falloutweb.com/fast.gif . Oh Actually it looks like you've just changed the images.

It looks like this forum is where they came across your site - http://www.webdesigntalk.net/member...info&userid=588

I think what you've done by replacing the images with a message like that is probably about all you'll really need to do for now. But if you're not satisfied with that then I would suggest attempting to contact them either through this forum or one of their websites and asking them to please remove your banners from their portfolio. It looks like they're just linking directly to your banners on your page so I doubt contacting their host would be of much help, but I think that would be your next step. You could always post a big warning about them on multiple forums around the Web if you're unable to get them to cooperate with you. You may also want to include a link directly to their site so they see the pages in their stats which will lead them to posts like this and possibly get them to think twice about their plagiarism.
deadserious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2003, 05:34 PM   · #3
CatsEyeDesigns
New Member
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 20
NP$: 30.00 (Donate)
CatsEyeDesigns is an unknown quantity at this point
Sounds to me like you're loosing an opportunity.

I read about something like this a while back. When someone is using your work (images, css files, javascript files, etc.) without your permission by linking directly to them on your website, the best thing to do is to edit the file their using to say something to the efffect of
"This image is being used without the consent of the copyright holder. The site you are accessing this image through is a FRAUD!"

That way, the visitors he's been showing your work to will know what kind of site they're on. You may want to even add a line that says "To see the work of the artist who actually created this image, go to Falloutweb.com"

Also, if you do that, make sure you add a new image on your server and make the neccesary chagnes so that when you use that image on one of your own pages, you get the right image, not the "This site is a fraud" image.

Just my two cents. Hope that all made sense.
__________________
Regards,
Ryan Burley
Lead Designer -CatsEyeDesigns.Net
CatsEyeDesigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2003, 05:53 PM   · #4
Fallout_Multi.
www.falloutweb.com
 
Trader Rating: (0)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 105
NP$: 171.00 (Donate)
Fallout_Multi. is an unknown quantity at this point
I got it cleared up, thanks for the help guys.
__________________
http://www.falloutweb.com
Fallout_Multi. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2003, 12:24 PM   · #5
adam_uk
Senior Member
 
Trader Rating: (17)
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,211
NP$: 6170.25 (Donate)
adam_uk is a jewel in the roughadam_uk is a jewel in the roughadam_uk is a jewel in the rough
Breast Cancer
you could do something else but well....you may scare visitors from your site
adam_uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 09:38 AM   · #6
wicked_gal00
Namepros Addict
 
wicked_gal00's Avatar
 
Name: Alexandra
Location: Toronto
Trader Rating: (44)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,414
NP$: 351.00 (Donate)
wicked_gal00 is a name known to allwicked_gal00 is a name known to allwicked_gal00 is a name known to allwicked_gal00 is a name known to allwicked_gal00 is a name known to allwicked_gal00 is a name known to all
Quote:
Originally posted by adam_uk
you could do something else but well....you may scare visitors from your site



What would that be?
wicked_gal00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 02:54 PM   · #7
identity_00
Senior Member
 
Location: Tacoma, WA
Trader Rating: (11)
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,216
NP$: 195.20 (Donate)
identity_00 will become famous soon enoughidentity_00 will become famous soon enough
Yes do that it would be funny -
identity_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 11:58 AM   · #8
Lord
Senior Member
 
Trader Rating: (6)
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,354
NP$: 207.70 (Donate)
Lord is a jewel in the roughLord is a jewel in the roughLord is a jewel in the rough
Gee, I looked through that guys portfolio, looks like most of it is fake? :O
Lord is offline   Reply With Quote
Closed Thread

NamePros is a revenue sharing forum.


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Site Sponsors
http://www.newwebdomain.com/ RealTechNetwork SocialDN.com
Advertise your business at NamePros
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 2.4.0