NamePros
Welcome, Guest! Ready to make a name for yourself in the domain business? We welcome both the hobbyist and professional domainer to join the discussion as part of the NamePros community.

Click here to create your profile to start earning reputation for posting, and trader ratings for buying & selling in our free e-marketplace. Build your trader rating with each successful sale. Our system has tracked over 100,000 sales and counting!
FAQ & TOS Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   NamePros.com > Domain Name Discussion Forums > Domain Names > Domain Name Discussion
Reload this Page How Safe is doing a whois search?

Domain Name Discussion The place for general domain name related discussions.

Advanced Search


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2005, 12:50 AM   #26 (permalink)
NamePros Regular
 
rivux's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 323
rivux is a jewel in the roughrivux is a jewel in the roughrivux is a jewel in the rough
 



DomainPump: I read thru the two namepros threads and though it appears that Kenyatech are a bunch of asshats, Im not sure that they are doing anything illegal. How can people sue them for registering names?
rivux is offline  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:19 AM   #27 (permalink)
Account Closed
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 84
DomainPump is on a distinguished road
 



Originally Posted by Momo
I was wondering about this too, thank you for your reply, RJ. I guess if I'm really paranoid about it, I should just register the domain name right there and then.
I am almost believing that this is what they want you to do. They want you to think that if you dont register it within a few days, its gonna be gone for sure - even if its an obscure name that means something to you and very unlikely someone else out there even cares about that name. Kenyatech.com has proved that they'll register just about anything and drop what they eventually dont want.
????: NamePros.com http://www.namepros.com/domain-name-discussion/140908-how-safe-is-doing-whois-search.html

Originally Posted by rivux
DomainPump: I read thru the two namepros threads and though it appears that Kenyatech are a bunch of asshats, Im not sure that they are doing anything illegal. How can people sue them for registering names?
You cant. Not for registering a name that I looked up 2 days ago. I guess what I am trying to explain here, and on other threads, is that kenyatech.com has proved themselves with a pattern of unethical behavior. In many cases, illegal. How? What if you had a domain name and I hijacked it? What if you contact me and I demanded thousands of dollars to give it back? Even a dollar would be wrong. HIJACKING IT would be wrong. You start to get into IP legalities with those actions.

If you dig deeper, they're *probably* into other stuff. I cant personally prove it. I am not a detective nor do I have the time or resources to properly investigate this. Thats why if we all collect what we know about these thugs, we can collectively stop them.

Scared? Read this:
http://www.komonews.com/stories/40223.htm
DomainPump is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Googlism - What does google think of you? deadserious The Break Room 55 12-15-2005 10:09 AM
Whois Search, Index Pages, PR & IP Address Ericsson For Sale / Advertising Board 0 09-18-2005 02:22 PM
My new whois search JoshHendo Web Design Reviews 9 06-26-2005 06:55 PM
Good Article: An SEO Checklist Ferman Search Engines 2 05-28-2005 11:51 AM

Liquid Web Smart Servers  
All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:36 AM.

Managed Web Hosting by Liquid Web
Domain name forum recommended by Domaining.com Powered by: vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 Ad Management plugin by RedTyger